We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, friendly, great location!”
Review of The Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cottage
Ranked #57 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful, friendly, great location!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for his birthday, and I got a great deal on booking.com. Slight problem finance wise in that booking.com said that half of the cost would be paid on booking and it wasn't but the B&B itself was fabulous. Wendy (the owner) was very friendly and they served the best B&B breakfast I've ever seen! The room was lovely, clean and had a great, really powerful shower! I was a bit disappointed that we didn't have one of the lovely 4 poster beds in the pictures but the bed was very comfortable and beautifully set out. Set right in the middle of Windermere village, short drive up to Ambleside and along to Thurlmere for a more private lake view and a 20 minute walk down to Bowness. Very happy with everything. Only problems were that we were up on the top floor so it was very hot at night (had to have a cold shower in the middle of the night to cool down) and that our tv jumped quite a bit but apart from that, fabulous stay! I'd definitely come here again :)

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room with a large window and a view, also on the first floor to keep cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
119
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked B&B directly and got a very good deal. Room although a little small was very clean, comfortable and had a fridge which came in very handy. Breakfast was out of this world, with a vast selection to choose from and freshly made to order. Easy to find, with parking at the front. Lovely walk down to the Lake. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2014

a superb b&b run by a wonderfully welcoming hostess that offers delicous breakfasts and car parking in front of the propert which can otherwise be quite hard to find in Windermere. the location is execellent just 100m to to pubs and shops, all in all aperfect stay would not hesitate to stay at this place again

Room Tip: all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fran k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Four of us shared two rooms and were very happy with The Cottage. Each room was different and well decorated. Friendly atmosphere and good location. Easy access to everything. We would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2014

What a lovely place to stay!

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Cottage for 3 nights and it was to most lovely place we've stayed in... On arrival Wendy greeted us and recommended some short walks we could go on after checking in before going out for dinner.

We stayed in Room 3 which had a large four poster bed, en suite, TV, DVD player, mini fridge and sofa... It was really nice to have a sofa to sit on and enjoy a glass of wine before going to bed.

Breakfast was the highlight of every morning with a huge selection of breakfast with a choice of cereal, fruit, toast and cooked breakfast... I seemed to have unlimited toast - perfect for a long day of walking.

The location if The Cottage was ideal, with a very short walk to the shops and lake.

I would definitely stay here again when returning to the Lake District and would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I managed to find this guesthouse as it had a single bed. It is only a 5 min walk (if that) from the station. The room was nicely decorated and very comfortable. The breakfasts were first class too and set you up for the day.

Steve and Wendy were very welcoming and helpful and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Thanks for the stay :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

gf treated me for a couple of days away in the lakes, she made the choice of this b & b what a great choice it was .
Our room was very tasty tasty super comfy and so so clean we even had a choice for breaky each morning cooked to perfection, we are going back for her birthday next month.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#43 of 109 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
All Seasons Guest House & All Seasons Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#17 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Elleray
The Elleray
#94 of 109 in Windermere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Annesdale House
Annesdale House
#41 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage

Property: The Cottage
Address: The Cottage Elleray Road, Windermere LA23 1AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing