We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Windermere Manor Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
US$208
US$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
US$284
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$350
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samling Hotel(Windermere)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
126
20
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
126
20
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfull englishb blovely little placewindermere villagehigh streetshort walkwendybreakfastlakeland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

A fabulous place for a short break. The room was very clean and beautifully decorated, fantastic food with an amazing array of choices. Wendy and Steve were very friendly and helpful. Very close to a fantastic range of pubs and restaurants. I would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JayneW61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We were welcomed by Stephen on our first evening, who had an excellent knowledge of the area and was able to point us in the direction of nearby landmarks, such as the famous views at Orrest Head (a just a 20min walk away) and the lake itself (25mins).

The cottage wraps you with warmth and character as soon as you step inside.

Our room (7, in the loft of the building) was cosy, clean, warm, and very comfortable. The en-suite shower had low pressure due to the height, but was perfectly serviceable and didn't pose a problem at all. It was a delightful room, and the included amenities (hair dryer, TV, fridge) were very welcome.

Should note that this B&B does not provide WiFi, but this was not a problem as we had good 3G signals on our phones (even on Three!)

Breakfast, as served by Wendy, was superb. Breakfast starts with a choice of cereals, fruits, yogurt, tea/coffee, and toast, followed by hot food ordered from a menu. The menu had a good range of options (including classic full English of course!) and was portioned exactly right leaving us powered for a day of walking and exploring. It was delicious each and every morning!

The Cottage is placed extremely well, locally, being just a 3 minute walk from Windermere train station, where local buses also go very regularly to the entire area. There are some excellent local restaurants and cafes (including Wild & Co that was so impressive we went twice!) as well as a Morrisons store just 5 minutes down the road. Bowness is about a 25 minute walk away downhill, with a greater variety of shops and of course access to ferry services so you can see the entire length and breadth of the lake.

Thanks Stephen and Wendy for our stay!

Room Tip: Room 7 is on the second floor, so was very quiet. Since it's in the loft it has sloped ceilings, something to be aware of if you're tall (I'm 6'3" and managed fine though).
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

well what can we say that would do steve and wendy justice for the fantastic stay we had at the cottage, i decided to book based apon others reviews, they were spot on and the cottage lived up to all we wanted on our special short break. the room was beautifully decorated, the food was fantastic and the local knowledge of steve and wendy faultless . the cost of the room was also very good, if anything id say it was slightly to cheap ! for the service we recieved. would not hesitate to go back in the very near future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank shymanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous little gem this place is!!!! A friend recommended this place so we gave it a go. It's a delightfully quaint place and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay the owners were lovely and couldn't do enough for us and recommended loads of good places to go and there are plenty of bars and restaurants in walking distance to suit all tastes!!! But the best bit was getting up for breakfast each morning my husband who has a big appetite said it was really tasty and I loved the healthier choices, I recommend the smoked salmon and scrabbled eggs!!! Yummy!!! There is parking which is good as I don't like leaving my car on the road side although the train station is in walking distance. We enjoyed staying at this place so much we booked another stay when checking out - superb value for money!!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My father has been staying at The Cottage every summer for at least 2 weeks for several years now. This year, my husband and I joined him for 8 days and got to experience first hand the reason he returns to this B&B specifically every year.
Steve and Wendy are kind and warm. Our room was beautiful and quiet with a separate entrance that gave us the chance to be close to Dad without being on top of each other. Breakfast equips every guest for a day of hiking on the fells - it's enormous with an astonishing range of choices. We were able to eat well even on a vegan diet.
During our trip Dad fell on a bus and was taken by ambulance for stitches. Steve and Wendy were incredibly supportive and kind.
Dad stays in the single room which is tiny and very well-equipped. We had a much larger room which was very comfortable and lovely.
We can't help but mention the location, which is convenient to the train station and bus stop (very nice after a long day of walks) - and there is a great pub across the street!
Highly recommend The Cottage as a home away in the Lake District.

Room Tip: There are two rooms that have a separate entrance from the main house. Great if you want a family to stay together, or if you want a little separation!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews