We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rockside Guest House
Ranked #9 of 107 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a fantastic guesthouse and worth every bit of its 4 star status. We received a warm and friendly greeting and made to feel very welcome. The house is very clean and facilities exceeded our expectations. The food is of an extremely high standard and I can honestly say, you wont find a better choice or quality in most high end hotels (and I've tried a few).
The location is great too. Its easy to find, surrounded by some good restaurants, takeaways and pubs. A short walk gets you to the shops and a bit further and you're in Bowness for ferry trips etc etc..
If you're thinking of going to the lakes, Rockside should be top of your list when you're looking for accommodation.
A big thank you to Caroline and Martin for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: From what we saw and heard from other guests, all of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stopped at the Rockside Guest House for the final two nights of our trip to the Lakes and we're so very glad we did. Caroline and Martin haven't just made a guest house that's welcoming, clean and comfortable, they've added all sorts of personal touches that really separate it from the other lodgings we stayed at.

There were freshly baked biscuits (delicious cookies on the first day, and perhaps even more delicious chocolate hobnobs on the second) in the reception when we arrived and when we got back in the evenings. There was homemade banana loaf which was, again, delicious, made even more special with their twice awarded (2012 and 2013) best home-made B&B/hotel marmalade in the country! If that wasn't enough, there were various things on the breakfast menu that were also home-made, like their waffles, pancakes, bio yoghurt and fruit compote. All very impressive. They even served eggs benedict - the first I saw during our stay.

To add to this, there was a very, very helpful and extensive home-made guest guide book in every room that covered everything from local taxi numbers and eateries, to recommended trips and information about various hot spots around the Lakes. It was a lovely touch and really, we could have done with it on the first day rather than the last two! If only other accommodations did this sort of thing instead of just including that so-so Lake District advert catalogue guide thing.

Caroline was a really lively and helpful host too so thanks for a great stay! We're hoping to return in the future for more banana loaf and marmalade (both of which you can buy! I picked up two jars of their marmalade and I'm not much of a marmalade eater!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Spent a lovely weekend at this guest house with my husband. The modern rooms rival many found in 4* hotels and are spotlessly clean with toiletries, tea/coffee etc. Very comfortable bed too. Lots of attention to detail at this B&B. Little things do matter and they are really appreciated. I challenge anyone to find fault with breakfast - lots of home made items, superb choice, and fresh quality ingredients. Friendly service from Caroline topped off a lovely weekend.

Location very good with shops and restaurants nearby. Had a lovely meal at the Elleray (steak and ale pie and home made onion rings). It takes around 15-20 mins to walk to the lake (down bank) and, as it was a very hot day, we decided to get the bus back (cost around £4 for 2 and runs every 20 mins).

Overall - would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We have stayed here 4 times now and looking to go back soon Caroline is lovely food out of this world, it's very clean I do a similar job so know how heard they both work to make this the perfect place to stay :-) there are lots of lovely places to eat in the evening right on the door step.

Stayed: May 2013
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Five of us stayed here for 3 nights. Cannot fault this establishment...comfortable beds, clean, modern bathrooms, and the breakfasts were fantastic: lots of choices from the full English to pancakes, waffles and Eggs Benedict. Cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt and great coffee. Caroline is a wonderful hostess.
It's a 2 minute walk to the Windermere shops and about a 20 minute walk to Bowness and the ferry.
Highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

My husband and I were very pleased with the very clean, comfortable accomodation. Caroline was very friendly and the home made marmalade was absolutely delicious. The selection of fresh fruit, homemade yoghurt and museli was a nice start before a hearty breakfast. Peaceful location and a walk from the station. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelgandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

My wife and just I spent the weekend at Rockside and it was brilliant. Caroline was friendly, engaging and accoomodating. Fantastic breakfast - the bacon and sausage were especially good. I'm not a marmalde man but I'd read the reviews so I tried it. To be honest it was more like orange jam than marmalde but not being a marmalde man what do i know? What I do know was it tasted lovely and I bought a couple of jars. The room was a bit quirky which was nice and the bed comfortable. Whilst the ensuite was small it was perfectly formed and entierly useable - anyway it's the Lake District so apart from sleeping we hardly spent any time in the room. All in all a great place and for Windermere a great price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adrian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
597 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 107 in Windermere
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 107 in Windermere
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockside Guest House

Address: 25 Church Street, Windermere LA23 1AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 107 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range: £72 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Traditional Lakeland Guest House. Modern Rooms, Substantial Breakfasts. Located less than 2 minutes walk from Bus and Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rockside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockside Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing