We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely guest house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rockside Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rockside Guest House
Ranked #14 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely guest house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Caroline and Martin are clearly working very hard to make sure their customers are well satisfied. Pleasant stay a very comfortable bed too. Location and accommodation perfect for exploring the lakes. The breakfast menu was varied and the food was absolutely delicious and everyday in reception you will find homemade biscuits which were lovely. Caroline was very hospitable and made us feel welcome. A folder in the bedroom contained comprehensive information about the local area. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firefly086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    40
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
257
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Widnes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Very clean food excellent and very friendly staff close to station .very comfortable brill .close to Windermere town lots of pubs recommend grey Walls very friendly staff also plenty of restaurants to choose from very good bus service what more can you ask for

Room Tip: A little extra comfort choose the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a fantastic guesthouse and worth every bit of its 4 star status. We received a warm and friendly greeting and made to feel very welcome. The house is very clean and facilities exceeded our expectations. The food is of an extremely high standard and I can honestly say, you wont find a better choice or quality in most high end hotels (and I've tried a few).
The location is great too. Its easy to find, surrounded by some good restaurants, takeaways and pubs. A short walk gets you to the shops and a bit further and you're in Bowness for ferry trips etc etc..
If you're thinking of going to the lakes, Rockside should be top of your list when you're looking for accommodation.
A big thank you to Caroline and Martin for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: From what we saw and heard from other guests, all of the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stopped at the Rockside Guest House for the final two nights of our trip to the Lakes and we're so very glad we did. Caroline and Martin haven't just made a guest house that's welcoming, clean and comfortable, they've added all sorts of personal touches that really separate it from the other lodgings we stayed at.

There were freshly baked biscuits (delicious cookies on the first day, and perhaps even more delicious chocolate hobnobs on the second) in the reception when we arrived and when we got back in the evenings. There was homemade banana loaf which was, again, delicious, made even more special with their twice awarded (2012 and 2013) best home-made B&B/hotel marmalade in the country! If that wasn't enough, there were various things on the breakfast menu that were also home-made, like their waffles, pancakes, bio yoghurt and fruit compote. All very impressive. They even served eggs benedict - the first I saw during our stay.

To add to this, there was a very, very helpful and extensive home-made guest guide book in every room that covered everything from local taxi numbers and eateries, to recommended trips and information about various hot spots around the Lakes. It was a lovely touch and really, we could have done with it on the first day rather than the last two! If only other accommodations did this sort of thing instead of just including that so-so Lake District advert catalogue guide thing.

Caroline was a really lively and helpful host too so thanks for a great stay! We're hoping to return in the future for more banana loaf and marmalade (both of which you can buy! I picked up two jars of their marmalade and I'm not much of a marmalade eater!)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Spent a lovely weekend at this guest house with my husband. The modern rooms rival many found in 4* hotels and are spotlessly clean with toiletries, tea/coffee etc. Very comfortable bed too. Lots of attention to detail at this B&B. Little things do matter and they are really appreciated. I challenge anyone to find fault with breakfast - lots of home made items, superb choice, and fresh quality ingredients. Friendly service from Caroline topped off a lovely weekend.

Location very good with shops and restaurants nearby. Had a lovely meal at the Elleray (steak and ale pie and home made onion rings). It takes around 15-20 mins to walk to the lake (down bank) and, as it was a very hot day, we decided to get the bus back (cost around £4 for 2 and runs every 20 mins).

Overall - would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here 4 times now and looking to go back soon Caroline is lovely food out of this world, it's very clean I do a similar job so know how heard they both work to make this the perfect place to stay :-) there are lots of lovely places to eat in the evening right on the door step.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oatley NSW
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Five of us stayed here for 3 nights. Cannot fault this establishment...comfortable beds, clean, modern bathrooms, and the breakfasts were fantastic: lots of choices from the full English to pancakes, waffles and Eggs Benedict. Cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt and great coffee. Caroline is a wonderful hostess.
It's a 2 minute walk to the Windermere shops and about a 20 minute walk to Bowness and the ferry.
Highly recommend staying here.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Willowsmere
The Willowsmere
#6 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockside Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockside Guest House

Property: Rockside Guest House
Address: 25 Church Street, Windermere LA23 1AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockside Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Traditional Lakeland Guest House. Modern Rooms, Substantial Breakfasts. Located less than 2 minutes walk from Bus and Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Rockside Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rockside Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing