We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adam Place Guest House
Ranked #75 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Middlebury, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eh”
Reviewed 5 January 2011

After staying at a lovely B&B in Edinburgh, we were disappointed in Adam Place Guest House. Very nice hosts, and satisfactory breakfast, but room was dingy and just so so.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily05753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    15
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

Stayed in the attic room which was alittle cold and required additional heating which was provided. Very friendly host, Linda. Bathroom very small. Beds comfy. Awoken by noise from adjoing bedroom on 2nd night.. Decent standard for price with a decent breakfast and a good spirit.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigAlLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2008

This place was lovely and great value for value for money - especially after London! My room was spotlessly clean and had everything you need to be comfortable - decent bed, working TV, perfect little bathroom.

The location is great too - round the corner from the cute Windermere shops, restaurants and cafes, and a stone's throw from the bus stop to go to the more touristy spots.

As a lone traveller on that trip, it was great fun to meet jovial Stevie and welcoming Linda - they're both very helpful and hospitable.

The only thing that might make me reconsider is, if you want to be right on the water, maybe look at staying somewhere at Bowness on Windermere, but I had no trouble at all getting to places in the area from Windermere.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank kladmius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

Adam Place is a pleasant and happy little B&B in the Lakes District. The owner is friendly and helpful. Our room was adequate in size - the bathroom was tiny. We stayed in an attic room and the stairs were not so great for my elderly mother. The full English breakfast was fantastic. Parking is no problem. I would stay there again.

  • Liked — The breakfast
  • Disliked — The small bathroom
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2007

Staying at Adam Place was a wonderful experience. It was the best and most affordable B&B on our whole trip through the UK and we thoroughly enjoyed the hosts' warm hospitality, excellent breakfasts and charming, clean house!! It really contributed towards making our stay in the Lake Districts an unforgettable experience! THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH!

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful hosts, spotless clean, well decorated accomodation
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2007

Excellent place to stay.. to start with, it is spotless - clean and neat. Adam's Place is run by very friendly people - genuinely warm and nice. We enjoyed everything from the very comfortable room (the room actually had a name - Scafell Pike!) to the lovely breakfast which was served the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2006

We booked into this guest house for 3 nights but left after only 1. We booked after seeing it had 3 star AA rating and on the Cumbria Tourist Board site. The rooms looked good on the website. What they don't tell you is not all the rooms are of the same standard. What we had was a un-refurbished room with poor lighting and the most uncomfotable bed we have ever had. The springs were nearly through. They have got some rooms that have been re-furbished which we were offered after complaining but by then we had had enough and left but had to forego our deposit.
On a positive note the food was good, just make sure you get one of the good rooms on the 1st floor.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The bed
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you get a room on the 1st floor that has a new mattress and been refurbished
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hertsman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
All Seasons Guest House & All Seasons Rest
0.1 mi away
Beaumont House
Beaumont House
#33 of 108 in Windermere
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosemount
Rosemount
#23 of 108 in Windermere
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crompton House
Crompton House
#51 of 108 in Windermere
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green Gables Guest House
Green Gables Guest House
#66 of 108 in Windermere
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kirkwood Guest House
Kirkwood Guest House
#22 of 108 in Windermere
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adam Place Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adam Place Guest House

Property: Adam Place Guest House
Address: Adam Place 1 Park Avenue, Windermere LA23 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Adam Place Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AA 3 star, fully en-suite traditional lakeland guest house, serving finest local fayre, with a choice of traditional, vegetarian or continental breakfast. Single, double, twin and family accommodation, along with a 2 bedroom suite. We have an award-winning garden for your relaxation. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Adam Place Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adam Place Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing