We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

From the moment we stepped inside this gorgeous guesthouse, we knew it was special. We were both greeted so warmly and made to feel very welcome. The room was very spacious, spotless and extremely tastefully decorated. Beds were really comfortable and I had the best nights sleep in ages. The breakfast in the morning was yummy too. I had the cooked breakfast which was amazing. We were both sad to leave the Hawksmoor but I'm sure this won't be the last of our visits. Thank you to everyone at the Hawksmoor, it is clear that you work tirelessly in order to achieve perfection for your guests and you should be very proud of yourselves. I undertand why you are number one.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzerukukuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 23 March 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are all really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Thanks again
Philippa, Trevor and Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    32
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
505
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We chose to stay for 2 nights at the Hawksmoor because of the reviews on Tripadvisor, and I must say it was a very good decision.
We were greeted very warmly, and were offered a tea tray with lovely shortbread biscuits.
We stayed in Room 9 overlooking the front garden, a lovely cosy room, which catches the morning sun.
Everything in the room was spotlessly clean, and we couldn't find fault with anything.
Beautiful bathroom, with skylight window, and the added luxury of underfloor heating, perfect on a chilly morning.
The bed was very comfortable, and we both slept well.
Breakfast was spot-on, my husband asked for eggs Benedict, (which wasn't on the menu),
but they were more than happy to make these for him on Sunday morning.
Service was quick, attentive, and with a smile.
The Hawksmoor is situated in an ideal location, a short stroll to either Windermere, or Bowness and the beautiful lake.
Some great places to eat, you will be spoilt for choice.
Whatmore can i say? Book with confidence, you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sivle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you in the future,
(Eggs Benedict can always be arranged i promise!)
Thanks again
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Well, what can I say that hasn’t already been said? A classic example of how a guesthouse should be run!
My husband, 5yr old son and I, have just returned from a weekend away and I have to say all the good reviews on here are very well deserved. There are two main things that I expect when staying anywhere and that is cleanliness and good service and the Hawksmoor delivered above and beyond on both aspects.
The room was spotless and the service perfect! The breakfast was superb with friendly, efficient staff and as we were only a 10/15min walk to either Bowness or Windermere, we really couldn’t ask for anymore.
All in all, we had a wonderful time and left feeling like it was money well spent and certainly hope to return in the very near future. Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kornfreakUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased you all enjoyed your stay and that you felt it was money well spent.
We look forward to seeing you all again in the future.
Thanks again
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We chose the guesthouse largely on the basis of previous tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. We were made to feel very welcome with nothing too much trouble to help us enjoy our 4 night stay. The latter being a very reasonably priced 4 for 3 offer! Other reviewers have said it all, but perhaps we could add two comments. Firstly, our special thanks to Helen in the breakfast room who brightened up our mornings and secondly to the excellent high speed wi-fi available throughout the guest house. Our room being the delightful Room 12 overlooking the woods at the back; see photo.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank achsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
(A special hello from Helen)
Thanks again
Philippa,Trevor and Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

Our son and his girlfriend stayed a couple of years ago and it was recommended by them . Just the best breakfast you could have, cumfy beds great showers and warm as toast rooms. Warm welcome as well ... not much more to say .. we will be back, lots to do great pubs and restaurants and the cinema is a must. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are all really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Thanks again for your review
Trevor , Philippa and Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

I don't want to tell you how good Hawksmoor is... because it may fill up and I won't get a room next time. Ideal location to walk into Bowness or Windermere. Fantastic room. Really stylish. Spotless. Great breakfast. Excellent service and a particularly warm welcome. DVD library for cold evenings. All in all awesome.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harley_dee02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor, and for your kind words.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will see you again in the future.
(i promise, we will definitely try and find space!)
Thanks again
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Having read the other glowing reports on Trip Advisor I'd just like to say that this is our 3rd stay at Hawksmoor and I totally agree with everything thats been said by others. Faultless from the moment we arrived till the moment we left. Will definitely be back again... Thanks Phillipa and Trevor :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dale_aitkenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 24 February 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words, we are really pleased you loved your 3rd stay
and we look forward to seeing you both in the future.
Enjoy Northumberland this Summer
Thanks again
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse

Property: Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Hotel Windermere
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing