We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A well earned reputation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A well earned reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

Booked a 2 night stay here for my girlfriends 40th based on the reviews and position as no1 b&b in the area. It didn't dissapoint, everything exceeded our expectations from the room, location, amazing breakfast to the little touches like a welcome pot of tea brought to our room. Location wise its brilliant with short walk to either Windermere or Bownes in either direction or if the weathers bad or your feeling lazy a quick £3.50 taxi ride. The room was as advertised and spotlessly clean and the breakfast was gorgeous. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ollieovcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and your girlfriend enjoyed her birthday break.
We look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Thanks again
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    31
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
490
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

This place is great, we stayed in room 12 which had a balcony overlooking the wood! The room/bathroom is well fitted out with chair, wardrobe, dresser, side tables, welcome tray inc wine glasses & small fridge! The breakfasts were fantastic between us we had the specials of scrambled egg/smoked salmon on toasted bloomer, eggs benedict & fell walkers full breakfast - cooked to perfection! The hosts Philippa & Trevor were very friendly, greeting us with coffee/shortbread & always checking everything was ok!
Would definitely recommend & they deserve to be number 1 !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Hopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really glad you had a great time here and in the Lakes and you enjoyed the breakfasts especially
Hopefully we will see you again in the future
Many thanks
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

My Partner and I have just returned from a lovely 2 night stay at the Hawksmoor. Everything was absolutely perfect throughout the stay, from the rooms to the breakfasts, we both couldn't fault a single thing. We stayed in Room 1, which is very spacious and the bathroom was very big, with a lovely big bath/shower. There was even a large selection of DVD's that could be borrowed, if you fancied relaxing on an evening (which we did, after a 7mile walk in the afternoon). All the staff were very friendly, and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfasts each morning were fabulous, all freshly cooked to order, as well as offering cereals, fruit and yoghurts. The guesthouse itself was very peaceful and relaxing, situated in-between Windermere and Bowness, so was very easy to get around. There is a large car park on site, which was also a bonus. Overall this guesthouse was fabulous, and we will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelA_8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and in the Lakes and look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Thanks again
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

My husband and I visited Windermere for a 3 night stay in April. We arrived early afternoon and was greeted with a warm welcome by Trevor. He was so helpful and informative about what to do as it was our first visit. We were showed to our room (14) which was beautifully decorated, the bathroom was gorgeous and we liked the idea of having a bath and a separate shower to save time and with the added bonus of a tv made it luxurious. Room was cleaned and serviced daily and when we were out. The room also had a balcony with a beautiful view, listening to the birds and the stream below was relaxing. The Breakfast was amazing ;) there was so much variety, compliments to the chef :) We are definitely going back to them, you can see why they have awards for breakfast and hotel. Phillipa, Trevor and the staff were lovely and they certainly helped make our stay a lovely one. The hotel is located perfectly as it wasn't far from the lake/restaurants etc (10 mins walk) and the pass for the spa was a bonus. It was a perfect break away, just wish we could have stayed longer that's all. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone looking for that relaxing break away.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msbarade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are all really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and in the Lakes, we look forward to seeing you again in the future
Thanks again
Trevor and Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

We felt welcome the second Helen smiled at us as we walked in the door. What a beautiful little property it's not hard to see why so many people love staying here.
We were in room 10 which overlooks the back of the property and you can see the woodlands and a stream. It was a nice big room and very comfortable. Even the bathroom had underfloor heating. Our room was very quiet and we seldom heard anyone else. Well except someone in the room next door snoring on the 2nd night, but not much the managment could do about that!! The location is perfect with it just being a short walk into both Windemere and Bowness. In the sun room at the front of the property there is information about the local area and Phillippa was only too happy to provide extra info about what is going on locally. It was nice to sit in the sun room when it was a bit cold, it was very cosy.
Breakfast was good with a selection fruit, cereals and pastries as well as a cooked option. While we were having breakfast on our day of departure Helen asked if we would like to see the Deer, so she took us through the kitchen and onto the balcony and there they were 2 Deer in the woods. Phillippa and Trevor have got this place just right and we would definitely stay here again. They even left us some mini eggs in our room with it being easter.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , its lovely to hear you had a great stay here and that you loved the Deer too .
Many thanks again
Philippa ,Trevor and Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited Windermere over the Easter weekend and had the pleasure of staying at the the Hawksmoor. From the moment we arrived we had a fantastic stay. We stayed in room 7, a ground floor room which was very clean, well decorated and with a good sized bathroom. We arrived early and parked easily in the large car park (something you can't say about alot of the guest houses in the area) and were met at the door by Trevor who could not have been more welcoming and after checking our room allowed us to check in early. The breakfasts were beautiful and there was quite a lot of choice, for those who like a hearty breakfast you can't go wrong with the 'Fell walkers'! A lovely place at a good price, we will definitely be back.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you both again in the future.
Thanks again
Trevor and Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Stayed for our 40th wedding anniversary. Beautiful accommodation, excellent and helpful staff and the food was out of this world. Lovely couple who can't do enough for you. The location of the hotel is perfect, slap bang in between Windermere and Bowness which is great if you want to walk. Plenty of restaurants in the area if you want that special evening out.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nannymac075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are so glad you enjoyed your stay
here and in the Lakes and hopefully added to your special Anniversary.
Thank you
Trevor and Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse

Property: Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Hotel Windermere
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing