We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Excellant”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed for two nights in January 2014. Room was very spacious with a large bathroom that had both a shower and a bath (as well as a heated floor and incorporated radio). There was a great selection for breakfast and staff were helpful and very pleasant. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will see you again in the future. Thanks again ,Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    32
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
510
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed in room 12 which was brilliant! our bed was massive and very comfortable. we fully enjoyed our stay there. very welcoming and warm people, lovely and huge breakfast. and really good value specially if you get the winter offer (3 for 2). We will definitely stay there on our next visit at Windermere!

Room Tip: You get free access to local Spa, which we didn't know about beforehand and we missed it :( So d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KORINA M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased you both had a great time here and in Windermere and look forward to seeing you both next time.
Thanks again Trevor and Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Fantastic!!! What more can we say?

This was our 5th visit to the Hawksmoor.It always exceeds our expectations. Room 12 is lovely - cosy,comfortable, spotlessly clean and very quiet,with a lovely veranda overlooking the woodland and stream. Our only complaint would be that we didn't see any deer this time.

The breakfasts are wonderful.There is a fantastic choice to suit everybody.The fellwalkers breakfast is to be recommended as are the specials each morning.

Philippa,Trevor and the team are very welcoming.Nothing is too much trouble.

We would highly recommend a stay at the Hawksmoor.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter and have woodland views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueandAndy14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , It was lovely to see you both again and we are really pleased you enjoyed your recent visit too. Hopefully we will see you both again in the future. Thanks from Trevor , Philippa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the Hawksmoor Guesthouse. Our room (number 8) the family room was just perfect for us and our son. Spacious, spotless, warm and comfy. The breakfast was a real treat and we enjoyed eggs benedict and smoked haddock and poached eggs, two of the daily specials. We will definitely return and have already recommended it to friends Thank you. It was just what we needed to recharge our batteries between Christmas and New Year!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judib10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and Room 8 was perfect for your family.
Thanks also for your recommendations to friends. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Cheers Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Excellent rooms, facilities and breakfasts, presented by friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in room 9 which was clean and well equipped. The location was perfect for exploring the Lake District. We arrived by train from London and it was an easy walk with our hand luggage, there were taxis waiting for those with more luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euro2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are glad you enjoyed your stay here and in the Lakes and hopefully will see you again in the future.
Thank you
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We have stayed with friends three times at the Hawksmoor guesthouse. The owners make you so welcome and the tea or coffee and biscuits are a nice start to your stay. I cant eat gluten and they make sure that I don't miss out on the wonderful breakfast they have, they get me g/free bread and sausages. All the staff are lovely and will give you tips on places to visit so just ask. This guesthouse is near some good pubs and restaurants to eat at, good value food at the albert pub. If you like walking then put your boots on and take up on some of the walks on offer, maps available at tourist information office

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elvia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased you enjoyed all of your visits here and hopefully will see you all again in the future.
Thanks again, Philippa , Trevor and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Stopped at this wonderful guest house again. We were in room 10 for 3 nights, very nice room large 6 foot bed, lovely view of woods at back. We were made to feel really welcome from the moment we checked in. Breakfast was lovely each morning. With specials on each morning. My wife had the smoked haddock and poached eggs one morning, she loved it and I had the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon this was fab aswell. My wife says I must mention the little pastries they have on each mornin, she loved them. Overall this another brill stay at what is easily one of the best guest houses in Windermere.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank deniro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here once again and hopefully we will see you again in the future.
Thanks again.
Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 108 in Windermere
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#5 of 108 in Windermere
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse

Property: Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Hotel Windermere
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing