We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Downright luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 109 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Okemos, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Downright luxurious”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My daughters and I stayed at Hawksmoor for two nights in mid June 2014. The guesthouse is located in between the towns of Windermere and Bowness on the lake - about a mile to either one. We walked from the train station, which was a bit of a healthy walk with heavy backpacks, but it is certainly doable. Trevor and Philippa were very welcoming and got us set up right away in our very nice room. The room was on the ground floor and right next to the entrance and dining area, but it was still very quiet. It was set up with one king size (at least I think it was a king) and a separate twin in an alcove. However, Trevor told me it could have been set up as three singles. The bathroom was large, and included a shower, a separate bathtub, underfloor heating, and heated towel racks. Our room had two TVs, both with DVD players. The guesthouse also has numerous DVDs that you can borrow while you are staying there. It worked out great for us, as my older daughter and I wanted to watch the World Cup and my younger daughter had no interest. Coffee/tea/hot chocolate was provided in the room. A very nice breakfast was provided and cooked to order. In addition, the room comes with access to the pool and spa facilities in another hotel by the Lake. The girls loved being able to swim and use the sauna, "ice room" and "experience shower" at the MacDonald Old England Hotel. You do need to be sure that you are somewhat organized about getting things such as movies, because the owners are not available in the evenings after 6:30 (except for emergencies, of course) as they have young kids and spend their evenings with them. Probably because of that, we found the guesthouse to be very "kid-friendly". I would definitely recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are very pleased you had a great time here and in the Lakes and found us welcoming and comfortable.
We are really pleased you enjoyed using the spa too, it is a great way to relax after a hard days sightseeing. Thanks again Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    639
    32
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
65
505
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just got back from a two day break at Hawksmoor, what can I say how do you improve on the best B&b in Windermere, it is like going home,Phillipa and Trevor are wonderful hosts, nothing is to much, trouble, all their staff are lovely and are very helpful.
The breakfasts are wonderful, lots of choice, and most of all the food is served piping hot.
The bedrooms are spotless and beautifully decorated.
Thank you all for another wonderful stay

Room Tip: you would not be disappointed with any room given. If you would like a balcony there is a room at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsaway950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for writing another lovely review of the Hawksmoor, we are very pleased you had a great stay again and look forward to seeing you both again in the future. Thanks very much Trev and Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Well situated between Windermere and Bowness. Rooms are very comfortable with super bathrooms and so spacious. More a small hotel than a guest house.
Breakfast was very good and the 'specials' a good idea and appreciated.
Philippa and Trevor were very welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrietta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and were very comfortable and also enjoyed the specials at breakfast. Hopefully we will see you again. Thanks again Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked a last minute 2 night stay at Hawksmoor last week and I am so glad I did. When we arrived there was ample parking available and we were greeted by Phillipa who is very friendly and helpful without being overbearing. We were shown to our room - room 12 which was on the first floor. The room was huge, very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Huge, very comfy super king bed and plenty of storage space. The room also had a fridge which was great (don't think this is mentioned on the website). Room 12 also has a balcony which overlooks woodland and a brook which is just lovely. It was red hot so we had quite a few opportunities to sit outside and enjoy the peace & quiet. Lovely big bathroom too, great power shower and gorgeous smelling rose & geranium shower gel etc. So nice I bought some as it's available to purchase from the guesthouse :o)
The guesthouse is approximately a 10 minute walk to Bowness so is in a great location, although if you're not keen on hills I'd advise getting a taxi back - it only cost £3.50 from town. The breakfast here was spot on -excellent menu choice and cooked really well. Lovely breakfast room too, nice & quiet and the staff were very efficient and friendly.
I can't fault this place at all and would go as far a to say it's the nicest place I've stayed. The next time I visit the lakes I won't be looking to book anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZZ40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thanks again Trevor and Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

From check in to check out, it was a brilliant experience! we arrived by car and there was ample parking space. the hosts were very friendly and helpful and gave us great insight on what to visit in Lake District. we were two adults and a child and we had a good suite. the suite was pretty big in size. the breakfast was hot and fresh and they had good vegetarian options. location is great, it in between the towns of windermere and bowness(walking distance). would surely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Advaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and in the Lakes and enjoyed Room 8 our family room.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and hopefully will see you all again next time you are in the UK. Thanks again Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Highly recommended. From your personal arrival greeting from Philippa and Trevor, with tea and shortbread in the conservatory, this guesthouse continues to excel with the quality of the rooms, the facilities, the helpful local information and the superb breakfasts (I particularly enjoyed the 'special of the day' smoked haddock with poached eggs for a change).

As others have said, the location is good, so you can choose to walk into Windermere or Bowness, and there is ample car park space.

Good people deserve to succeed and it's a pleasure to simply praise a couple for a job well done. Thank you both.

Don't hesitate, in my opinion just book it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor and for your very kind words. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time here and in the Lakes and hopefully will see you both again next time you are up this way. Thanks again Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Our warm reception with tea & shortbread from Phillipa set us up for a lovely 2 nights here. We had room 6 with "wet room" bathroom fully accessible for all. Our windows opened onto the car park which was NOT a problem at all. Hawksmoor is halfway between Windermere & Bowness and there are plenty of good places to eat in either direction. A rainy Saturday didn't stop us enjoying a ferry trip to Lakeside & the motor museum (plenty for girls there too). Delicious breakfasts & warm hospitality. Thank you Phillipa and Trevor.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank roadtrip81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and in the Lakes, (We are also fond of the Motor Museum ) We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Thanks again Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#4 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 109 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse

Property: Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Hotel Windermere
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing