We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful break in Windermere.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful break in Windermere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Lovely hotel and amazing room, underfloor heating! We had the superior double room and would happily go back tomorrow. Your can borrow dvd's for free and it is situated between Bowness (which is gorgeous) and Windermere.

So helpful and a delicious breakfast too.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the house (which we had) are on the main road but it is double glazed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay in Room 1 and were very comfortable. Hopefully we will see you again next time you are up this way. Thanks again Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    32
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
64
497
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for three nights at end of July. Was given a warm welcome at reception together with a tea, coffee and shortbread. We stayed in room 2, a light and airy room; the room was very clean, tastefully decorated and furnished, as was the rest of the building. The ensuite had high quality fittings including a good strength shower.
The ample breakfast could not be beaten with a good choice of food with an added daily special, plentiful tea, coffee and toast served by professional but friendly staff.
The building is well located for a stay in the Lakes with the added bonus of a good onsite car park.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor, we are really pleased you had a good stay here and were very comfortable. Thank you for offering to recommend us, we look forward to seeing you both again. Cheers Trevor and Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Booked this B&B for a break for my husbands birthday. We stayed for 5 nights and the service from the staff was excellent. Very friendly and gave me suggestions on restaurants for my husbands birthday meal. We stayed in room 4 at the top of the hotel which is at the front of the hotel. We were a bit concerned at leaving the window open at night because it was so warm and were on a busy road, but we needn't have worried, it wasn't too noisy - apart from the night that an alarm went off down the road. The room itself was very spacious and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked and they had a special on every morning. There were also fruit, cereals, yogurt and pastries to choose from.
Hawksmoor is a 10 minute walk away from both Windermere and Bowness, so you can choose which way you want to go for your evening meal. Well situated for visiting the lakes and we found a couple of walks to do without using the car. Would certainly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyPieLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are rally pleased you had a great stay here and your Husband enjoyed his Birthday. Thanks very much for recommending us to others, hopefully we will see you in the future. , Cheers Philippa and Treevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We had room 14 with balcony and TV over the bath and very nice it was. The welcome was friendly and very professional. Breakfast was excellent with a special every day , which I had, which was plentiful and delicious. Location wise perfect between Windermere and Bowness and an easy walk to either for bars and restaurants. Would recommend and will be returning next year at some point.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to seeing you again next Year, Thanks again Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We spent a weekend at the Hawksmoor to see what the area had to offer. We had room 4 top of the hotel at the front of house, last room left when we booked a month in advance. Weather was kind and very warm, so we had to sleep with windows open, very busy road outside so traffic noise was disturbing at night. Lovely clean room and hotel . Staff are very friendly and helpful with lots of area information given, hotel is 10 mins walk from both windermere and bowness, bowness has lots of shops, restaurants, pubs, windermere not so many. Breakfast at Hawksmoor , great choice and delicous, my husband particular enjoyed the smoked salmon and scrambled egg special, being veggie myself they provided soya milk at my request. Sweet peas in garden smelt gorgeous. All in all a great weekend at a quality hotel, next time will try for a room at the rear and hope weather will be hot again

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of hotel alot less noise from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d20mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay here and found us comfortable and enjoyed the breakfast. We are really sorry you were disturbed at night from the road though, hopefully we will see you both again in the future. Thanks again Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at this lovely guest house for four nights and were really sorry to have to leave. From check-in to check-out, the service was outstanding: friendly, accommodating, and attentive. Our first-floor room was beautifully decorated, very clean and bigger than we expected, with a balcony overlooking the Woodlands.

There was a kettle for tea and coffee, biscuits, a bottle of water in the fridge, TV with Freeview, a DVD player, an iPod dock and a hairdryer available in the room. The guest house offers a free DVD library and also free wi-fi to all guests. The super king-sized bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very quiet.

The Hawksmoor Guest House is situated within walking distance of both Windermere and Bowness-on-Windermere, so it was easy for us to get to the attractions and restaurants we were interested in visiting. (There is parking available for those guests arriving by car. Also, the cab fare to and from Windermere station is around £3.50.)

The Full Fellwalkers breakfast was extremely good and filling enough to set us up for a day of walking. In addition to a cooked breakfast, there were also pastries, yoghurts, cereal, juices, and preserves available. There was a different breakfast special every morning, offering a change from the main menu.

We will definitely be returning in the near future. Besides the great location and the superb quality of the rooms, we were very impressed with the service provided and with the care and attention to detail shown by both Philippa and Trevor and their wonderful staff.

A big thank you to all of you for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loggins11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of the Hawksmoor , we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and felt that we looked after you.
We look forward to seeing you both again in the future. Many thanks
Trevor and Philippa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

A few weeks ago my boyfriend and I decided we fancied a couple of days away, and settled on The Lakes. We came across The Hawksmoor Guesthouse and decided, after it's glowing reviews, to try and book. As it was only a few weeks ago the only room left was room 5, which looked lovely, so we decided to book. We knew this was one of the smaller rooms.

The greeting was lovely and we were shown straight to our room. As it was a stifling day, I noticed that the windows had already been opened, I thought this was a nice touch. The facilities were great, there was tea and coffee facilities, along with a modern TV with freeview, an iPod dock, hair dryer, and a great selection of DVD's to choose from. I also noticed there was an iron and ironing board on each landing that we passed. We also had free wifi, so we watched a bit of Netflix after a long day!

The breakfast was great. Nice and filling, which is what was needed before a day exploring The Lake District!

This was a great trip, and I would definitely book to visit again!

Room Tip: Book week in advance if you want a pick of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahD89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pandtWindermere, Owner at Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for writing a review of the Hawksmoor , we are really pleased we were able to accommodate you and that you enjoyed your stay here. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Thanks again Philippa and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Hideaway At Windermere
The Hideaway At Windermere
#5 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kenilworth Guest House
Kenilworth Guest House
#1 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse

Property: Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Address: Lake Road, Windermere LA23 2EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Hotel Windermere
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing