We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great comfort and hospitality”
Review of Ashleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ashleigh House
Ranked #66 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great comfort and hospitality”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Three minutes walk from Windermere train station, smack dab in the centre of Windermere and just a short bus ride to Bowness, Ashleigh Guesthouse is in a great location especially for travellers relying on public transport or their own steam.

As a group of three we stayed in a family room with a double and a single. It was large and with a lovely decor, the en-suite bathroom (although small) was very new. Everything was immaculately clean.

The breakfast was superb - a full English served in the lovely parlour with a fireplace.

Great value. I absolutely reccommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falena84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    19
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

excellent location, good sized room and i suppose you get what you pay for (£124 fro two adults/2 nights)
the place was nice and clean although we felt the dining area for breakfast was a little on the small side and we were not overly impressed with the full englsh breakfast so we didnt bother going down the second morning. Good value for the money but we will stick with Hotels in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reilly1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Booked at the last minute - a four night stay for a brief walking holiday. The room was very good, spotlessly clean and with a very comfortable bed. The breakfasts were excellent and Brenda and family provide a warm welcome. It is also convenient for the restaurants in Windermere and Bowness. I highly recommended this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytripperDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We have just had a wounderful stay at the Ashleigh,We had a warm welcome from Brenda on our arrival , our room was room 5 on the top floor with great view over the hillls, it was very clean and comfortable room. The breakfast was very good, all in all the Ashleigh is a lovely place to stay and great value for money we would recommend it to any of our friends

Room Tip: ask for room 5 great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shane069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My sister and i stayed here for 4 nights and had a really nice time. The B&B has everything you need for a comfortable stay. It is really close to the centre as well as the bus/rail station although doesnt feel like it. It is really friendly and like a proper village. The breakfasts were always really good with plenty of choice. The room was lovely and had an ensuite which was more than adequate. The cleanliness of Ashleigh Guest House is exceptional, couldnt ask for more. The room's facilities such as the television, hairdryer, ironing board and fan meant we had everything we needed. The tea tray had everything we needed. For me the pillows were slightly thin but thats my personal preference and i just borrowed a pillow off the spare bed. The local cafes and resteraunts were great. We ate in Lazy Daisy's, The Elleray and Indian Ocean and they were all delicious and much enjoyed. Bowness is a mile walk away and other towns such as Grasmere and Ambleside are just a bus ride away. Overall we are more than happy with our stay in Widermere and at the Ashleigh Guest House and would stay here again, and have already recommended it to our mum and dad who are planning a trip soon.

Room Tip: Our room was up two flights of stairs which was difficult with my bad knee, so ask for the lower gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sj j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is a nice B&B right in the middle of Windermere, in fact you really couldnt be more central.

Brenda gave us a nice warm welcome and continued to do so through our stay even though we kept asking to sneak through the kitchen to get to the car park at busy times when she was cooking (sorry Brenda !!).

Visitors should know the car park is at the back of the house available from Main Road though probably best to park at the front of the house until you get shown the entrance as its very tight. I had an X5 and with the mirrors tucked in I just got through the gap with 2 inches spare either side. If you have a trailer or bike rack on the back its tight for turning round but all ok and is great to have a place to park the car in Windermere to avoid the stress of parking tickets and time limits.

The place is clean and tidy and perfectly comfortable and new carpets in the entrance and stairway.

Overall I'd recommend the place and would stay again for sure for a handy central B&B.

My only tiny favour would be to ask, please please please change the sausages on your cooked breakfast (!!!) and perhaps offer some healthy cereals with less sugar kick option.

Thanks Brenda for a lovely stay and we'll no doubt be back if you can forgive my sausage request.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 at the front of the house on the 1st floor. A good room with large en suite and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikerobinson68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Just had a very comfortable weekend stay at the Ashleigh. A friendly welcome, small car park, spotlessly clean and comfortable bedrooms. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.0 mi away
The Archway Guesthouse
The Archway Guesthouse
#5 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southview Guest House
Southview Guest House
#25 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
Lingmoor Guest Accommodation
#43 of 108 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Broadlands Guest House
Broadlands Guest House
#28 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thornbank Guest House
Thornbank Guest House
#9 of 108 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Guest House & All Seasons Rest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashleigh House

Property: Ashleigh House
Address: 11 College Road, Windermere LA23 1BU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashleigh House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashleigh House is a traditional Lakeland stone Victorian house situated in the centre of the village of Windermere in the beautiful English Lake District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ashleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashleigh House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing