We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked in for 3 nights but left after the 1st”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rayrigg Villa Guest House
Ranked #90 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Booked in for 3 nights but left after the 1st”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The title sums it up. Apart from a welcoming host and clean sheets, there's not much else that can be said about this place. The family room for £130 a night was a waste of money. The bathroom was tiny, the basin was tiny, the cold water tap did not work, there was mould in the shower, the furniture and decor were old and there was a damp/mildew smell. There was no way my holiday was going to be ruined by this poor choice of B&B so we left after the first night much to the disappointment of the owner who showed a different side to his amiable character. This place has great potential but at the moment is really poor - do not be fooled by the "luxury accomodation" sign above the front door.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Ali172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    9
    5
    5
    9
See reviews for
16
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Have to echo what many others have said which is that this place is way overpriced and rates should be far lower than £90/£100 for an unexceptional double room. The so-called en-suite was little larger than a cupboard and shower cubicle not a good place to drop the soap! Beds too springy for my liking. On the plus side Wills was very helpful and breakfast OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I agree with other reviews I am afraid, Wills the owner was welcoming and very helpful and the breakfast was really nice and plentiful. The room we had however, was not up to 4star standard and certainly not worth the £100 a night that we paid. In our opinion it was a single room with a double bed in it, the wardrobe was either a child's or was a tall boy..our tops wouldn't fit in never mind dresses or trousers!! We ended up hanging our shirts and tops on the outside of the wardrobe so they wouldn't crease at the bottom!! Limited space to move around the bed. To be honest I was very disappointed with it and feel they certainly should not advertise that room as a double !! We did find it very clean though.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room number 2. !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cityslicker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Lovely welcome and advice from Wills and great breakfast but that's where the positives end I'm afraid.
Paid a lot of money for 4 star accommodation but certainly the rooms where far from it. Very out dated furniture, moldy curtains and a very tiny basic bathroom. Wasn't able to turn the heating on either so was left snuggling under duvet to keep warm. Such a shame as it really could be a lovely place but it's about time some cash was injected into the rooms and brought up to scratch. Sadly I was disappointed and wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happymum2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I should have heeded the words of other Trip Advisor commentors. I did not like the place from the moment I stepped in. There was a musty smell in the hallway. We had a room upstairs facing the street, which was very small and the bathroom was no bigger than a cupboard. The sign outside said 'Luxury Accommodation'. It is far from that. However, the room was clean and only warm when the owners put on the hydroheater remotely. There was also a sign in our room that said there would be a 100 pound fine if found smoking or washing clothes! Wills, the owner, was very helpful in helping us decide what to see and do and how to get there. He bent over backwards to assist us in having the best time possible.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank virginia096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Victoria Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this B@B. right in the middle of town and within walking distance of buses and restaurants. Owner Wills makes every effort to assist with local information and bus timetables etc. took his advice and paid £7.00 for the all day bus. Enjoyed a boat trip and steam train too. Car was left securely parked in the back yard. Plenty of choice for breakfast included in the charge.

Room Tip: Can hear guests who walk heavily coming down stairs from upstairs bedroom but otherwise a pleasant B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
congleton cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Sheets Clean, towels clean, good location - that's where the positives end I'm afraid!
Damp, mouldy smelly staircase.
Room tiny.
V poorly decorated - supposed to be 4 Star!!!!
Beds uncomfortable
Furniture cheap and awful - very dated.
Breakfast okay.
Shower grimey in places.
Very expenisve for what I would say is no more than 2 star accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank joanna n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
All Seasons
All Seasons
#64 of 108 in Windermere
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rockside Guest House
Rockside Guest House
#12 of 108 in Windermere
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bonny Brae Guest House
Bonny Brae Guest House
#57 of 108 in Windermere
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adam Place Guest House
Adam Place Guest House
#68 of 108 in Windermere
58 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Howbeck
The Howbeck
#19 of 108 in Windermere
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Autumn Leaves Guest House
Autumn Leaves Guest House
#14 of 108 in Windermere
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayrigg Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayrigg Villa Guest House

Property: Rayrigg Villa Guest House
Address: Ellerthwaite Square, Windermere LA23 1DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rayrigg Villa Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rayrigg Villa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayrigg Villa Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing