We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Invergarry Guest House
Ranked #18 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Brilliant!!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

I went up last month with my two children for a short break at Invergarry. It wasn't our first time having been a few times before myself.
Once again Victoria and Steve were amazing, looking after us after a challenging journey getting there!
We stayed in the newly redecorated garden room which is just lovely!
I can't recommend Invergarry enough for anyone wanting to visit Windermere.
Don't miss it if you get the opportunity to stay in the area!
Thanks again Vicky & Steve
Best wishes
Pauline and family

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jowettWindermere, Owner at Invergarry Guest House, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Pauline, Thank you so much for this lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you all and we are thrilled that you had such a good stay. We look forward to meeting you again later in the year, until then best wishes Vicky & Steve x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
264
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
intherainycity
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

This is the best b&b we have stayed at.

We stayed in both a double room and the garden room. It was really nice of the hosts to upgrade us on the 2nd night after an error was made by the booking agent.

First of all the location is fab, 10 mins from both Bowness and Windermere. A quiet street with great parking.
When you enter you are welcomed with gorgeous home made cake and a friendly chat.
The rooms are spotless, light and airy with free wifi and Egyptian cotton sheets and towels.
It was when we moved to the garden room that we were really impressed. This is a room at the back of the property with a private entrance. We had a sitting area with dining table. Tea, filter coffee, iPod dock and magazines. Bliss in the sun and the rain.
The beds can be twin or double and there is a lovely shower/ bathroom with a heated towel rail. There is a telly facing the beds with Netflix and Amazon Prime.
In the morning you put the light on in the dining area and Steve will come and take your order for breakfast and bring it to you like your own private butler! The breakfast is really nice, great sausages. Home made muesli which is to die for and fantastic home made jam and marmalade. I bought a jar of both before I left it was so good!
Thanks so much to Steve and Vicky for making us so welcome. You run a great business.
I look forward to staying again and would recommend to anyone staying in the lakes, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The garden room is a bit special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intherainycity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jowettWindermere, Owner at Invergarry Guest House, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Nikki & Joe, Thank you for this really lovely review. We are so pleased that you had such a good time with us. We really did enjoy meeting you both and were only to happy to upgrade you. We would love to welcome you both back one day and we will look forward to it. Best wishes Vicky & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I really lucked out the first time we stayed here years ago on our first trip to The Lakes. We now stay at Invergarry every time we visit Windermere/Bowness and the service has never disappointed us. The rooms have always been very comfortable and the breakfast continues to be gorgeous. The owners - Steve and Vicky - never let the rooms get old or rundown and are keen to try out new amenities such as the SmartTV they have just installed in the Garden Room (with Netflix etc).

One of the things I love most about Invergarry that I think sets it apart is the attention to detail. It makes you feel as if Steve and Vicky really care about making your stay as special as it can be - quite a superb feat considering they do it day in and day out for their guests. Besides - we'd come back again and again just for the homemade cake you'll find in your room next to the tea and coffee and the delicious homemade marmelade you'll get at breakfast!

We really cannot recommend Invergarry enough. We've celebrated birthdays, anniversaries and thank-goodness-we-finally-have-a-few-days-off holidays there. It is definitely money well spent on what has always been for us a guaranteed excellent stay. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: The Garden Room is situated outside the guesthouse and is separate from the main building. It is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jowettWindermere, Owner at Invergarry Guest House, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Heather & Dale, Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review of us. You were one of our first guests when we moved here and we have really enjoyed welcoming you back over the years. We are delighted that we continue to make you stays enjoyable. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Lots of love Vicky & Steve x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

I don't normally take the time to write a review however on this occasion I feel like I must. Even before we arrived their service was A1, I telephoned to apologise we was going to be arriving late due to my inability to read a map and not only were they understanding of my situation they took the time to guide us in, which we was extremely grateful for. Steve and Vicky were fantastic hosts and I would be returning for the cooked breakfast alone! The room was extremely spacious and well thought out. Their knowledge on not only the best walks but restaurants was invaluable I can't thank you both enough for making our break away such an memorable experience and you can be sure we will be returning very soon xXx

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jowettWindermere, Owner at Invergarry Guest House, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Thank you Michael for taking the time to write us such a lovely review and for joining Tripadvisor to do so. It is very much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to meeting you later in the year. Best wishes Steve & Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Spent three nights at this homely and well appointed little establishment while away on business. Excellent service I will have no hesitation in using again when I am next in the area. Breakfast was first class and vic and Steve great hosts. Home from home.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jowettWindermere, Owner at Invergarry Guest House, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Gerald, Thank you so much for your lovely review. Its means a great deal that you took the trouble to write it. We look forward to welcoming you back to Invergarry again. Best wishes Steve & Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner had the pleasure of spending four happy nights here with vic and steve earlier this month. They were welcoming and friendly from the start without being over bearing and made our stay extremely comfortable. Steve has a sound knowledge if the local area and as keen walkers this was a great help to us. Victorias breakfast makes a great start to the day hot fresh and tasty. Rooms were clean and well decorated and homemade cakes and preserves a lovely touch. Would definitely recommend and will be back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jowettWindermere, Owner at Invergarry Guest House, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Gemma, Wow thank you for such a wonderful review. It really was wonderful to have you both back and we cant wait to see you later in the year. Best wishes Steve & Vicky xxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2014

A really nice place to stay, with great hosts. Walking distance to both the train station and the lake, it's very convenient, nice and quiet with great amenities. Hosts Steve and Vicky were great as well. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanKen00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jowettWindermere, Owner at Invergarry Guest House, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Dan, Thank you for writing such a lovely review of our home. We really enjoyed meeting you both and hope that we can be your special meeting place in the future. Best wishes Steve & Vicky x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,428 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.6 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glenville House (Adults Only)
Glenville House (Adults Only)
#3 of 108 in Windermere
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
Hawksmoor Lakeland Guesthouse
#2 of 108 in Windermere
687 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ellerdene Guest House
Ellerdene Guest House
#16 of 108 in Windermere
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Invergarry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Invergarry Guest House

Property: Invergarry Guest House
Address: 3 Thornbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Invergarry Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Invergarry is a Victorian lakeland guest house for adults only. We are focused on providing high-quality service and customer satisfaction. Our breakfast menu is varied and all breakfasts are made to order using local produce. All our preserves are homemade. We have four en suite shower rooms in the main house and a detached garden room for something extra special. All our rooms have digital TV, complimentary tea and coffee facilities as well as a slice of homemade cake. Situated mid way between Windermere and Bowness on Windermere, we are an ideal base for exploring the Lakes and Fells of the National Park with Lake Windermere a 10 minute walk down the hill. We look forward to welcoming you to Invergarry and the Lake District, we are sure you will feel at home and you can be assured of our personal attention throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Invergarry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Invergarry Guest House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing