We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accomodation, top class service, friendly atmosfere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lickbarrow Lodge - an Arts and Crafts House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lickbarrow Lodge - an Arts and Crafts House
Ranked #95 of 111 Windermere B&B and Inns
Province of Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great accomodation, top class service, friendly atmosfere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

During our Dales + Cumbria ways walk we were "forced" by the Bank holiday period to prolong our stay in beautiful but busy Windemere. We were very lucky to find this beautiful villa in the middle of the parkland 1 km from city center, the place, the house, the owners, the great breakfast, eveything concurred to complete the perfect stay. the icing on the cake was the competent advises we receive from Adrian and Elizabeth, Adrian in particular helped us to "cut" a new way to reach Conicton without wasting time going to Ulverston, he provided us with a lot of info and maps for our walk, in Lickbarrow lodge we spent some of the best moments during our trip. Suggested to all "adventurers" and walkers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

Had the pleasure of staying in the Guest Room at Lickbarrow Lodge on 3/7/11.
Was greeted by Adrian and Elizabeth who showed me to my room before offering me a cuppa.
Sat and had a lovely pot of tea and slice of cake in the exquisite grounds of their
stunning home. Very welcome and unexpected.
The room was beautiful with a delightful ensuite. This room would be perfect for single or couples. Very tastefully decorated and immaculately kept.
Was given a door key to let myself in after my evening trip into Bowness. Ask Adrian for the walking directions into Bowness......a fantastic walk of about 30 mins along a country lane and down a footpath across fields where you'll encounter sheep and cows grazing and simply stunning scenery.
If you want a cheap meal, then pop into Lake View which is part of the Crown Carveries group. It's situated right on the lake by the piers. The view I had while eating was worth the price of the meal alone.
After a good nights sleep, I had breakfast in the Library. There was bread,jam,cereals,yoghurt etc along with the "Full English".
Before leaving Adrian and Elisabeth gave me advise and a print out of a route acrooss the ferry and places to see en route to Ambleside. Had a great morning. Thanks.

To summarise, a delightful place to stay in the Lakes and a couple great hosts in Adrian & Elizabeth.

Thank You for the stay.

Room Tip: Stay at this stunning home in the Lakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed at Lickbarrow Lodge for one night in July and have to say we had a wodnerful time. It was just perfect for what we wanted, it is in a perfect place about a 5 minute drive into the centre of Windernere. The Lodge has everything you would need for a short stay, it is lovely and clean, tastefully decorated and the owners are really nice, friendly and helpful - i would recommend staying at Lickbarrow Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank re09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

Had a lovely stay, helped I'm sure by the fabulous weather. Lickbarrow Lodge is a beautiful house, about a mile out of Windermere village. From the house, it's a 30 minute walk, downhill through amazing countryside, to Bowness and all the touristy things; near enough to access everything easily, but far enough away to let you feel like you're away from the hustle and bustle.
Mr and Mrs Legge are very warm and welcoming and made our stay with our 5 year old son and my parents very comfortable. Rooms were clean and homely, with en-suites. Breakfast was lovely - freshly cooked, with a good selection on offer.
To put it simply, we had a really lovely time!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MegletMoogler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

We have just stayed 2 nights at this superbly renovated Arts & Crafts lodge, just 5 minutes drive from Windermere in the most beautiful countryside away from the hustle and bustle of the town. The studio apartment was very comfortable: a very comfy double bed, a good power shower and an Ikea kitchen hidden away in a cupboard, but with everything available if you wanted to cook a meal. The studio had french doors opening onto a patio, just the spot to enjoy a glass of wine after a busy day sightseeing. Highly recommended and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

Just relax, and stop your search now. This bed and breakfast is terrific.
My husband and I were a little ambivalent about The Lakes in March, but some friends were raving on about the warmth of the welcome, the beauty of the place etc etc, so off we went.
Lickbarrow Lodge is a beautifully restored and enhanced Arts and Crafts house nestled beside its own wooded acreage, and surrounded by a variety of hillsides with stunning views of the lake. All very walkable, and only half a mile up the hill from Windermere.
The interior of the Lodge is gorgeous, and our bedroom, bathroom and kitchenette, immaculate.
Elizabeth and Adrian Legge are excellent hosts, being unobtrusive, and readily available for friendly chat and information.
They totally enjoy having guests and love to chat to a wide variety of people, exchanging travel tales from across the world. We had great chat with Elizabeth over one of her famous breakfasts served in the library (!) In fact such a good time we were having, we were nearly sorry that the heavy cloud cover cleared, to enable us to set off on a guided walk. Adrian is a qualified guide and first aider with an encyclopaedic knowledge of the area, and a most charming walking companion. The following days, armed maps and books from the Library, we trundled our own way around the area, finding lovely pubs with great food, and always happy to return to the Lodge.
Elizabeth is very entertaining and an expert in food and interior design, so lots of conversation. We found the company great, and feel we have made some new friends. Most of their guests are returnees, unsurprisingly.
As for the woods? Totally peaceful and relaxing, with the odd rustle of leaves, and tweet of bird.....and then there was us........

Helpful?
1 Thank YorkJoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

We had a week stay at Lickbarrow Lodge in the B&B room which had its own entrance hall . It was beautifully furnished. Spotlessly clean,spacious & had everything we needed. The shower was brilliant with overhead,massage jets & hand held spray.The shower room & bedroom had underfloor heating which we were able to control ourselves & there was a heated towel rail in the large bathroom which we could also control. If it was very cold there were extra bedcovers available & also an electric heater in the bedroom. Breakfast was taken in the Library at our leisure which was more than adequate to start the day. Liz & Adrian were most welcoming & we soon felt the benefit of their hospitalty. It was a delightful Art Deco style lodge house with a very interesting history. The area was very quiet & it was lovely to have a peaceful nights sleep. We could see across to the Langdales from our room-that was when it was clear enough !!!! It really didn't matter that the weather wasn't too good,it was still an excellent holiday & a best place to stay. we will visit again as soon as we can. We have been visiting Cumbria & particularly Windermere for the past 38 years & we think this was the best place we have stayed. It was excellent value..

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Suzy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Windermere Suites
Windermere Suites
#20 of 111 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ashleigh House
Ashleigh House
#64 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#57 of 111 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lickbarrow Lodge - an Arts and Crafts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lickbarrow Lodge - an Arts and Crafts House

Property: Lickbarrow Lodge - an Arts and Crafts House
Address: Lickbarrow Lodge Lickbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Arts and Crafts country house close to Windermere and Bowness villages, offering the choice of Self-Catering or Bed and Breakfast accommodation. The perfect base for touring or walking in the Lake District, we can advise on local events, our favorite pubs and restaurants, lovely local walks, full-day itineraries and even guide you on demanding summit walks. Our garden offers superb mountain views and you are welcome to stroll in our secluded private woodland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lickbarrow Lodge - An Arts And Crafts House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing