We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lickbarrow Lodge - an Arts and Crafts House
Ranked #86 of 108 Windermere B&B and Inns
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“First Class Service”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

My husband booked this as a surprise and what a surprise it was. A gorgeous property with lovely friendly owners who couldn't do enough to please. We stayed for 2 nights B&B I loved the room it was good quality and immaculately clean the en-suite was modern and a good size. We had breakfast in the library, it was a lovely breakfast and plentiful. The property although tucked down a country lane is just a stones throw from Windermere. I would recommend this homely beautiful B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine7273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Stayed at this wonderful B&B in the Lake District during Easter. The place is 5 mins drive away from Windemere city and lake but set right in the middle of nature. From the garden you have a fantastic view of the peaks of the lake district and we even saw deer in the back of the large garden/woodlands.
Breakfast and service was fantastic.
Highly recommendable for anyone visiting the Lake District

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TPetersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Arrived 1st April 2013 for a 3 night stay in The Studio.
The studio is bigger than you think, very comfortable and has everything you need for your stay in the Lake District.
We loved being in the countryside, on a quiet lane with Bowness a 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk away. There are lots of public footpaths around the studio so perfect for wandering, we loved these and esp as the lambs were out and so was the sun for a change!
The studio itself:bed very comfortable, warm heating if required, tv/dvd player, toiletries etc included, the compact kitchenette was great too - we only made breakfasts as ate out for lunch and dinners, but if you wanted to pots/pans/dishes etc are there for you and a good sized fridge.
For restaurants nearby - we especially loved the Wild Boar Inn, grill and smokehouse about 5 minutes away in car. Best steak we have had - a bit pricey however it is a lovely dining room, atmosphere and friendly staff, most important is the food and that wont let you down.
We will definitely be back to Lickbarrow Lodge - and although booked with Sykes this time we will book direct next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I stayed here recently for NY in Lickbarrow Lodges 'Studio'. We arrived a little late on the evening of our first nights stay but were warmly welcomed by Adrian (owner) and shown the way to our home for the next 4 nights. It was spotless, cosy and a lot bigger than the picture made out. More importantly for us it was warm, as the weather hadn't been the sunniest! The bathroom looked brand new and the shower was brilliant.
The more we looked around the studio the more we realised the amount of care owners Adrian and Elizabeth had taken to making sure we had everything we may need. It's a 5 minute drive or a 15 minute walk into town, perfect in every way. We WILL be going back in 2013!

We booked through Sykes but probably best to book direct. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Pordenone, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

During our Dales + Cumbria ways walk we were "forced" by the Bank holiday period to prolong our stay in beautiful but busy Windemere. We were very lucky to find this beautiful villa in the middle of the parkland 1 km from city center, the place, the house, the owners, the great breakfast, eveything concurred to complete the perfect stay. the icing on the cake was the competent advises we receive from Adrian and Elizabeth, Adrian in particular helped us to "cut" a new way to reach Conicton without wasting time going to Ulverston, he provided us with a lot of info and maps for our walk, in Lickbarrow lodge we spent some of the best moments during our trip. Suggested to all "adventurers" and walkers.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plexy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Had the pleasure of staying in the Guest Room at Lickbarrow Lodge on 3/7/11.
Was greeted by Adrian and Elizabeth who showed me to my room before offering me a cuppa.
Sat and had a lovely pot of tea and slice of cake in the exquisite grounds of their
stunning home. Very welcome and unexpected.
The room was beautiful with a delightful ensuite. This room would be perfect for single or couples. Very tastefully decorated and immaculately kept.
Was given a door key to let myself in after my evening trip into Bowness. Ask Adrian for the walking directions into Bowness......a fantastic walk of about 30 mins along a country lane and down a footpath across fields where you'll encounter sheep and cows grazing and simply stunning scenery.
If you want a cheap meal, then pop into Lake View which is part of the Crown Carveries group. It's situated right on the lake by the piers. The view I had while eating was worth the price of the meal alone.
After a good nights sleep, I had breakfast in the Library. There was bread,jam,cereals,yoghurt etc along with the "Full English".
Before leaving Adrian and Elisabeth gave me advise and a print out of a route acrooss the ferry and places to see en route to Ambleside. Had a great morning. Thanks.

To summarise, a delightful place to stay in the Lakes and a couple great hosts in Adrian & Elizabeth.

Thank You for the stay.

Room Tip: Stay at this stunning home in the Lakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We stayed at Lickbarrow Lodge for one night in July and have to say we had a wodnerful time. It was just perfect for what we wanted, it is in a perfect place about a 5 minute drive into the centre of Windernere. The Lodge has everything you would need for a short stay, it is lovely and clean, tastefully decorated and the owners are really nice, friendly and helpful - i would recommend staying at Lickbarrow Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank re09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windermere hotels
1.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,329 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Glenburn Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Windermere Suites
Windermere Suites
#23 of 108 in Windermere
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glencree
Glencree
#60 of 108 in Windermere
70 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lickbarrow Lodge - an Arts and Crafts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lickbarrow Lodge - an Arts and Crafts House

Property: Lickbarrow Lodge - an Arts and Crafts House
Address: Lickbarrow Lodge Lickbarrow Road, Windermere LA23 2NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Windermere
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Windermere
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful Arts and Crafts country house close to Windermere and Bowness villages, offering the choice of Self-Catering or Bed and Breakfast accommodation. The perfect base for touring or walking in the Lake District, we can advise on local events, our favorite pubs and restaurants, lovely local walks, full-day itineraries and even guide you on demanding summit walks. Our garden offers superb mountain views and you are welcome to stroll in our secluded private woodland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lickbarrow Lodge - An Arts And Crafts House Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing