We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutley beautiful home from home!”
other travellers have booked this property
Large Sunny Decking with private sunken Hot Tub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Sunny Decking with private sunken Hot Tub
Patio doors leading onto the decking area with stunning views. Spacious open plan lounge and dining area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Large Sunny Decking with private sunken Hot Tub
Patio doors leading onto the decking area with stunning views.
Spacious open plan lounge and dining area.
Leather settee and chair (non reclining)
Prime location overlooking the river and fields.
Oak dining table and chairs seating 4 people.
This two bedroom lodge benefits from being larger in width than the similar two bedroom lodges.
Open plan kitchen leading to the lounge and dining area. this photo shows the old kitchen
Spacious king size bedroom.  With plenty of storage space.
This lodge benefits from a twin bedroom rather than bunk beds found in similar lodges.
King size bedroom with a dressing table and wardrobes
Bathroom with fitted overhead shower.  This bathroom now has a shower screen fitted.
Traditional pine lodge.
Solid cast iron gas log effect feature fire. A selection of DVD's to choose from.
Sunny spacious outside decking area
Relax on your decking listening to the soothing sound of the river.
Your private hot tub is screened for your privacy.
Scenic views all around.
Prime location overlooking the beck and fields.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Danielle...
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutley beautiful home from home!”
Reviewed 26 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This is the second time i have booked one of Liz's lodges and again we were not dissapointed. The Tarn Hows lodge is very clean and cosy with its beautiful gas log effect stove. Its equipped with all the essentials to cook with along with fresh towels and bedding, dvds and local walking brochures. The decking area is partially sheltered with a nice seated area so you can still enjoy the views even when its raining. The lodge has its very own private hot tub with a stunning view of the trees and stream. The lodge is situated in troutbeck a wonderful place for walks from easy to challenging with some wonderful pubs for food and local folk entertainment (the mortal man, the queens head & the haybarn). Windermere is only 10-15 minutes from the site and the south lakes zoo is 40 minutes away. There is also kendal nearby with a large asda. The only downfall i can find is that i didnt book for longer! I cant wait to return here again
It really is home from home and we treat it with the same love and care as we so our own. Thankyou again Liz for a wonderful bank holiday weekend.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2018
Hi Danielle, thank you for your lovely review of Tarn Hows Lodge. I agree the partially covered decking is the perfect area to enjoy being outside in all weathers.
We would of course love to welcome you back and hope to hear from you again soon. Many thanks Liz. Tarn Hows Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauramaso...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway”
Reviewed 14 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Just been away for the weekend and had a wonderful time. The lodge was very spacious and clean. Had everything we needed. Perfect location and base for what we needed. After lots of walking and exploring the hottub was a perfect way to end each day!

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our lodge. Pleased you found everything you needed and yes Tarn Hows is a spacious lodge.
Sounds like you have enjoyed my kind of holiday lots of walking and the hot tub on the decking can be a great way to end the day.
Would love to welcome you back again - thanks liz. Tarn Hows Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
12 Aug 2018
Thank you for your 5 star review we really appreciate guests taking the time to review their stay in our lodge.
Pleased you have enjoyed the 'brilliant location' which you describe perfectly. We would love to welcome you back and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Thank you again.
Liz
Tarn Hows Lodge
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Backofthe...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not perfect but not far off”
Reviewed 27 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Bought a four night stay for my son and his partner for Christmas.
They all thoroughly enjoyed the stay and have said they will definitley go back.
The location is beautiful and the accommodation first class.
Plenty of local attractions to keep the kids happy.
One or two little niggles but very minor and it is a rental property after all.

Date of stay: May 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jun 2018
Hi and thank you for your great review. You mentioned your grandsons loved playing around outdoors and this is the perfect place - safe, spacious and relaxing for the parents.
What a fabulous christmas present idea and we would love to welcome them again.

Thanks Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaunwC72...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 17 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Stayed here in December 2017. Beautiful lodge. Hot tub was an excellent addition too. Lovely decor. Didn't want to leave. Will make this an annual thing . Lovely owner. Timely correspondence before out visit.

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanna_m8...
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cosy, dog friendly getaway”
Reviewed 11 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My partner, 2 dogs and I enjoyed a week away from it in Tarn Hows. The lodge is comfortable and the hot tub is a great addition. There is a dog field where you can let dogs off the lead, but it is pretty small and was quite muddy. Instead, if you go to the top of the park, at the back of the pub there is a public footpath that you can walk miles!

The kitchen has oven with hob and grill - we had a bit of trouble getting it to light and had to call the owner who told us that the glass top fir the hob must be completely upright, even if only using the oven. Wifi is pretty good, we took our fire stick and were able to stream Netflix using it.

The site shop is limited, we only bought milk and cereal as the bread went out of date the next day, but had to add a bottle of prosecco for minimum card spend. The pub would not set up a tab because people kept doing a runner. Perhaps a small investment in card locks like they have at the nearby Mortal Man - a must visit with great food!

Date of stay: November 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Dec 2017
Thank you for your review Alanna. Pleased you have enjoyed your stay and even better that you discovered the Mortal Man and the many walks right from your lodge door.
We would love to welcome you back so don't hesitate to contact us if you are ever returning.
Many Thanks
Liz.
Tarn Hows Lodge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen M
Douglas, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing lodge just what the lakes is all about we would recommend this property”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We loved this property. Stayed in many places in the lakes but this one rocked. Hot tub amazing even in the colder weather kids loved it too totally relaxing for everyone. Lodge village fab so quite and peaceful. Pub brilliant for all ages. Lodge it’s self had everything we needed and more just loved it !!!!!!!!

Date of stay: October 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Nov 2017
Hi Helen, Thank you so much for your review and yes the Hot Tub is amazing in the colder weather.
Pleased to hear you and your family have enjoyed themselves with the lodge being so well located you really do feel like you have stayed in The Lakes. Hope to see you again,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing