We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“from great to bad”

Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Ranked #20 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$74
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: At the heart of Gilpin is a very passionate family and team, dedicated to creating  lasting memories for their guests, who return time and again for celebrations and escapes. With five stars, one Michelin Star and three AA Rosettes, warmth and friendliness are balanced with extraordinary service, exquisite décor and stunning culinary experiences at these two luxury country houses spanning two estates in the beautiful Lake District.  Dine in either the Michelin starred main restaurant, ‘Hrishi’, where Hrishikesh Desai combines great Lake District produce and classic methods to deliver unbelievable textures and flavours with just a twist of Asia, or in ‘Gilpin Spice’ a new informal restaurant transcending international boundaries, with an open kitchen focussing on dishes from the spice trail spanning the Indian sub-continent, Malaysia, Thailand, Indonesia, the Philippines, Japan and China. At Gilpin Hotel all of the bedrooms have lovely Lakeland views, most leading directly onto the gardens - 6 Garden Suites with their own cedarwood hot tubs, and 5 fabulous detached Spa Lodges with private ensuite spas (rainmaker showers and steam rooms inside, hydrotherapy hot tubs and saunas outside) for a very special, private experience. Just a mile away at Gilpin Lake House, just 6 suites enjoy exclusive access to 100 acres of grounds, including a stunningly beautiful private lake, boat house, pool, hot-tubs and spa.
The Lakes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“from great to bad”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Saturday Dinner
Food going downhill fast, well established and lovely country house, serious interior design

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Rampsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    43
    24
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Really want to give 3.5”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I always love coming to Gilpin Lodge.We called for a light lunch about 12.15. We had to wait half an hour for the menu as it was being typed up. The place is lovely and the staff are always lovely. I was fancying prawns but they weren't on the menu except they were an ingredient in the fish pie. I ordered this and my husband had the club sandwich which was excellent he said. Unfortunately I was disappointed to not find one king prawn in my fish pie!! It was just a mixture of white fish and salmon with hardish crushed new potatoes instead of mash. Sauce was quite runny. Very poor and they did adjust the bill by £5. I think the chef must have had an off day as the food has always been excellent here. As we left we walked by the kitchen and heard the word ...prawns mentioned..?? I hope the owners see this review as constructive. They need to know about the negative experiences to ensure they keep tabs on the staff. We will definitely return as we have had previously good experiences . I would still recommend this place. The gardens are beautiful to sit in on a summers day!!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annie792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
161 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Beautiful lunch”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

My first visit since it has been done up. Very very nice, staff very nice and helpful. The food perfect. We sat outside pre and post lunch as the weather was so nice. I will return very soon. My only quibble was we waited a long time for drinks orders.

Helpful?
1 Thank chateausaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dissapointing afternoon tea”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

What a truly dissapoining afternoon tea. Myself and 2 friends booked our afternoon tea on 28/05/2014 at Gilpin Lodge after having had such a lovely afternoon tea here last September. We arrived and were greeted by very friendly welcoming staff and shown into the very lovely beautifully comfy lounge . The service was excellent but the food was a bitter dissapointment. Firstly there was 2 small very dry Brioche loaves, (strange as there was 3 of us eating ) , served with a very nice salmon mousse. 4 nice sandwiches ,3 slices of sausage rolls with chorizo and a selction of very delicious but tiny cakes , 3 scones with Jam and clotted cream. Not enough for three very hungry eaters. When we visited in September we had the most delicious icecream balls wrapped in thin white chocolate a fabulous mousse in a little pot and all of the above. What a let down it was this time and one not to be repeated as all three of us left feeling hungry. Wont be going again and wont be recommending this to our friends as we did after our visit in September 2013. Linda .GOS Cumbria

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank linda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb meal &surroundings”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We visited for Sunday lunch and we're really pleased we did! Couldn't fault any part of it. The surroundings, atmosphere and food were 1st class. The staff went out of their way and were really friendly.
The lunch was one of the best we've ever had, if not the best (and the portions generous).
We will certainly visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fisher36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilpin Hotel & Lake House also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Gilpin Hotel & Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing