We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an Excellent Experience”
Review of Holbeck Ghyll

Holbeck Ghyll
Ranked #27 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What an Excellent Experience”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I stayed overnight and booked a table with the Gourmet Menu. The hotel itself is lovely and relaxed and not at all pretentious. The sitting rooms are very relaxing and an ideal starting place to have a pre-meal drink and were the pre dinner Canapés are served, which were delicious. The meal itself was an absolute treat, and everything we could have wished for. We have dined at some really excellent restaurants, but the Holbeck Ghyll is right up there. The food was not only the best presented we have had, but also the taste was right up there with the best. The breakfast was also excellent. The grounds of the hotel were also excellent with great views over Lake Windermere.

The only negative, if i was being extra picky would be I had often had to wait quite a while for a drink.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MacZac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    77
    63
    20
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea to die for!!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We booked afternoon tea as a birthday treat and were hugely impressed. SO much food and so delicious that we all made total pigs of ourselves. The cakes were amazing. Our 6 year old son thought all his Christmases had come at once. We've been for a few afternoon teas locally and this was the best by a mile and pretty much for the standard going rate. Just need to find an excuse to do it again.....!

Helpful?
2 Thank kendalites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very special- fantastic”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Had dinner here for a treat whilst on a short break in the Lake District. It was absolutely wonderful from start to finish. Pleasant smiling staff who could not do enough for us, beautiful surroundings and fantastic food. We went for the 3 course dinner option, which started in the lounge with a drink and a choice of complementary hors d'oevres which were delightful. We then went to our table from which we could wee beautiful views of the countryside. The home made bread was delicious, as was the complementary amuse bouche (small cup of fabulous tasting soup). The following courses were all exceptional, all presented faultlessly. The after dinner petits fours were sublime. I would definitely go back again. Not cheap, but well worth it

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
660 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“Fantastic break”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My partner and I went for our anniversary and stayed over opting for the dinner and breakfast option. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the suit we stayed in, The Miss Potter Suit, was excellent. The view is fabulous and the room came complete with hot tub. The food was excellent; both dinner and the breakfast. It was a tad pricey but a nice treat and would recommend and go back

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_MrsBeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innellan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Truly excellent”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel for a two day business meeting after reading reviews about the restaurant. The food was fantastic. A taste sensation. 10 out of 10. From a meeting location point of view, again 10 out of 10. Fabulous view from the board room and we looked after so well. Coffee kept topped up, muffins and shortbread. Really really good and we will definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank BrendonWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holbeck Ghyll also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Holbeck Ghyll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing