We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holbeck Ghyll

Holbeck Ghyll
Ranked #26 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Visittted the stunning Holbeck Ghyll to enjoy afternoon tea for our anniversary. The views on arrival are beautiful and the hotel is lucky to benefit from the elevated position. Were served tea in the lounge which was beautifully furnished. Thee afternoon tea began with sandwiches which were lovely. I agree. With previous reviewers that a little more savoury would be nice. We then had a cake stand with scones, light as air shortbread,fruit cake, carrot cake, lemon tart, chocolate éclairs and a chocolate rocky road cake. I added a glass of champagne to round things off!The service was great; professional yet unstuffy and it was lovely to find a local serving us. Used our My Cumbria locals card as a bonus enjoying 2 for 1 :)

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank paleninteresting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    74
    62
    20
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“stunning location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We came for afternoon tea on a glorious June Saturday afternoon. The views from the lounge and the garden made the afternoon. The staff were great and very professional and the food was first rate. The lunch menu also looked good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buttsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Lovely place, fabulous views. Seated outside in the sunshine for afternoon tea. Given the wrong menus. Never mind, explained we booked for afternoon tea. Sandwiches arrived pot of tea, very nice, but only got 3 finger sandwiches, no plates or napkin! Cakes arrived, lovely, still no plate or napkins. Had to go inside and ask the waiter. This promptly arrived, good job as fingers got a bit sticky with choc cake. Thought we would have a nice glass of wine to finish off! Nearly died when they asked for over £14!!!! Said they would bring the wine and my change to our table, waited a good 10 minutes, and half a glass of wine arrived, very nice, but finally just to say I had to go and ask for my change!! Very nice place, but won't be back. Been it places not as POSH, and had better service, for a fraction of the cost.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mim216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“it's perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I was lucky enough to get married here, so had lots of trips up arranging things etc, which meant staying a fair amount and eating.
it's just always perfect, it doesn't have a bad day. If the weather's bad it's dramatic, if the weather's good it's bliss.
you'll love it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Giles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had just visited the Yorke Arms - so I suppose Holbeck were in a hiding to nothing.

Parking is ridiculous - just 6 spaces outside - and I had to drive ( and then walk back ) 400 yards away up a steep hill. Not good. And in near dark. They should have a valet service.

The pre dinner canapés were ok. The dining room isold fashioned, with tables a bit too close for my liking. The views are absolutely stunning.

Service is not fussy - they were not on top of topping up water and drinks. Food service was slow. Food was good but not great. Whilst I can wait to go back to the Yorke Arms - I wold think twice about going to Holbeck.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holbeck Ghyll also viewed

 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Holbeck Ghyll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing