We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect”

Sugar&Spice Cafe and Bistro
Ranked #6 of 84 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
Cuisines: Polish, Cafe
Description: Friendly family run licensed cafe & bistro providing home made food, cakes and scones. Serving coffee and loose leaf teas. Traditional tiered afternoons teas.
Restaurant details
Description: Friendly family run licensed cafe & bistro providing home made food, cakes and scones. Serving coffee and loose leaf teas. Traditional tiered afternoons teas.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This was a perfect pit stop after a walk around the lakes. The cakes were amazing and the scones out of this world!

Thank taylorparry159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We just had scones and coffee, which were both good - proper clotted cream and good quality jam. The meals going to other tables looked good. Several potential diners were turned away as all tables were full - they could easily fit at least two more tables, but it was nice to sit somewhere that didn't feel overcrowded.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tsuyoiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

We arrived here for a late lunch after we had been in the area. The place has a really good atmosphere and staff very friendly. Able to accommodate a highchair with ease and offer baby sized portions of the meals on the menu without difficulty. The food was tasty and portion size good. Reasonable priced. Able to cater for dairy free diet.

Thank 0113leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

My wife and I ate here for the first time. It was good to see the menu had changed. There were a number of positive points, in that the tea was nice and it was freely refillable. Also the service was good and the staff nice. The problem was the full English. The fried egg was very overcooked. Not only was it not runny at all, it was burnt completely. The bacon was over cooked and tough, the only food under-cooked was the sausages, which were not very nice. The only reason this review is not receiving a poor rating, is because my wife's breakfast was nice and the service was good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SLeeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmandaK1256, Owner at Sugar&Spice Cafe and Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Thank you for your review. I’m glad your wife enjoyed her breakfast and you enjoyed our great service and tea. As for the English Breakfast, I can only apologise you didn’t enjoy it, we had an extremely busy breakfast that morning and yes, some of the food wasn’t up to our usual high standards. I can assure you though that the sausages were definitely not undercooked and are high quality Cumberland sausage. We oven cook them and test the temperature every time. If you had let one of our staff know at the time we would have gladly re done the items you didn’t like or made you something different. Or if you had made us aware of your complaint when asked when you were paying then we would have given you a refund. We don’t always get everything right in a small family run cafe as busy as ours but we do like to think we handle things accordingly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely staff who accomodated me my husband 8 yr old daughter and our 45kg German Shepherd Jake for breakfast. The menu is plentiful and the food is good with local produce catering for people with food intolerances and varied diets.
We enjoyed looming around the items for sale too which includes patchwork quilts prints paintings and various other hand made crafty items.
We enjoyed both visits and our daughter can recommend the salmon and cream cheese begal.
What more can you ask for?

Thank sjo280572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sugar&Spice Cafe and Bistro also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Sugar&Spice Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing