We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views, immaculate property, highly...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
114 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 114 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

winston22...
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing views, immaculate property, highly recommended!”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I cannot recommend this place enough. Stylishly decorated and immaculate throughout. Just a 2/3 minute walk to a private jetty which is amazing to chill out on an evening. The place is conveniently located for Windermere, Bowness and Ambleside etc. Chris & James were extremely helpful with directions and recommendations on things to do. Thanks for a great stay!

Date of stay: July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2015
Thank you for your fabulous Review and useful comments for other holidaymakers.we are happy to offer a 10% Loyalty Discount in Windermere or Stratford at A Midsummer Nights Dream Lodge on the River Avon on Holiday Lettings ID 161313
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrBoysey
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic, Private Getaway”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this cottage for my girlfriend's birthday for 2 nights. I booked it because of the pictures and previous reviews and they were not wrong - the cottage is in excellent condition and everything seems brand new. It is tastefully decorated right through and Christine was so helpful with everything I could not fault anything about this place. There is a 4-5 minute walk down to lake WIndemere with a provate jetty which has amaxing views of lake Windemere. I thought this was a very romantic location and proposed to my girlfriend who I can now call my fiance :) We then went for a lovely meal in the Miller Howe which is a 10 minute walk away and was also amazing. Our whole weekend was perfect from the cottage, the walk to the provate jetty, the weather and our meal at the restaurant. I would like ot thank Christine for everything she did; she put up a birthday banner for me with no fuss and recommended lots of places to visit in the local area.

In summary, if you are looking for a quiet, romantic getaway this is ideal. The fact it has a private jetty is a massive bonus as the views are lovely from there. I would recommend this place to anybody that is looking for a place to stay in Windemere (but not my friends as my fiance and I would like it to be our special place).

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of decor and cleanliness and private jetty
Liked least: No TV or Wifi (but wasn't looking to use these things anyway so not really a negative)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Congratulations to you and your fiancée on your Engagement on the Private Jetty on the shores of Lake Windermere. We wish you every happiness and hope that you will return. Thank you for your fantastic Review which perfectly describes our place - which was designed for the truly Romantic - Lovers of Lakes, Lovers of Poetry. just Lovers ....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a romantic getaway”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This little bungalow had both a beautifully decorated interior and stunning view of lake Windermere. We had everything we needed facilities-wise and received a warm welcome from Christine who also gave great advice on places to visit/eat in the area. My partner and I had a lovely morning walking down the private path to the lake-side jetty where we had breakfast in the sun. It was a lovely weekend break from city life and I'm sure we'll go back there in the future.

Date of stay: April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thank you for describing your stay and the accommodation so well - very useful for other Trip Advisor holidaymakers. The jetty at Breakfast sounded lovely - since your visit there have been 2 Proposals of Marriage in the Sunset on the Jetty - altogether very romantic - as advertised!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob Y
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, great views, lovely place and even lovlier people!”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the Lady of the Lake with the intention of using it as a base for a relaxing long weekend in the lakes. It was absolutely perfect for us, being big enough for a couple of people, with all the comforts of home bar a TV - but who goes to the lakes to watch TV?

The house is really nicely decorated and extremely comfortable, but the setting is really what makes it special. It's got a beautiful view of the lake from the front of the house, with access to a scenic jetty only a couple of minutes walk from the front door, and Windermere, Ambleside and Bowness are a walkable distance away.

I cannot fault the service we received at all - unfortunately, Chris wasn't able to meet us on the first day but she really went out of her way to ensure that we had the best possible stay, giving us all the information we needed about the house and the best places to go and see in the surrounding area. You really get the sense that they want you to enjoy yourself, which is a really nice touch!

It's a great place with tonnes of character, a gorgeous setting and a wonderful host. We'd thoroughly recommend it!

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the welcoming hosts
Liked least: That we only booked a few days - we'd have liked to stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2015
Your thoughtful Review says it all - and should be a great help to other Trip Advisor travellers. Thank you very much, indeed, for your generous comments. We look forward to meeting you next time - please ask for a Loyalty Discount. C&J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri P
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning views & lovely little cottage”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary, the cottage is compact but has everything you will need, it's very clean.
Chris & James really looked after us, and we're very helpful.
The views from the cottage are gorgeous, it was so peaceful & relaxing so if that's what your looking for Lady of Lake is perfect!
Would definitely visit again :-)

Date of stay: June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
So glad you had a Happy Anniversary - thank you for your kind Review and Text message and for leaving the place so clean and tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute little hIdeaway with great views”
Reviewed 10 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we were met by the owner Christine who was very welcoming and informative. The cottage was very well furnished and clean. There was a lovely view of lake Windermere, and a path that led straight down to the lake.Allocated parking was very nice to have. This was a lovely place for a nice peaceful break

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very quiet with great view of lake
Liked least: No wi-fi or TV
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jun 2015
Thank you for writing a Review and for your very kind messages after you left. We are ways looking for ways to improve so do tell us how.. So glad you both enjoyed our " Cute Hideaway"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnieszka...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Getaway”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for providing this beautiful and romantic place to stay over the bank holiday weekend, it is the essence of relaxation. Christine, the owner, is such a lovely person and makes you feel relaxed before you even arrive! The place is close to everything that you need to see in and around Windermere and the view from the living room is stunning. We were also spoiled by a lovely surprise on the last morning, seeing a young deer wandering by the bedroom window. There was also a friendly green duck waiting at the front door for a bite to eat. We have already recommended this property to friends of ours and are looking forward to another visit soon.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything :)
Liked least: that we have to come back home
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you for your charming Review - we hope that you will both be back . We are happy to offer a Loyalty Discount on Windermere or our Lodge by the River Avon in Shakespeare's Stratford : A Midsummer Nights Dream Lodge advertised on Holiday Lettings ID 16 13 13
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.