We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely small cottage with super views”
other travellers have booked this property
LOVE Lake Windermere with Private access to the shore from The Lady of the Lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
LOVE Lake Windermere with Private access to the shore from The Lady of the Lake
Enjoy a free glass of bubbly on the private Jetty Windermere:Private jetty 5 minutes walk through the enchanted wood.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
66 reviews
LOVE Lake Windermere with Private access to the shore from The Lady of the Lake
Enjoy a free glass of bubbly on the private Jetty
Windermere:Private jetty 5 minutes walk through the enchanted wood.
Lakeland Heart
A blend of old and new
Solid Oak Howdens Kitchen
On the way to the shore....
The Way through the woods...
Romance:Enjoy the View and a Picnic for Two
The Path to Easedale Tarn from Grasmere a favourite haunt of the Wordsworths
Easedale Tarn - a place for Poets
Easedale Tarn near Grasmere ( About 10 miles drive or Bus 555 to Grasmere and Walk)
Sit outside and enjoy the Views
Windermere Sunset taken from the property
Open-plan Living Room with oak floor
Snuggle up and enjoy the View
A Room with a View
Howdens Kitchen or the Miller Howe  world-famous restaurant just down the road-  eat in or out ....
Laura Ashley Bedroom with Kingsize bed NB There is only ONE Bedroom
Private path to the Lake
Relax with romantic Lakeland Poetry
Room with a View for Two
Laura Ashley Bedroom,
Kitchen with a View of the Lake
Shower, Basin, WC, Heated Towel Rail, Slate floor
Parking next to the property with a view of the Lake
View from the Private Jetty
Laura Ashley Bedroom
King-Size Bed.
Private path down to the Lake....
View from the house
Autumnal walk to the Lake from the cottage
Autumn
Stroll down to the Lake from the cottage
Autumn Colours close to the cottage
Autumn in the Lake District - awash with colour
Ancient and Modern
Relax with a book
The Lady of the Lake a romantic poem by Sir Walter Scott
The Lady of the Lake
A Room with a View
Snow on the hills at sunset.
Rocio, one of our Spanish guests, admiring the Sunset on the Private jetty
Photo taken from the Private Jetty
Sunset on the Shore  - a short stroll from the cottage
Park right by The Lady of the Lake.
A Room with a View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Windermere, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 66 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ginger771
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely small cottage with super views”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This was the first time we have been to the Lake District and we thought it was lovely. Unfortunately the weather was not kind to us as it rained for most of the time we were there. Don't think we were alone in this as June has been very poor for the time of year. There are some lovely walks in the area, plus it was a pleasure to stroll through the woods to the jetty to see the lake and we were delighted to see the deer grazing in the adjoining field. This only takes five or so minutes on a very good path.
The property was very clean and warm as heating was needed too.
Christine met us and gave a great update of where to go and where to eat.
We will go again, but will check for more clement weather.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Very, many thanks for taking the time to write a Review. Glad you got to see the baby deer but sorry about the weather - it was one of the worst weeks for rain throughout the UK - we are looking forward to sunny days ahead. We hope to see you again - Thank you for leaving the place immaculate - greatly appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JACKIEB78
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lady of the lake ”
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

What a truly lovely place, Christine met us at the cottage on our arrival and told us all the best places to visit etc and had put party banners, fairy lights, party rings and biscuits etc out for my husbands 40th. The cottage itself was beautiful, emulate and the views were to die for. There is a private pier a few minutes walk down on lake windermere which was beautiful sat watching the sun set. There is a place to park directly outside the cottage and it's a quick 5 minute drive into windermere or 10 miniutes into boweness. We would definitely recommend and look forward to returning perfect place and perfect owners.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2016
Perfect guests - who left the place immaculate and appreciated the Accomodation and the area of outstanding natural beauty - the Lake Distrit. Tnank you for writing such an appreciative Review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flamingo1...
Formby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend break.”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

From reading previous reviews I had high expectations for this cottage and those expectations were exceeded! Christine had kept in touch with me from the moment I booked and greeted us when we arrived. She gave us any information we asked for on the area and had put up a happy birthday banner and fairy lights for my partner. Tea, coffee, chai latte, hot chocolate and a variety of biscuits were available to us and a lovely bottle of shloer. The cottage had all the amenities we needed (and more!) It was very comfortable, a kitchen/lounge area, bedroom, bathroom and changing room. The cottage was VERY clean and cosy. The private jetty was a couple of minutes walk through a wood, we saw a doe and its fawn one evening! We took some drinks down to the jetty and would sit and watch the boats going by - extremely relaxing and we were lucky enough to have sunshine. I would recommend this cottage to anybody visiting Windermere and I can't wait to go back myself!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall customer service and cleanliness.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2016
Thrilled to receive such a fabulous Review - thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonW20202...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 17 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Does what it says on the tin. Cottage has everything you need for a stay in the Lake District. It is close to all local amenities but also set back in a peaceful area.
Awesome view of the lake. Very quiet and tranquil area. Private jetty is technically private but not exclusively to you, it is shared with the surrounding cottages.
You can walk into Windermere by going right out of the cottage, it's a brisk 20 mins away but the views along the way are great.
Chris also cannot be more helpful. We didn't meet but the instructions to get in are very straight forward. Chris was even nice enough to post back a couple of items my partner left which we got the next day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thank you for your Wonderful Review - it is a great help to fellow travellers especially as - your description was spot on. So sorry we didn't get to meet you but hope that one day you will both return. Thank you .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahKilt...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday home with beautiful views and a perfect location.”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic couple of nights staying in this lovely holiday home. The place itself has everything that you could wish for: a comfortable bed, warm shower, kitchen and lovely views.

The location of the property was perfect for us being a 20 minute walk into Windermere and 5-10 minute drive to Bowness and Ambleside.

Chris ensured that we had all the information we needed and communication throughout the whole booking was excellent.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you for this super Review and THANK YOU for leaving our place immaculate.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth E
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic getaway”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My partner booked this cottage as a surprise for my birthday.

We arrived at night due to both being at work during the day, so as well as being surprised by the trip itself I was also pleasantly surprised the next morning when I saw we had a beautiful view of the lake!

Christine, the owner, was there to greet us and she was very welcoming and friendly. Very informative, suggesting lots of things around the area to see and do, as well as places to eat. She had also put birthday banners around the living area for me.

The cottage itself is lovely, very modern and beautifully decorated! The kitchen is well equipt with everything you'll need if you're going self-catering, pans, plates, cutlery, oven, fridge freezer, microwave...everything really!

The cottage is also ideally located, a 5 minute car journey to Bowness where we enjoyed a lovely boat trip around the lake.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2015
Thanks for your super and informative Review. Very many thanks for leaving our cottage immaculate. It was a pleasure to meet such a lovely couple. Glad you took the Lake Cruise. Windermere is sometimes called "Little Switzerland" - possibly nicer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren S
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lucky find!”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first time staying in a holiday rental rather than a hotel/B&B and we couldn't have been happier. Christine and James provided detailed directions but they were hardly needed as the turning is very easy to find off a couple of main roads.
The cottage itself is a hidden gem set far away from the road with an amazing view of the lake. The decoration and general atmosphere of the cottage allowed us to feel at home very quickly and there were helpful notes dotted all around to help us work everything.

It should be noted that whilst the jetty is private with regards to there not being public access though it's not private to this cottage alone. This cottage is just one of a small group which also have access. It's a lovely walk down to the lake though and a nice place to sit and watch the boats go by.

It was only a short drive to the town centre and also Bowness where there are plenty of attractions and a lake cruise to take you to other shores of Windermere (highly recommend)

The only downside I can think of is the interior doors are a bit stiff so took a bit of effort (and consequently - noise) to shut the bathroom door especially.
Other than that I cannot fault this holiday at all. Loved the location, the facilities were high standard and well designed. We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Windermere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cozy atmosphere
Liked least: Stiff/noisy interior doors
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thanks for your super Review - we hope to see you on your next trip to Windermere. Kind regards C&J
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing