We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service”

The Lamplighter Dining Rooms
Ranked #10 of 74 Restaurants in Windermere
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly Service”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

All we wanted was a light meal, and when we explained this to the waiter he made us feel very welcome in the dining room. We chose from the starters on the menu. The goats cheese and kale was a novel and delicious presentation. My husband greatly enjoyed the generous serving of ribs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tastybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    655
    238
    65
    19
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little place”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Just got back from a lovely break in the lakes. After reading the reviews for the Lamplighter my partner was very much looking forward to planning a meal here. We booked our table the day before and requested a window view. On arrival to the Lamplighter I was surprised to its entrance and appearance inside.. The entrance takes you straight into a dinning area with a small bar to where members of staff can be found. We gave our name now we did arrive 15 minutes earlier than booking but we were planning to grab a drink in the bar then relax a little before being seated but there is no waiting area etc.. However we were shown straight to our table. Yes we got a window view as requested. Service was first class couldn't fault the people not the effort for them wanting to give you the best dinning Experiance. We didn't have any starters just went straight into ordering mains i had the chicken wrapped in bacon and the partner had rag pudding with triple cooked chips and must say was very impressed food was very nice. Would recommend to many to try and make sure you do book a table has we found several people being turned away due to being busy

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdgarL1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Leading Light….”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We ordered fish and chips for our first meal having seen reviews on here. Couldn't fault it, the fish was excellent (if a little large) chips amazing served with peas for £13:95 i think! fabulous. We booked for the sunday lunch and while this was expensive it was also amazing. Would go here agin for the quality of the food and the great service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joyceinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Had an excellent meal, the haddock fishcake starter was lovely and the beef suet pudding was excellent. The service was good and front of house kmowledge also good. Would return, some great options on the menu.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Food was good, but the night didn't go very smoothly”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I came here for dinner with three other dining companions recently. I had the pork belly, which my dining companions and I agreed was one of the most delicious pork dishes we had ever tried! The pork belly was so soft and tender, and the dish was so flavoursome. The accompanying side of vegetables and potatoes was also very good.

Despite my wonderful food, the night was abit of a downer because my sister ordered her steak medium and when it came out, it was overcooked and definitely not medium, but well-done. We then notified the waiter, who agreed that it was well-done and the steak was then sent back to the kitchen. However, he came back from the kitchen and informed us that the chef had said that the steak was in fact, medium but that they were happy to make a new steak for us anyway. This was slightly confusing because the steak was most definitely well-done and was not red on the inside at all. My sister had to wait quite long for her new steak, such that by the time her steak arrived, the rest of us had already finished eating! This was slightly annoying. But her new steak was done nicely and was very tasty. When the bill came however,they also wrongly charged us for twice the beverages and desserts that we actually ordered.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessa k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lamplighter Dining Rooms also viewed

Windermere, Lake District
Windermere, Lake District
 
Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The Lamplighter Dining Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing