We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Ellan Vannin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ranked #206 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A friendly welcome by Peter started our stay at this B&B. It is spotlessly clean and well maintained, he is obviously proud of his business, and rightly so. The bed was really comfortable... 2 pillows each provided and the duvet warm. Breakfast was at 8.45 and fresh cooked full english... Delicious. Coffee was topped up and we had a choice of white or brown toast, cereal first if we'd wanted it. Positioned just off the promenade it was ideally sited for our weekend visit to the illuminations. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polly145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Ellan Vannin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

well as i was in 4* hotel trade we stayed for two nights with peter and lorna what a wonderfully spotless clean hotel great value for money superb breakfast great hosts see u both in the new year John and Sandy x x x x

Room Tip: as being two males we were in room 10 ideal size not massive but would stay in this room again ours...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnefife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a two night stay. Host was very knowledgeable and helpful. Room was comfortable with a nice en suite. Good breakfast, plenty of fresh orange and freshly brewed coffee.
Well worth the walk into town ... Close enough to enjoy Blackpool but far enough away to avoid the crowds.






the sea view was there (through the houses at the back).

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Victoria18Leek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Just back from a long weekend in Blackpool. After trawling through the internet for somewhere to stay, we decided on the Ellan Vannin Hotel. This was a wonderful choice - the hotel was very clean, comfortable and extremely well equipped. Peter, the owner was lovely - even when he was woken up at 2.30am when we couldn't get the front door open!!!!!!! If you want a quiet hotel within 10 minutes walk from the Tower then this is the one for you. Will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRH2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

highly recommanded guest house, the room was so nice, beautiful, clean and just feel like home. everything was excellent, cannot be better!

Feel welcomed and, if you are thinking about spolting yourself at Blackpool, don't hesitate

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We have stayed in many guest houses and B&B's and this one tops them all. When you walk in the first thing you notice is how spacious it is. It has a homely feel to it, the rooms are a good size and exceptionally clean. The little touches such as chocolates on the bed, a mini fridge, well stocked tea/coffee, biscuits and cotton wool/buds in the bathroom makes it feel that little bit special. The full English breakfast is large, freshly cooked and delicious, (Pete's fried eggs are perfection!!). When we asked if we could have breakfast earlier on our last day so we could get off on our 5 hour journey sooner, Pete accommodated this with no hesitation. In the evenings we enjoyed spending time in the bar, there are a good selection of drinks available and the conversations were always interesting. If you are looking for a relaxed environment, good hosts and the absence of crying babies and noisy children then this is the place for you. It's situated in a quiet area of the North shore with only a 15 minute pleasant walk to the main town. Thank you for a wonderful weekend and we look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

A 2 night break on the recommendation of, and with, good friends. And, what a wonderful guest house this is!. On arrival the owner, Pete, made us incredibly welcome. The room was a wonderful surprise, spacious, spotlessly clean, full of little extras that make a difference. The whole place is immaculately presented. Great modern decor, and a real homely but professional feel. Pete cooks up a mean hearty breakfast and the choice of cereals, yogurts, etc were very much appreciated

After staying in Blackpool on several previous occasions and leaving with a less than impressed view of the B&B experience, the Ellan Vannin has certainly exceeded expectations. We will definitely be back and will recommend to anyone we know who is planning a trip to Blackpool.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules0367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Mackintosh
The Mackintosh
#580 of 859 in Blackpool
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#201 of 859 in Blackpool
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sandalwood
The Sandalwood
#477 of 859 in Blackpool
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arendale Hotel
Arendale Hotel
#251 of 859 in Blackpool
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Golden Sands Guest House
The Golden Sands Guest House
#169 of 859 in Blackpool
135 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rossdene House
Rossdene House
#192 of 859 in Blackpool
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellan Vannin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellan Vannin Hotel

Address: 6 Gynn Avenue, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £41 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellan Vannin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellan Vannin in Blackpool is one of the nicer smaller accommodation provider's with a 4 star accreditation. With a friendly happy relaxed atmosphere.You will have comfortable surrounding where you can relax and have a chat with other guests .You will be made to feel welcome even if you come on your own or here on Business with your Colleagues or just on Holiday. We offer good friendly hospitality enjoying Blackpool at it's best.We are offering comfortable attractive accommodation in all the seven well appointed double and twin bed room's. All bed room's have a new en-suite fitted, provided with freshly laundered towel's and full double glazing, all room's are tastefully decorated with LCD TV’s, hospitality tray's, Hair dryer's, Alarm clock's,Ironing board's, Complimentary toiletries. Fridge cooler's. WI-Fi on request plus vodafone sure signal . The light airy dining room is the perfect place to enjoy our excellent home cooked food after you can sit and chat over coffee in the bar or outside in the garden. There is always our famous fresh full English breakfast to start the day.We are in a much sought after area due to our excellent location in the select North-shore just off the Promenade. Close to the Hilton hotel Blackpool, Imperial hotel, Savoy Hotel Blackpool and Gardens, With Spectacular Cliff Walks.The Promenade and tram stop is only 2 minute walk from us,Sorry No Pet's.Come and see our famous Blackpool Illumination's. Come and see Blackpool's new promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ellan Vannin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing