We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smashing three weeks at with Pete and Lorna”
Review of Ellan Vannin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ranked #244 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Smashing three weeks at with Pete and Lorna”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Yes, I actually stayed in Blackpool for three weeks for my trip down memory lane. I travelled all the way from California so a quickie weekend was not in the cards. Everything was top notch starting with the friendly, and very warm welcome my friend I received, the lovely room, to the wonderful breakfast every morning. I had planned several coach day trips that left quite early in the morning, and Pete got up early to cook whatever we wanted, (and one of them left a 0730) always had a joke on the tip of his tongue, and the food never failed to be delicious. We took his advice on the bus pass also, and saved many pounds as we rode the tram everywhere. I shall probably be going every year from now on as Blackpool is a special place for me, and I would not dream of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukducky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
36
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel at about 7:30pm on Friday evening to a warm welcome by Pete who showed us to our room and gave us top tips on what to see, do and expect around Blackpool. He also saved us money by advising us to get our Tram day tickets from the local Spar in advance which was helpful. Our bedroom was lovely; spotlessly clean and very comfortable with lots of added home touches. The en-suite (with huge shower) was equally as nice. Breakfast was great; freshly cooked and generous portions. We stayed 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We would highly recommend this B&B and we look forward to returning ourselves. Thank you Pete and Lorna!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_7612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

A friendly welcome by Peter started our stay at this B&B. It is spotlessly clean and well maintained, he is obviously proud of his business, and rightly so. The bed was really comfortable... 2 pillows each provided and the duvet warm. Breakfast was at 8.45 and fresh cooked full english... Delicious. Coffee was topped up and we had a choice of white or brown toast, cereal first if we'd wanted it. Positioned just off the promenade it was ideally sited for our weekend visit to the illuminations. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2013

well as i was in 4* hotel trade we stayed for two nights with peter and lorna what a wonderfully spotless clean hotel great value for money superb breakfast great hosts see u both in the new year John and Sandy x x x x

Room Tip: as being two males we were in room 10 ideal size not massive but would stay in this room again ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnefife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a two night stay. Host was very knowledgeable and helpful. Room was comfortable with a nice en suite. Good breakfast, plenty of fresh orange and freshly brewed coffee.
Well worth the walk into town ... Close enough to enjoy Blackpool but far enough away to avoid the crowds.






the sea view was there (through the houses at the back).

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Victoria18Leek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Just back from a long weekend in Blackpool. After trawling through the internet for somewhere to stay, we decided on the Ellan Vannin Hotel. This was a wonderful choice - the hotel was very clean, comfortable and extremely well equipped. Peter, the owner was lovely - even when he was woken up at 2.30am when we couldn't get the front door open!!!!!!! If you want a quiet hotel within 10 minutes walk from the Tower then this is the one for you. Will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRH2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2013

highly recommanded guest house, the room was so nice, beautiful, clean and just feel like home. everything was excellent, cannot be better!

Feel welcomed and, if you are thinking about spolting yourself at Blackpool, don't hesitate

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 69 in Blackpool
1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 69 in Blackpool
3,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mackintosh
The Mackintosh
#616 of 856 in Blackpool
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#189 of 856 in Blackpool
113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arendale Hotel
Arendale Hotel
#287 of 856 in Blackpool
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellan Vannin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellan Vannin Hotel

Property: Ellan Vannin Hotel
Address: 6 Gynn Avenue, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellan Vannin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellan Vannin in Blackpool is one of the nicer smaller accommodation provider's with a 4 star accreditation. With a friendly happy relaxed atmosphere.You will have comfortable surrounding where you can relax and have a chat with other guests .You will be made to feel welcome even if you come on your own or here on Business with your Colleagues or just on Holiday. We offer good friendly hospitality enjoying Blackpool at it's best.We are offering comfortable attractive accommodation in all the seven well appointed double and twin bed room's. All bed room's have a new en-suite fitted, provided with freshly laundered towel's and full double glazing, all room's are tastefully decorated with LCD TV’s, hospitality tray's, Hair dryer's, Alarm clock's,Ironing board's, Complimentary toiletries. Fridge cooler's. WI-Fi on request plus vodafone sure signal . The light airy dining room is the perfect place to enjoy our excellent home cooked food after you can sit and chat over coffee in the bar or outside in the garden. There is always our famous fresh full English breakfast to start the day.We are in a much sought after area due to our excellent location in the select North-shore just off the Promenade. Close to the Hilton hotel Blackpool, Imperial hotel, Savoy Hotel Blackpool and Gardens, With Spectacular Cliff Walks.The Promenade and tram stop is only 2 minute walk from us,Sorry No Pet's.Come and see our famous Blackpool Illumination's. Come and see Blackpool's new promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Priceline so you can book your Ellan Vannin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing