We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“how nice this place is.”
Review of Ellan Vannin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ellan Vannin Hotel
Ranked #236 of 858 Blackpool B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“how nice this place is.”
Reviewed 30 October 2010

As soon as we walked it we felt welcome and what hit us was how clean it was.
We were show to our room and again this was very clean and it had everything in that you needed. We even ask for a mini cooler and this was put in our room.
The décor was very tasteful with new carpets. Hairdryer and an ironing board never had been in a guest house with one in.

We loved every Seccond of our stay.
Breakfast was fantastic one of the best English breakfasts we have had.
We made friends with the owners Lorna and Pete, Pete is a nice man and funny.
You only have to look at the place to see how much money had been spent on it.
We will look forward to seeing you both next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank littlemate911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
36
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Stayed in rooms 3 and 5. Made very welcome by Peter and Lorna. Rooms freshly decorated, very clean and well supplied with everything we needed right down to the Bronte Biscuits. Could hear and see the waves from room 5. Breakfasts were truly memorable - thanks Peter. Lounge/bar was a great place to end the day having a laugh and joke. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnLivingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

We travel all over UK and stay at a lot of hotels.
Blackpool hotels can be a bit hit and miss.
We stayed at the Ellan Vannin in Blackpool and it turned out to be one of the best places we have stayed in.
It was recommended to us by the British Telecom conference.
This was held in the Hilton hotel and Gynn Avenue is just next to this hotel.
All our room were very clean and decorated to high standard.
We arrived late and this was not a problem and was made to feel very welcome.
We had an early breakfast at 6am so we could get of to the conference.
We would like to thank the owners of the Ellan Vannin for making our stay memorable.
What a wonderful English breakfast we had and to add to this it was cooked fresh.
Thanks again
From all of us
Tom/Jim/Bob/Anne/Joan/Lynn/Hanna/Sue/Wendy/Ken/Bill
(DLCA)

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank life_on_the_move49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Lorna and Peter
What a great couple warm and welcoming nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was fantastic served fresh to order, The room were well decorated I was very impressed. In this Guest House they supply towels, soaps ect and a very well stocked tea tray, they skimp on nothing. I will definately be coming back next year if not sooner.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miss-Road-Runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2010

Beautiul bed and breakfast, fabulous room decorated to a very high standard as is all the rooms, very comfortable and spotlessly clean.Very welcoming surroundings and a lovely relaxing atmosphere. Peter and Lorna, (the owners) are a most lovely couple and made us very welcome and feel at home straight away, nothing was to much trouble for them. A very filling FRESHLY cooked breakfast was served in the morning and set us up for the day. Highly recommended to anybody thinking of staying there. We certainly will be going again, we arrived as strangers but left as friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2009

We are a family of 4 and stay at this hotel twice a year. The family room is massive and the beds are very very comfortable. As the title outlines, it is like home from home for us with nothing being too much trouble. Have known Pete and Lorna for years and first started staying at their previous hotel many years ago and again went to them twice a year. I have stayed in many hotels in Blackpool and I dont think you will find a cleaner, more hospitable place to stay when they are in charge. The breakfast is out of this world Pete really knows how to do a full English with Lorna providing personal and friendly waitress service. Its a lovely walk into the centre of Blackpool (gives you a chance to work off Petes fab brekkie) and room has always been cleaned by the time we return. All in all, excellent clean hotel, great value for money with excellent hosts. Looking forward to visiting at Easter.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyBean33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2008

We found the Ellan Vannin very clean and welcoming, we have know Lorna and Pete for a number of years, and pleased that they went back into the Guesthouse business, so we decided to revisit, the work and effort was as expected top class, the rooms were very clean and bright and comfortable. I would recomend this place to all my friends with out any hesitation. I just don't know how the above review Heading Terrible relate to this Guesthouse, only that some people are very hard to please. keep up the good work and see you next year Doris and Jim

  • Liked — friendly wellcome and effort in making your stay pleasurable
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coachparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Mackintosh
The Mackintosh
#605 of 858 in Blackpool
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sheron House
Sheron House
#187 of 858 in Blackpool
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arendale Hotel
Arendale Hotel
#264 of 858 in Blackpool
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Golden Sands Guest House
The Golden Sands Guest House
#158 of 858 in Blackpool
133 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#97 of 128 in Blackpool
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellan Vannin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellan Vannin Hotel

Property: Ellan Vannin Hotel
Address: 6 Gynn Avenue, Blackpool FY1 2LD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 858 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellan Vannin Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ellan Vannin in Blackpool is one of the nicer smaller accommodation provider's with a 4 star accreditation. With a friendly happy relaxed atmosphere.You will have comfortable surrounding where you can relax and have a chat with other guests .You will be made to feel welcome even if you come on your own or here on Business with your Colleagues or just on Holiday. We offer good friendly hospitality enjoying Blackpool at it's best.We are offering comfortable attractive accommodation in all the seven well appointed double and twin bed room's. All bed room's have a new en-suite fitted, provided with freshly laundered towel's and full double glazing, all room's are tastefully decorated with LCD TV’s, hospitality tray's, Hair dryer's, Alarm clock's,Ironing board's, Complimentary toiletries. Fridge cooler's. WI-Fi on request plus vodafone sure signal . The light airy dining room is the perfect place to enjoy our excellent home cooked food after you can sit and chat over coffee in the bar or outside in the garden. There is always our famous fresh full English breakfast to start the day.We are in a much sought after area due to our excellent location in the select North-shore just off the Promenade. Close to the Hilton hotel Blackpool, Imperial hotel, Savoy Hotel Blackpool and Gardens, With Spectacular Cliff Walks.The Promenade and tram stop is only 2 minute walk from us,Sorry No Pet's.Come and see our famous Blackpool Illumination's. Come and see Blackpool's new promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ellan Vannin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing