We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Beechfield Hotel
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not the best!”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I understand that a review is always based on the experience and standards of the reviewer but really cant understand the #6 ranking this hotel is currently at. Granted there are some excellent points but they are overshadowed by the bad ones.

We had not booked and were just walk in customers, the hotel has great kerb appeal which is why we went there. When we walked in it smelt clean and looked clean and well fitted in the public rooms. The staff we met were extremely friendly and very helpful, especially when it came to a room change which I will come to in a minute. Breakfast was good, unlimited toast and a quite nice cooked breakfast, although I agree with other reviewers about the deep fried bread. The lift was very welcome as stairs do pose a problem for me.

With hindsight I should have asked to see the room before we paid but I was lulled into a false sense of security by the cleanliness and state of the public areas. The first room was very tatty, the bathroom smelt and there was toothpaste smeared down the bathroom door. The deal breaker was the bed, it was a 2 part divan base with a mattress over the top, fairly standard but 2 of the wheels off the upper part of the base were missing, creating a 3" lip between the 2 parts.I really cant understand how the housekeeper didnt notice it when the bed was made up. No way could I sleep on that so back to reception we went.

The second bedroom was a double with 2 singles, I would not have wanted to sleep in either of the singles, they were so narrow. The double was adequate but not the most comfortable bed, it didnt help that it was below a single glazed window and it was cold outside. We had to tuck up the curtains and put our coats against them to stop the draft. The bathroom didnt look clean at all, black mould round the shower. The decor looked as though it was a throwback to the 70's and there was a broken light fitting over the bed. Had we been staying longer the lack of a wardrobe/hanging space would have been an issue..

The only other place I have stayed in Blackpool is The Imperial Hotel and that was many years ago so it may well be that The Beechfield is representative of whats generally on offer there. Overall I would say that this could be a great place to stay but would require a great deal of investment and remodeling of the bedrooms but if the majority of their revenue comes from Stag and Hen parties I dont think they will bother.

Room Tip: View your room before you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherrie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    276
    75
    36
    41
See reviews for
321
281
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

DO not stay here! . The rooms are ridiculously crap.. 1 socket in my room which was being used by the TV!. The bathroom was terrible. Wouldn't let my dog wash in there.

I have no great need to write my first review on trip advisor but i thought i had to when i read about a couple who came here and were hugely disappointed. This was all due to the positive reviews of this hotel that shouldn't exist. (Feel sorry for them).

I have been to remote guesthouses in Cambodia which have better facilities then this including more hot water and more creative decoration. What an awful hotel thinking back on it.

More lists of what was wrong:
- Incredibly [--] decoration. You would think they would try and decorate the bedrooms in the
winter when its quieter.
- Mould in bathroom, very 1950's
- Panels in the ceiling were all odd and half hanging down. (Did provide ammusment i suppose)
- Good job we are all quite slim as my friends room was so narrow , there was hardly any room
to walk next to the beds.
- Staff didn't really give a crap that we had arrived,
- Our view from the room was brilliant. Roof felt coming away from the hotel next door.


Suppose you get what you paid for. Blackpool was just as disappointing as this hell hole. Everyone walking along the street looked like they were on drugs, and failed to escape years ago to better places in the country. Dont think i will ever return.


Au revoir

Room Tip: "get out"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CVbrg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2012

thanks to all the friendly staff,realy good place to stay,cant comment on the food,thx to the nights out never got up in time for brekky!! but other guestes thought it was very good.very clean,lift to all floors,24hr bar,very good wifi connection,20 min walk to all the bars on north prom or £4.00 taxi.
next trip to blackpool we will defo try to book again at this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Cannot [--] sleep, entertainment music is still on at 1am! Karaoke directly under my room (16). So loud the floor is literally shaking. Furniture is cheap and damaged, radiator is poorly maintenanced, mattresses are horrible and very uncomfortable, springs in mattress damaged. Cheap acrylic mirror, gives the effect of a fun-house mirror. Mr Nemo.Nobody

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nemo n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Ahhhh me Julie....the hostess with the mostest.
Thank you very much for a great stay Friday to Sunday .....we all had a rockin time and your buffet on Saturday woz the dogs.........
Highly recommended ....see you again...xxx

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harty0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just returned from staying here and can't fault the place. My boyfriend booked us a room last minute as we were seeing a band and didn't want to drive home and we found it had just what we need. Easy to find and with free onsite parking.

When we checked in we'd been booked into a double room which the changed without any fuss. The gave us directions to the venue we were going to and explained the bar was open till about 2am - 4am if we wanted to pop and and breakfast time was explained to us also.

The rooms were pretty basic but had everything we need as well as a modern bathroom and a flat screen TV.

Breakfast was delicious and just what we needed after a night out drinking.

Everything was within walking distance so no need to worry about taxis.

We checked out early but were told we could leave the car at no extra cost which was an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_ielle20Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Back for another Family holiday in Blackpool and second time staying in this hotel and we can't fault it.. Cheap, Food Delicious, Clean Rooms, Friendly Staff and In A Good Location - We'll defo be back again on our next visit to Blackpool :)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,040 reviews
1.9 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,109 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,011 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,202 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beechfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beechfield Hotel

Property: The Beechfield Hotel
Address: 106-110 Hornby Road, Blackpool FY1 4QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Blackpool
#12 Business Hotel in Blackpool
#24 Romantic Hotel in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beechfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to The Beechfield for a warm Northern welcome! Situated in the town centre of Blackpool, we are only a short stroll to The Winter Gardens, Grand Theatre, Hounds Hill Shopping Centre and The Iconic Blackpool Tower.Our extensive car park caters for cars, coaches, vans and mini buses for the duration of your stay and we even offer to leave your vehicle with us on day of departure to make the most of your final day in Blackpool. All our en-suite rooms have 22" flat screen TVs, tea and coffee making facilities, free Wi-Fi and lift access. We offer ground floor rooms, smoking and non smoking rooms and late-check-outs (£10 per room) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Beechfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beechfield Hotel Blackpool

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing