We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fortuna House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fortuna House Hotel
Ranked #606 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is the worse place ever. We took one look and asked for our money back the owner said it is ok for a 15 minute rumble and suggested that this was a brothel!!! I ended up sleeping on the floor of my sisters room in a different hotel. This was dirty and as the previous person said better off sleeping on the street!! Or the beach. We alerted the police to this as there was a patrol car parked up outside which shows you what type of
Things goes on. Please please do not waste your money in booking this crap!!!!! Oh and it smelt as well

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zahra5768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed N, Manager at Fortuna House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Zuhra,
You neither booked the room nor you stayed with us. We find a consistent effort by either our old employee or competitor to damage our outstanding reputation. Thanks to our regular and satisfied customers who have helped us winning Trip Advisor Prestigious Excellence Award consecutively for 2 years in 2012 and 2013. Please don't defeat the truth as truth will defeat you.
We request you to become our genuine guest and see our unparalleled customer service coupled with lowest prices, clean rooms , cotton fresh linen and off course best location.
Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    57
    22
    17
    28
See reviews for
70
86
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Booked a triple room and it was barely big enough for 2 people never mind 2 and a child, insufficient floor space for a camp bed and it had to be placed directly in front of toilet. The toilet/ shower room was barely big enough to turn around in and the shower ceiling was covered in black mould and grubby chipped tiles. The sliding shower door was off its hinges and have no privacy at all. The furniture and decor was tatty and badly chipped. TV room seemed to be only used by owners family. I complained to owner but was given two choices pay more for a bigger room or leave. The hotel is on a very undesirable street off the beaten track and the neighbours next door were doing drug deals on the front door step, I know this for sure as my partner was actually offered some whilst outside having a cigarette. If I hadnt paid up front we would have left after first night but due to hotels being mostly booked had to stick it out for 3 nights . Have stayed in a lot of Blackpool hotels but none as poor as this and won't be back

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ally787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed N, Manager at Fortuna House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Sorry was away on training, all your points are attended too. Thanks for your suggestions that helped us trip adviser excellence award winner for 2012 and 2013.
Please visit us again to see our all new look.
Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

If you're going to blackpool, stay anyway other than this hotel, I'd rather sleep on the street than in here, it is an absolute disgrace, the rooms are tiny, the beds are broken, the toilet is 2 foot long, the service is disgrace full, there is a full family who won the hotel and live in the living room and it's hard to have a relaxing sleep, my 2 year old son had a small nose bleed and because there was no toilet paper, I had to use a towel, they charged me £30 for a spit of blood, it's far to hot and they don't offer fans, overall the hotel is a disgrace, it shouldn't be legal to live there, please take in this message and book a different hotel. P.s - on the door it says ''free wifi'' I had to pay £20 for 1 day of wifi.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FortunaIsTerrible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed N, Manager at Fortuna House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear,
Sorry I was away on training. We have rectified all your points and want to welcome you to see our new look.
Thanks for letting us improve ourself and achieve Trip Adviser prestigious excellence award in 2012 and 2013.
Please visit us again to see how quickly we have improved.
Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner came to blackpool for a weekend away and booked to stay here. From the minute we arrived to the minute we left we had nothing but first class service. We felt very welcome and the hosts are lovely. Nice and close to everything and the rooms are good for what you pay. Would deffo recommend a stay here. 10/10. Our only slight critic is that we weren't told if our stay included breakfast so we decided to eat out. Of course we could have asked but we didn't.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed N, Manager at Fortuna House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thanks allot for being honest and fair. The customers like you provide us reason to work hard and do more to our new customers. Thanks for making us win excellence award from Trip Advisor consecutively for two years in a row in 2012, 2013.
Please call us at 00447887364980 to get special review discount.
Thanks again.
Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Wonderful visit with my hubby.near to all blackpool attractions.good breakfast.enjoy with tea and coffee free facility.realy much enjoy.very comfy bed.spotless and clean bedding.very helpful staff.definatly come back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Syed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed N, Manager at Fortuna House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Catherine,
Thanks allot. Please visit us again by calling 07887364980 and getting special discounts.
Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and the place was spotless although seriously needs a coat of paint and a bit of updating. Owners were polite but we only saw them twice once when we checked in and again when hey came knocking on the door on Sunday morning because check out is 10am so beware this is not on thè website and was not pointed out at check in. I would not have stayed had I realised.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed N, Manager at Fortuna House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thanks for staying and appreciating our cleanliness , service, price and quality of rooms.
Thanks for valuable suggestions to let us improve ourselves.
All your points have been rectified.
Please call us at 07887364980 to get special review discount.
Thanks for making us trip Adviser excellence award winner for 2012 and 2013.
Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a couple of days!!
I would say that the proprietors were nice and pleasant enough but the place was in serious need of updating, a lick of paint and some cheap ikea furniture wouldn't go amiss!!
The bed was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was ok but again needed a bit of an update!
For 2 nights we paid £55 and to be honest we didn't expect too much but this was prob lower than we expected!
We stayed in room 2 and the noise that the radiator made every few hours was enough to wake the dead, so if you want a good sleep then forget it, the radiator will wake you at 4am!!
On checkout we told the 'owner' about the noise and he said that it was the next building, why would another building affect his heating system? He never offered any apology either as this must be a constant complaint!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Nuwavedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syed N, Manager at Fortuna House Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Sorry I was away on training.
Thanks for your valuable suggestions which have all been attended too.
Thanks for letting us improve ourselves and become trip Adviser excellence award winner for two years in a row in 2012 and 2013.
Please call us to visit us again and get special discounts.
Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,980 reviews
1.8 mi away
Vidella Hotel
Vidella Hotel
#70 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wilsons Hotel - Blackpool Tower View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
White Lodge Inn
White Lodge Inn
#797 of 913 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Thistle Dhu Guest House
Thistle Dhu Guest House
#94 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Chimes on the Sea
The Chimes on the Sea
#435 of 913 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortuna House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortuna House Hotel

Property: Fortuna House Hotel
Address: 32 Rawcliffe Street, Blackpool FY4 1BZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #606 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fortuna House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fortuna House Hotel, standing just off the promenade on Blackpool's South Shore and within walking distance of South Pier, Pleasure Beach and all the local amenities, Fortuna House Hotel is ideally placed to offer you the perfect B&B from which to explore Blackpool's south shore and the surrounding area. We offer all our guests the same warm welcome and trademark hospitality whatever time of the year you visit whether it be bank holidays, summer, illuminations or Christmas and New Breaks. Our 10, fantastically appointed, spotlessly clean en-suite bedrooms provide a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Fortuna House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing