We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Moorbank House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moorbank House
Ranked #285 of 860 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is our third visit to Moorbank house. We are in room 4 and it is absolutely fine. Large enough for my wife and I and our 14 year old son. Nice and clean. Breakfast good. Close to pleasure beach, 5 minute walk. Could not ask for better for the cost. Will book again when we visit Blackpool.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank adrianbNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We chose to stay at Moorbank rather than a chain hotel as we wanted a more 'authentic' Blackpool experience and that is what we got! Kathy and Ken were extremely helpful and friendly providing lots of useful tips. The B&B appeared extremely clean and the breakfasts were extensive and enormous! We required 3 rooms that were all great and family room 9a with it's adjoining room with bunk beds was perfect.The shower was hot and plenty of towels were provided. The location of the B&B was perfect for us travelling with young children - five minutes max walk to the Pleasure Beach and on a very quiet street. The free parking was a huge bonus too. The only thing I would have changed would have been to have had a thicker winter duvet although blankets were provided. A bath would also have been amazing but realise space is limited. Thanks Kathy and Ken, we would definitely recommend your lovely B&B

Room Tip: If you are travelling as a family with young childre, room 9a with its separate bunk bed room is fan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I stayed here with my wife and my two children, aged 11 yrs and 16 , and we all couldn't fault our stay here at all. After reading a few of the reviews I was a bit unsure. But on arrival to our room I was pleasantly surprised .. Everything was just as on the website.
Tea & coffee facilities filled up regularly , beds were all very clean and comfortable...... Just as you'd. Like them to be.
And the breakfast was really filling and tasted really freshly cooked.
The owners made us feel welcome from the moment on arrival to the time when we had to leave....
we wouldn't hessitate to recommend this b & b. And will be re booking for next year.
Once again. A big thanks to you both, ken and Kath on or stay. The Robinson family from scunthorpe. North Lincolnwhite.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robbiebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here for only one night.
The Moorbank House was fine, was clean and tidy. Beds were clean and rooms modern. Shower was a bit high in one of the rooms. The curtains were light cream and even when drawn let in a lot of light. parking was included in the price which was a bonus. Had to leave the parking area by 10am on morning of departure despite being blue badge holders. Owners were aware of this. Owners were ok but did not go out of way to be over friendly. All in all was fine. Thanks.
Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geezer466, Owner at Moorbank House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are one of the few bed and breakfasts in Blackpool able to offer parking and who do not charge extra for this.

We also offer guests an early arrival option where they are free to arrive from 11.00am on their day of arrival and we will park their cars (even though we maybe not be able to allow them to access their rooms at this time). This allows them to enjoy a full day at the Pleasure Beach and or Sandcastle water park and is a service many people take up through the summer Months.

Of course for their to be sufficient parking available we ask guests who are departing if they can remove their vehicles by 10.30Hrs on the day of departure. For most this is not a problem as they drive straight home, but others do ask where there is free street parking and we are happy to inform them. Blue badge holders are allowed three hours free parking on the single line out front in Moore Street, this is displayed on the usual information kerbside sign.

Your booking was last October so we have no idea if you were a party who took advantage of the early parking option, but it would have been available to you in any case.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I have just got back from staying at morrbank with my partner for 3 nights. I had searched literally every hotel in Blackpool to find this place as it has FREE PARKING at hardly anywhere else has parking in Blackpool. It was great to be able to go off and explore knowing my car was safe and off the road. I really like that you have the chance the settle in before returning to make your payment as most places request payment before you enter the room. We had room 6 which other guests seem to have niggles about but we thought the room was great, lovely big kingsize bed which was really comfortable, large flatscreen TV I also liked the dressing table area as I could sit down whilst doing my hair and make up. There was lots of wardrobe space with plenty of hangers and sofa chair in the room aswell. This room was very quiet so I always got a great nights sleep.
After long days out it was great that we could come in late as we had a key for the front door.
Breakfast was good and we thought the bacon was really good quality as was very thick and the hash browns were also tasty - yes breakfast could be better but people need to realise that this is a b&b and NOT a hotel.
The owner lady was so helpful in recomending places to go etc and was very approachable and chatty - this made us feel very welcome. When we return to Blackpool we will definately be staying at Morrbank House :-)

Room Tip: Room 6 was at the top of the building so very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forensic2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

on arrival at moorbank house we were met by the lady of the house who showed us where to park and then showed us to our room and every thing was going fine apart from no mention of the low roof leading to room number 6,,must have slipped her mind.after explaining the keys she left us to unpack and then we went to settle to settle the bill, to put a few things straight let me just say;

1,whilst in the room kathy,,i think,,explained how the blackout blind worked, not showing us but explaining,,maybe she could not show us due to the fact it was broken,, and judging by the colour and condition of it i presume it is pretty old . i am certain as the day is 24hours long that NO-ONE in or party broke it.
2,i did read the sign about towels that wished to be exchanged should be placed in the shower tray,,me and my wife only used 1 towel each after a shower,,i made a point of putting them in the shower tray after use but somehow they managed to get back on the towel rack when we returned to get changed later on,,,maybe they jumped back on ,,who knows,,
3,when we went for breakfast on the first two days,,service with a smile seemed to have been forgotten,,we where sat in a corner (like naughty school children),,on a table that barely fitted the 2 small plates that breakfast came on(i have seen the measurements by the way),,i understand that guest houses buy cheaper products to keep the cost to customers down but to be honest i found the coffee and beans awful,,,if there was someone about to ask maybe we have asked for something different,,,,,hence this was the reason we gave breakfast a miss on our last morning and went to pay at a cafe(which was lovely by the way),,
4,,we totally understood what we had booked and knew that this was not a 3,4 or 5 star hotel but a family run guesthouse,,, we do know the difference,,,we have stayed at many a guest house over the last twenty years as a couple and some we have gone back to stay there again,,unfortunately moorbank house will not be on of those.
5.. just to finish, apart from the above me and my wife had a lovely week end in blackpool and were in great spirits throughout,,until when where packing the car to leave the postman came and when kathy answered the door she was very quick to close it without saying a word and we were put out by this and put us in a rather bad mood,,so we just left the key on the side,,,maybe negative karma does rub off after all,,

i have noticed some of your replies to the not so favourable reviews and look forward to your flippant response to this one

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geezer466, Owner at Moorbank House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

Thank you Michael for your additional review as a follow up to your wife’s which is below.
Rather than dealing with your points which we feel we have explained adequately in the response below we will ask one simple question.

If the room was not suitable or up to your expectations why on earth did you not speak up when you checked in?

It is and has always been our policy to show guests to their rooms and allow them as much time as they need to settle in before they come down and formally check in.

We have extreme confidence in our product and are one of the few B&B’s/ Hotels in Blackpool which will do this, that has to speak volumes. Most accommodation providers will insist on check in and full payment before guests are shown to rooms.

If you had aired your issues at check in then we would have done our best to resolve them at the time. If you were still dissatisfied then we would have offered a no quibble return of your deposit allowing you to seek accommodation elsewhere. We would rather lose revenue on an unsold room than have a guest leave discontented and resentful. The fact we are prepared to go on the record here and say this again speaks volumes.

It is because of this extreme confidence we have in our product and the fact that in 8 years of operating a family guesthouse in the Blackpool market we have never had to return a deposit we feel we can offer this no quibble assurance.

The review immediately above yours is from a lady (and her partner) who arrived and stayed 3 nights in the same room you and your good lady occupied, arriving the same day you departed. It was for her we had to arrange next day delivery on the blind you damaged so the room was available for their arrival. At the time of writing this lady has written 16 reviews on tripadvisor whereas you and your wife have only written one. It appears she had no issues at all and we are pleased she and her partner had a pleasant stay. They of course are welcome to return to Moorbank House at any time in the future.

It would appear from both your reviews you felt you were ‘slighted’ in some way by Kathy and decided to take to your keyboards and the online travel agent review sites (we are aware you have left negative reviews on other sites also) to achieve some sort of payback. We often discuss with guests in our bar previous Trip Advisor reviews left for Moorbank House both good and bad. Most people, we are pleased to say can very easily separate the wheat from the chaff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We found this guest house on Google and reading the recommendations and the response from the owners etc and based on our parents owning a guest house in Torquay, we decided to book and that was a great decision. We were greeted with friendliness and help. Having a parking space was perfect and saved us a fortune. We had a great day with a 5 min walk to the pleasure beach where we went for our 5 yr olds birthday. The room was lovely. Plenty of space, lovely hot shower and comfortable beds. Hubby was particularly pleased with free wi fi. Fabulous breakfast have us a great start to the day. ... definitely highly recommended and we will be back in 2014

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.2 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,154 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#3 of 73 in Blackpool
525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shepperton Hotel
Shepperton Hotel
#521 of 860 in Blackpool
81 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fairway
The Fairway
#70 of 860 in Blackpool
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Branston Lodge Guest House
Branston Lodge Guest House
#6 of 860 in Blackpool
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorbank House

Address: 26-28 Moore Street | South Shore, Blackpool FY4 1DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 860 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £44 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorbank House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Kathy and Ken welcome you to Moorbank House, situated right in the heart of South Shore Blackpool. We are a 12 bedroom all en-suite licensed Guest House located close to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, The Sandcastle Water World and South Pier. Waterloo Road and the Bond Street shopping area and markets are just around the corner as well as CIU clubs such as the Duple club, a JD Wetherspoons pub and The Auctioneer with their great value food and drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Moorbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing