We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chesterfield Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. Overall, the welcome and the dog service is great. Its nice to sit in the bar having a drink with the dog and praise the friendliness of the staff. bar shuts at 11ish. Downhill view was no one came into our room the whole 4 days. We had to empty our own two bins into polly bags and take them outside to put in a public bin. I didn't want to ask if they cud take them off us every day. The bins are very small. We had to use the same towels the whole 4 days and when your showering morning and before going out they hadn't had time to dry. No tea or coffee or milk got replaced, you had to ask for more. No bed made. Maybe I'm just being fussy but would like at least fresh towels every couple of days. For this reason I won't be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebpl, Owner at The Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you for your comments Fiona and for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it. I am so sorry to hear that you don't feel able to return. I am also sorry that you had to manage with wet towels and didn't have enough tea/coffee etc!!
As many of our guests leave their dog(s) in the room while they go out we don't enter rooms unless we are asked to do so, just in case this may disturb or cause stress to the dog(s). We are always willing to replace towels, empty bins and replenish beverages whenever we are asked. We do state in our literature that rooms aren't serviced, but of course we are happy to make your bed for you and empty your bin if you ask us to. I am really really sorry we didn't make this more clear and your stay would have been much more comfortable. Often guests bring their own towels etc and so I assumed that you must have done that. Once again I am very sorry and I intend to make sure this doesn't happen again by emphasising to future customers that if they would like their room to be serviced daily they only have to ask :-) . Thanks again. Best wishes Julie and Steve xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    22
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
44
77
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed for 2 nights having found them on the internet as pet friendly in central blackpool. We booked at short notice in August and although the family room was booked Julie arranged 2 adjoining rooms as the same price. ( we called them as internet said was full)
Our dog was very well catered for even having a dog towel and snacks waiting on arrival. The hotel was clean and no doggy smells. Some rooms smoking is allowed and that was evident by the smell in the corridor at the top of the stairs
Both Julie and Steve were very welcoming without being too fussy. We booked ourselves in for the evening meal and used the bar which we never do!
A lovely stay a classic blackpool hotel and would definately go back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coxie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebpl, Owner at The Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We hope to see you here again soon. Best wishes Julie and Steve xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My family have stayed at the chesterfield , at lot of years. And I went this week with Owen my 10 year old son, and jack & dot my pugs, been a while since I've been and now they take pets couldn't wait to go back, it was really like visiting friends who made me and Owen and my , little mischief pugs , so welcome and made me remember while my dear parents held this place so dear to their hearts , brought so many happy memories back to me, so thank u so much , for kindness and never ending hard work you did for us this week, met some lovely doggies and there owners and jack and dot made new friends and got Spolit with no end of treats , thank u so much for Owen birthday presents . He loves Chester, and to Julie for the bring me sunshine sing a long that was fantastic and to Steve for the helping Owen with the little cars, take care , and we will see u very soon we be back owens asking already when we coming back, lots of love. Marie, Owen jack and dot , xxx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariepugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebpl, Owner at The Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Thank you Marie for your lovely comments. It was soo nice to see you again and to meet Owen x Your little pugs are adorable and it was a pleasure having you all to stay. We have so many happy memories of your lovely parents who stayed with us two or three times a year, every year for over a decade! We still miss them both and often they are mentioned when we reminisce :-)
Really hoping you visit us again asap
love and best wishes
Julie, Steve (and mum and dad) xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay in The Chesterfield Pet Friendly Hotel. There was my Husband, myself, our 4 year old daughter and our 8 month old Cockapoo, Dougal.

We arrived and were given a warm welcome by Julie and a much needed pot of tea and coffee with biscuits. Lovely! There was a parking space reserved for us, which was super. There aren't many spaces but Julie and Steve try to sort your out if you ask in advance.

We had a family room on the second floor which was plenty big enough for us with all of the bags of toys our daughter brought along and Dougal's small crate and his toys! Dougal even had his own doggy towel and a little bag of treats with poop bags waiting on arrival. The rooms were clean and comfortable and met our needs.

Steve cooked up a cracking cooked breakfast each morning which set us up for the day! They were also very helpful with suggesting takeaways and providing plates, cutlery etc. Pointing us in the right direction for shops and providing tourist information such as tram stops, theme park info. Each evening we enjoyed a drink from their bar... dogs and children welcome which was great! Prices were very reasonable and friendly, sociable atmosphere. Dougal loved to meet the other dogs over a bowl of water :) We have never been to a B&B before where everyone would chat to each other over breakfast! The dogs really broke the ice (which didn't join us in the breakfast room) and everyone had something in common which encouraged a very friendly atmosphere! I even went out on a joint dog walk one evening with one of the other guests after chatting in the bar!

Now on to the main reason for choosing the Chesterfield... the Dog Sitting & Listening service! Dougal was left in the room during breakfast and we had booked Julie to Dog Sit for us on both Saturday and Sunday as we wanted to go to a couple of shows (one in the day and one in the evening on the same day) and do the pleasure beach. We would have had a problem without this service available! (Why take your dog on a weekend doing activities he can't be involved in?! Blackpool was tagged on to the end of our caravan holiday as we were visiting the UK from the Isle of Man) Dougal was collected from our room on both mornings after breakfast and he was very happy!! He was chilling in the bar with the other guests when we arrived home and had had a great time socialising!! This is a fantastic service which made it possible to visit a place which would have been off limits with our dog and was available at only a small extra cost.

Our daughter also enjoyed Blackpool and the Hotel. She loved going to the bar for a lemonade and to meet the other dogs.

The location was great, situated half way between Central and South Pier, which meant we were able to walk to both The Pleasure Beach and The Tower!

We will be returning to the Chesterfield on our next visit to Blackpool and would like to thank Julie and Steve for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaBullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebpl, Owner at The Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
WOW thanks Fiona for your fantastic review! It means so much to us as we really do try to ensure everyone has a good time here at The Chesterfield. It was great to meet you and your lovely family and we had great fun looking after Dougal who is such a gorgeous little character! We all hope you'll be back to stay with us again very soon!
Best wishes
Julie and Steve xxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbiggin-by-the-Sea, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2013

had a wonderful 2 nights stay at this b and b couldnt fault it , julie and steve were both great , the room had everything u wud need and very reasonably priced , perfectly situated just off the sea front would defineltley stay there again .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebpl, Owner at The Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Cheers Jillian for your excellent review! We are over the moon you enjoyed it here so much and really look forward to seeing you here again soon
best wishes Julie and Steve xxxxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed with our 2 standard poodles, Julie and Steve are both lovely. Breakfast was excellent, room was clean and fresh, the bar was great as we could take the boys in there with us. In fact it was so good we have just booked again for a 3 night break in September. Charlotte, Maureen, Nugget & Noodle :)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebpl, Owner at The Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review and for your wonderful comments! We hope to see you here at the Chesterfield again soon. Best wishes Julie and Steve xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

There are many B&B like this in Blackpool so as a human it's nice no complaints. However my Dogs think otherwise. Both my St Burnard and German Shepherd have visited on separate occasions and love it. In fact it's their favourite B&B. on arrivel they get a welcome fuss and drink inc doggy biscuits. Then off to the room which provides Doggy towels and a complementary wrapped welcome bone. Food mats and poop bags are also provided.

My wife and I went out for a meal and come back after about 1.5hrs to find our German Shepherd propping up the bar. He apparently didn't like been alone in the room and started crying and scratching at the door. Our host kindly let him out and took him to the bar area drinks (water) and more Doggy Snacks were provided until we came back.

Nothing is too much trouble for the fury guests and that makes our holiday stress free

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlitzkriegDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliebpl, Owner at The Chesterfield Hotel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
It's great news that your dog would choose to stay here! That's exactly what we like to hear! ;-)
It's always brill to see you and Lisa and any one of your marvellous mutts! Thanks for taking the time to leave your review it means a lot to us x
Best wishes
Julie and Steve xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,040 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#29 of 73 in Blackpool
3,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Blackpool South Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Beechfield Hotel
The Beechfield Hotel
#8 of 73 in Blackpool
1,278 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Carousel Hotel
The Carousel Hotel
#15 of 73 in Blackpool
1,011 reviews
1.1 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chesterfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chesterfield Hotel

Property: The Chesterfield Hotel
Address: 5 Wellington Road, Blackpool FY1 6AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 129 Speciality Lodging in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chesterfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Julie & Steve warmly welcome you and your dogs to The Chesterfield Pet Friendly Hotel. (Dogs stay free of charge) All rooms small but with en suite toilet and shower, flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Licensed bar. 50 mtrs beach & near all attractions. Dog sitting and dog listening available. Cleanliness, a great breakfast & excellent service guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Chesterfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing