We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel with the personal touch”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Margaret's Private Hotel
Ranked #538 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2009

As soon as we arrived at Margaret's we immediately felt comfortable and completely at home. We were greeted by Fraser who was extremely welcoming, helpful and attentive throughout our stay. There was 6 of us in total and it didn't take him long to learn all our names!! The rooms were spotless and well equipped. The arrange of toiletries and selection of biscuits were a great personal touch. The breakfast was fantastic, full english or continental tailored to your specific requirements...perfectly cooked too! The hotel is in a great location a short walk from Blackpool North Station up the North end of the promenade slightly out of the hustle and bustle, which was perfect for our stay. If we ever return to Blackpool we would without a doubt return to the comfort of Margaret's.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CC_Smart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2009

spend three nights at this hotel ,staff were very welcoming rooms spotless and comfortable ,breakfast excellent ,would use this hotel again .

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

What a great place to stay! excellent staff, great food and the place is spotless. i would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kels123NIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

what a lovely warm welcome we recived from Frazer and his dad. margarets was a lovely place to stay , could not fault it in any way, the standards of the rooms were excellent, and the service was very good, value for money you certainley got.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DODO82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I cant rate this hotel higher, the value is excellent, the location for the nightlife is excellent, the personal touch Fraser and his family provide is excellent, the breakfast is more than excellent and the cleaniless is perfect - I would stay here every time I go to Blackpool if I could, in fact I tried to sign up for our next trip in October, but unsurprisingly Margarets is fully booked :-(

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2009

It is an excellent,very friendly, comfortable and clean place to stay in Blackpool. The hotel is in prime location close to high street,bars,restaurants and Blackpool Tower. The owners Fraser and his dad are very warm people; they created very welcoming atmosphere throughout our stay.Breakfast....huge and very very tasty.Rooms are very clean, very well maintained and very comfortable with crisp bedding and fresh towels daily.We enjoyed to stay at Margaret's private hotel and would recommend to our friends with pleasure.Thank you Fraser.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_Tails_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

Stayed here for a bank holiday weekend and was really pleased with my choice of hotel/guest house. As with the majority of guest houses in Blackpool, they seem to over decorate them in wall plates, brass ornaments, and general tat....however the Margarets hotel was a complete breath of fresh air. We were greeted by the owner Frazer and from start to finish, the welcome was warm and helpful.
As you walk into the hotel, there is a room to your right, with a fully licenced bar and seating area and at the back of that room is a great little dining room that serves breakfast and dinner. Probably my only criticism of this hotel is the carpet that runs through the hotel (excluding the rooms that are perfect, neutrally carpeted). The main carpet is old fashioned and a bit floral..My personal view is that it would be better if it was dressed the same as the rooms..but this maybe something Fraser is already considering!
The rooms are fantastic...neutral colours, exceptionally clean and well presented. There is tea and coffee making facilities within the room, as well as a huge selection of free bikkies to indulge yourself on. The beds are really comfortable and the en-suite shower/bathroom was really nicely decorated. Very modern and well equipped. There were fresh towels and plenty of them and lots of complimentary toiletries for our use. All in all I cannot fault this place on anything! Just as an added note, Fraser (and his parents) serve one of the best breakfasts Ive had in a hotel, anywhere in the world and the little touches and standards they set are second to none and a shining example of what can be achieved if you love what you do!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelwell_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#35 of 73 in Blackpool
1,065 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lexham Hotel
Lexham Hotel
#434 of 861 in Blackpool
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Fairway
The Fairway
#70 of 861 in Blackpool
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelham Lodge
Pelham Lodge
#2 of 133 in Blackpool
523 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Eleven
Hotel Eleven
#7 of 861 in Blackpool
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Margaret's Private Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Margaret's Private Hotel

Address: 7 Banks Street | North Shore, Blackpool FY1 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #538 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £50 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Margaret's Private Hotel is a clean and comfortable, no smoking, family-run hotel in Blackpool that welcomes families, (couples and single people over 45 years old). Also, we have a great deal of experience accommodating Conference/Professional/Business people. Fully refurbished to a very good standard four years ago, all 10 en suite rooms have a color tv/video, comfortable chair, hair dryer, shaver point, tea/coffee making facilities, fresh towels and toiletries. Also, ironing facilities are available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing