We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food,excellent service,can highly recommend.”
Review of AJ's Bistro - CLOSED

AJ's Bistro
Price range: US$16 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb food,excellent service,can highly recommend.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We thought we would try Aj's Bistro after reading the excellent reviews. We were not disappointed. Excellent food. Attentive staff,lovely atmosphere. We will definitely go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

636 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    512
    86
    17
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food.... Just a shame they lied to us!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited this restaurant because of the gluten free options on the menu... and they didn't disappoint. The food was fantastic and so much choice. I would most definitely go again.
The only downer was the realisation that we had been lied to. We stopped by to book a table on our way back to the hotel only to be told they were fully booked. We asked if there was any way they could fit us in and the lady said that they only had 1 table and it was available right then (only 5pm), but being a coeliac and looking forward to a gluten free meal we took the table. Shortly after, we saw another couple come in and get told the same story.... Then a whole family. By the time we left at 6.30pm, the place still only had 3 tables taken. We walked past later in the evening and still the place was pretty much empty... I felt like a bit of a fool for believing the lady and it did put a downer on the experience. I don't appreciate lies!
But in terms of food, worth a visit, especially for the gluten free :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannahR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveleys,lancashire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Frank`s Birthday”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A Party of eight of us went out to celebrate for Frank`s Birthday. We went to Ma Kelly`s had a couple of drinks then onto AJ`s bistro for a meal. We went last time in May for my wife`s birthday and also my friend Chris`s Birthday, It was so good we came back again. Once again they did us Proud!! the food well you good not better anywhere. Starters to die for, Fillet steaks. Lamb steaks iv`e never had better. The service is absolute second to none!!! the staff are awesome. so welcoming and nothing to much trouble. They made Frank`s birthday so special for him as they did last time we visited. I cannot praise all of them enough. If anyone reading this review is or want`s to celebrate an occasion pick up the Phone and BOOK!! you will not be disappointed. TO all of the staff at AJ`s a Megga Thankyou again you were fabulous Love to you all and we will see you again soon.x

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent service, delicious food and great value”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Called in for a pre-theatre dinner and thoroughly enjoyed it. The service was very friendly and the food very good indeed. I ate vegetable risotto - the best risotto I've had! Will be back next time we're in town for a show.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shep35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Little Gem Amongst Bistros”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We read up on this before going to Blackpool and were impressed by the reviews given by other people.
We were not let down!!
We were greeted by Danni, front of house, and immediately made to feel welcome; she went through the menu with us and made some recommendations.
The food was excellent, cooked and presented to an extremely high standard. A very nice touch was when Mike, the chef, came to our table and chatted with us; he took the time to explain how he has created his unique menu, so much so that we returned the following day for the Earlybird Menu (Saturday 5pm-6pm).
Highly recommended ..... we will definitely be back when we return to Blackpool.
Thank you Mike for creating wonderful food and Danni for your personal touch.
Jayne and John, South Wales

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayne2118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AJ's Bistro also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Bispham, Blackpool
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing