We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel. Would defo go back :)”
Review of Phildene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phildene
Ranked #115 of 856 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel. Would defo go back :)”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I booked online for the Bank Holiday weekend. I had only been to Blackpool for a day visit before so was unsure of which hotel to use (Glad I picked this one). We arrived around 11am and check in isnt until 2pm, but John allowed us to leave our bags there and said we could booked in later on. Once we checked in, Lorna gave spoke to us and then took us to our room - it was lovely, very clean and a sea view. Bed was very comfortable, didnt want to get out of it. The breakfast was yummy-plenty to chose from. The hotel is in great location, just walk to the end of the room and pleasure beach is to your left and the Tower is to your right.
Really enjoyed the weekend and cant wait to use the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 106laurar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hi Folks thanks for your review on tripadvisor.com / Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and you will be welcomed back anytime. Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    27
    4
    7
    9
See reviews for
26
112
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire, UK
Level Contributor
145 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We booked this online for the Bank Holiday weekend - as we've visited Blackpool a few times we have a favourite Hotel but it was very pricey for this particular weekend. After reading the great reviews online, we booked the New Phildene Hotel.
We arrived in Blackpool about 10:30am and we were able to leave our luggage there while our room was being cleaned (check in isnt until 2:00). John advised us where to park as car parking can is difficult to find so close to the Seafront - so we parked up in a private car park which gave us peace of mind. When we went out for the day the next day we didn't manage to get a space back in this car park but there was one further beyond St Chads Rd behind the Yates (Council owned) which was a similar price.
When we checked in we were happy with the room - very clean, very well finished. Lovely little touches such as muffins and cookies, a range of hot drinks, beautiful toiletries etc. A lot of thought clearly goes into this Hotel. Plenty of towels which was a treat - some Hotels are stingy with towels! Lorna gave us lots of info when we checked in and saw us into our room - she was so welcoming and helpful.
After a great nights sleep we had a nice shower and went down for breakfast - delicious! There was absolutely everything you could want - so i'll pick the best bits - Smoothies which John makes, a huge range of Museli and beautiful cooked breakfasts. Thick bacon, 'proper' sausages from a local butcher, black pudding....the list goes on. It was so tasty! Plenty of tea and fruit juice on offer too. Lorna and her staff were so attentive and keen to make sure we'd had enough to eat - what great service!
The second morning I had scrambled eggs which were absolutely beautiful - I wish I could make them that well! The other half had his Full Monty again - and devoured the lot!
Lorna and John make an effort to speak to each customer before the leave - you just don't get this kind of service any more. We will definitely return because we cannot fault it.
Thank you so much for a great stay.

Also, we should add that the location is great - a few paces from the sea front/tram stop. Turn left for the Pleasure Beach and right for the Town Centre - perfect.

Room Tip: We had room 16 - a lovely seaside theme! I'm sure all the rooms are lovely though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyandWol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi Folks Thanks for your review and kind comments on tripadvisor.com It was lovely to meet you both and we hope to see you back again when you next visit Blackpool. Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We came here for the weekend and loved it. Owners we're lovely and helpful, rooms lovely with 2 bottles of wine and box of chocolates waiting for us when we arrived. Breakfast was very nice with a wide choice. No car park but literally around the corner there is one so that was no bother atall. Already recommended to a few people and would without doubt stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hi Karis & Andrew,
Thanks for your review on Tripadvisor.com Your comments are much appreciated. it will be a pleasure to see you both on your next visit to Blackpool.
Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in August was very good, the b&b was very clean and really good food. Located in a brilliant place, in the middle of all the places to go and see while in blackpool. The decor was very modern and they made you feel very at home. Not your average small b&b, more like a small hotel. Will defo be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KNCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Hi KNCK, Thanks for reviewing your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com and your kind comments. Look forward to your next visit Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

looking for somewhere reasonably priced but nice in Blackpool after reading many reviews I decided on New Phildene Hotel. Most of what was said is correct, the food is probably locally sourced but when microwaved it loses a lot, bacon turns to rubber, blackpudding to hockey pucks - so i woud have to disagree with most peoples comments the cooked breakfast was great. The rooms indeed are nice, and the complimentary goods very generous. I read on the web when booking parking was available, when we arrived, no we were sent to a car park over a mile away and we had to pay for the privilege ... never woud have booked if I knew it did not have a car park. I found Lorna helpful and pleasant, her partner??? The bar closed early on our first night, which kind of meant it was not open at all.. so whilst a nice place to lay my head.. not all it is cracked up to be and for a b&b a litttle overpriced for what I could see...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for your review and comments on tripadvisor.com, we are always pleased when a guest spends the time to let us know about there stay with us. it assists us in keeping to our very high standards. We are sorry that you could not bring your concerns to us during your stay. However I would like to point out a few Inaccuracies in your review. With regard to the cooked breakfast being microwaved this is totally inaccurate although we do use microwaves on occasion to steam food and defrost items. All our quality locally sourced Bacon Sausage and Black Pudding are either grilled/fried or griddled. I can only assume that you are not used to high quality produce of a calibre that we serve. Cooked to a high standard as our Visit England Breakfast Award clearly demonstrates, in conjunction with other guest reviews on Tripadvisor.com who would criticise your comments. If you care to check our web site it does not say or imply that we provide parking, in fact it shows guest where the available parking in the area is. Extract from site (There is limited free parking to the front of the building and the Main Town Car Park is only a 10 Minute walk away, Pay & Display bays are available on the seafront. If you require guaranteed parking please call as below. HOLIDAYMAKERS LOCK-UP CAR PARK AT THE REAR OF FYLDE COIN EQUIPMENT 382 LYTHAM ROAD, BLACKPOOL, FY4 1DW). in addition we do advertise a secure lock up car park in Hornby Road as the majority of our guests prefer to have there vehicles in a secure area at a reasonable cost. We do not advertise that we run a late bar into the early hours of the morning so I am not sure what time you consider to be too early to close. With regard to your comment about being overpriced we will leave that up to the high number of returning guests and referrals we get. I would also like to point out that your partner on both days of your stay said to my wife how much he had enjoyed his breakfast and thank you for your apology in respect of how rude you were to our waiting staff, which had been commented on by other guests???. We hope you find somewhere more suitable to your requirements and quality levels on your next visit to Blackpool. Again thank you for your time in reviewing your stay with us. Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this B 'n' B last night as we were going to the pleasure beach today and thought we'd make a weekend of it.

It's a great little place to stay and John & Lorna who own it were very helpful and answered all our questions and more... We would also like to thank them for a great restaurant recommendation for Saturday night!

Room very cosy, bed very comfortable, nice shower... All for a very reasonable price. Breakfast was also included and there was a huge spread when you went down (I had a homemade banana smoothie and homemade yoghurt - both delicious!) We then had cooked to order breakfast which was great and a well needed start to our day!

I'd definitely recommend this place to stay if you are wanting a home from home when you're away!

Thanks again John & Lorna.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippihana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Hi Hippihana,
Thanks for your review on tripadvisor.com its always nice to here when some ones been happy with our service. Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.0 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 69 in Blackpool
3,046 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 69 in Blackpool
3,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strathdon Hotel
Strathdon Hotel
#88 of 856 in Blackpool
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 856 in Blackpool
1,153 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 856 in Blackpool
1,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sutton Park Guest House
Sutton Park Guest House
#9 of 856 in Blackpool
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phildene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phildene

Property: Phildene
Address: 5-7 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England (Formerly New Phildene Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 856 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Phildene 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Phildene Blackpool is graded by visit Britain as 4 Star Silver Award (Guest Accommodation) with a visit Britain breakfast award, We are Ideally located 25 metres from Blackpool seafront, opposite St Chad's Headland. Just a short walk from the centre of Blackpool and all major attractions. Perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests as we do not accept children (Child Free Property), or Stag/Hen Parties. You will find more than just a warm and friendly welcome. We pride ourselves on accommodating our guests every need. We are sure to provide you with everything you might need. We feature a Wine & Coffee Bar, a pool table, a wide selection of breakfast foods (including full English, vegetarian, Gluten Free, continental and a selection of cereals). We also offer high-quality pub-grub, We are a Smoke Free Property Including electronic and vaping. Our rooms are comfortably furnished, classically decorated and serviced daily. all are en-suite with hospitality trays and complimentary toiletries. Our values are quality, service, comfort and value. We cater for singles And couples only. Limited public parking is available on street (Not Guaranteed). Open to non-residents and a member of the tourist board. For the comfort and convenience of the majority of our guests this hotel is a child free zone, (Age 18 + Only) Accordingly we reserve the right to decline entry to persons below the age of 18. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phildene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing