We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Phildene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Phildene
Ranked #104 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Booked based on online feedback and was not disappointed.
Great hosts who endeavour to make your stay warm and welcoming and are so friendly .
Faultlessly clean throughout,
Best breakfast selection of any of the numerous Hotels we have stayed in and no combination is to much trouble to cook.
If you want a stay where you can rest without late revellers spoiling your peace this is the place
Will be back to see you when we are next up in Blackpool
Many thanks for your kindness.

Room Tip: pay the extra its worth it for those extra touches that the New Phildene provides
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BornproudUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Hi Folks, thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on tripadvisor.com we always appreciate the views of our guests. regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

£85 for one nights stay and had to pay further £10 for parking with 5min walk. Never a 4 star hotel 2 star at best. You would be better off staying at hilton for that price. Room was like shoe box. Shower took 5min to heat up and had little power, would never stay here again felt ripped off at the price they charged.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamesBhoy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Hi James, Sorry you felt ripped of by our prices for your 1 nights stay in a en-suite twin bedded room with a full breakfast provided. But at this time of year for a 4 star establishment with the service and provisions that we supply in room. Most people would consider reasonable as our regular returning guests show. As far as the parking costs go, we did advise you where you could park for free and also the paid for car park options available to visitors to Blackpool including our recommended option of a secure gated and patrolled lock up car park @ £8.00 for 24 hours. where you chose to park for £10.00 was your choice and the hotel had no control over that. We could only advise you of your parking options. Our 4 star grading is independently assessed by Visit England Annually and includes an overnight stay by an inspector we are graded under guest accommodation as 4 stars. We are not graded as a hotel because we do not provide additional services a hotel would such as room service / 24 hour reception / porters ect. But it's nice to know you think we would be a 2 star hotel if we provided these additional services. The room is oblong shaped but at approx. 14ft by 10ft hardly a shoe box. Which is larger than your average seaside guest accommodation rooms. Our showers are gravity fed and not a high pressure power shower which is maybe what you are used to, but are fit for the job intended of them. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on tripadvisor.com and we hope any future visits to Blackpool you find accommodation nearer your expectations and price . Regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed here at the weekend, it was a surprise for my hubby's Birthday, The hotel is great, very clean, modern and welcoming, The breakfast was amazing, Johns breakfast smoothies are fantastic, It was the first time we have stayed there, but we will be going back again, I would recommend this to all my family and friends. The Welcome and service from John and Lorna, was unbeatable.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9, it was a good size and really nicely decorated,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Hi Folks
Thanks for reviewing your stay with us on tripadvisor.com and your kind comments, it was a pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to your next visit.
Regards
John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My wife and i are well travelled yet I've never wrote a review before.
We both felt that these guys at the phildene were so hospitable towards us that it was the very least we could do, we were welcomed the moment we walked in, the place was spotlessly clean, and perfectly situated just off the promenade, the room and ensuite were beautiful, the bed was comfy the sheets and bedding were clearly of high quality as was the whole experience of our stay, the breakfast was exceptional, everything was fresh, you won't find better than this place anywhere in Blackpool
Harrogate north yorks

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammysuntan44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Hi Folks thanks for reviewing your stay with us on tripadvisor.com, it always helps to get feedback from guests to assist us in keeping to our high standards of service. regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed for a short weekend in Blackpool and couldn't of asked for a better place to stay! The owners are lovely and couldn't do enough for us during our stay. Tea/coffee and a chat on arrival and must say that the breakfast was top quality. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Hi Andrew Thanks for reviewing your stay with us on tripadvisor.com, we are always happy to see what our guests think of our service. it was a pleasure meeting you both Regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My partner and I stayed here for three nights for our 11th Anniversary we couldn't have wished for a nicer place .John and Lorna are lovely hosts and couldn't do enough for us, they made us feel right at home .John makes the most awesome breakfasts and scrambled eggs to die for.And Lorna we could have sat and listened to her tales all day .The room was bright and airy ,the bed was very comfortable .Towels were changed daily and if you forget any toiletries don't worry as there are a wide range of mini toiletries including a razor ,toothbrush and toothpaste .There were also a good selection of refreshments including muffins and biscuits.In all john and Lorna are lovely people who run a great establishment and we will definitely becoming back .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flange1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Hi Folks, Thanks for reviewing your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com, it was a pleasure meeting you both and we hope to see you again soon. Regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in august. First time i've stayed in Blackpool and what a wonderful little hotel it was. The owners couldn't be any more helpful, room was great along with breakfasts. Only down side would be the parking as I had to park in the suburbs of the town, however this seems to be the case with any hotel in Blackpool. Overall, would recommend this hotel to anyone and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belky94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Hi Folks Thanks for reviewing your stay with us on tripadvisor.com Regards John & Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#90 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 73 in Blackpool
3,402 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
4,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairhaven Hotel
Fairhaven Hotel
#146 of 864 in Blackpool
85 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#39 of 73 in Blackpool
563 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lucena Hotel
Lucena Hotel
#100 of 137 in Blackpool
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phildene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phildene

Address: 5-7 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England (Formerly New Phildene Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Hotel Class:4 star — Phildene 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Phildene Blackpool is graded by visit Britain as 4 Star Silver Award (Guest Accommodation) with a visit Britain breakfast award, We are Ideally located 25 metres from Blackpool seafront, opposite St Chad's Headland. Just a short walk from the centre of Blackpool and all major attractions. Perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests as we do not accept children (Child Free Property), or Stag/Hen Parties. You will find more than just a warm and friendly welcome. We pride ourselves on accommodating our guests every need. We are sure to provide you with everything you might need. We feature a Wine & Coffee Bar, a pool table, a wide selection of breakfast foods (including full English, vegetarian, Gluten Free, continental and a selection of cereals). We also offer high-quality pub-grub, We are a Smoke Free Property Including electronic and vaping. Our rooms are comfortably furnished, classically decorated and serviced daily. all are en-suite with hospitality trays and complimentary toiletries. Our values are quality, service, comfort and value. We cater for singles And couples only. Limited public parking is available on street (Not Guaranteed). Open to non-residents and a member of the tourist board. For the comfort and convenience of the majority of our guests this hotel is a child free zone, (Age 18 + Only) Accordingly we reserve the right to decline entry to persons below the age of 18. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phildene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing