We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay!”
Review of Phildene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phildene
Ranked #113 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very nice stay!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We are a couple who stayed here for a long weekend while seeing a festival in Blackpool. Right from the start John and Lorna were very friendly and welcoming, even staying up to let us check in at our very late arrival time. Room was clean and nicely decorated, with a very comfortable bed. During our stay the staff were exceedingly friendly, warm and helpful. The breakfast is probably the best you can get in Blackpool - all organic, local, fresh and delicious. There is a nice quiet atmosphere at the people running the hotel. Thank you so much, will definitely come again!

Stor klem fra Karl og Maiken.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maiken A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Hi Karl & Maiken, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on tripadvisor.com it was a pleasure meeting you both and we look forward to your next visit. Klem og kyss fra John og Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    27
    4
    7
    9
See reviews for
26
112
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is 4th or 5th time we've stayed here when we come up as a family to visit Blackpool. John and Lorna always very welcoming. We've probably stayed in most of the rooms over our visits. Whilst not always the largest, they are spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Breakfasts are superb with plenty of choice and very good quality ingredients. Sets you up for a full day in Blackpool very well. Perfectly placed just back off the front (so not noisy at night) and half way between Pleasure Beach and tower. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Folks, it was great to see you all again this year, we always love to get feedback from our guests, hope to see you all soon Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just got back from the New Phildene hotel in Blackpool, had such a great break with my fiancé. The staff were some of the best I have ever come across. Very friendly, helpful and knew so much about all the events going on in Blackpool while we were staying. The room was great, we had free chocolates (A box) which went down so well and also free wine it really was a nice touch.

The breakfast choice was great and lots of it using local foods and really well cooked. It really was a great place and if you are going to Blackpool you should choose this hotel.

Room Tip: The superior rooms were outstanding for the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Peter, Glad to here you had a great stay with us this weekend, and thank you for spending the time to review your stay on Tripadvisor.com, your comments are appreciated, we hope to see you both again soon Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great location, very clean. Our room was small but cosy and had everything we needed. Breakfast was amazing! Definitely stay again. Very welcoming staff.... even checked out and was given a hug!! Thank you

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Charlotte, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Tripadvisor.com, It was a pleasure meeting you both and we hope to see you again soon Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Couldn't fault a thing stayed in the superior double very clean and well decorated, beds were really comfy, John and lorna were lovely couldn't get better hosts, very close to the beach, will definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Bethanie, thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on tripadvisor.com, it was a pleasure meeting you both and we hope to see you again soon. Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent overnight stay.

Always available and no task to small..

When it came to breakfast time...

Absolutely loads to choose from... Never seen so many variations to choose for breakfast.

The bar is probably one of the cheapest we have ever had.

Bed was comfy, slept like a log so must have been.

They even have a relationship with a local business to provide secure parking for £5 overnight... When I say secure.. It has a locked gate with about a 20 car parking option about 700 yards away.. which in my eyes it definitely ok for peace of mind when parking.

The wide even commented, we don't need to stop at premier Inn anymore now we have found a hotel at the same price but with free breakfast and secure parking.

Thanks to John & Lorna for your hospitality.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank F19AJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Allan & Tracey, Thanks for spending the time to review your stay with us on Trip advisor.com your comments are appreciated Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is the second time I have stayed here, and it could not get any better, John & Lorna made us feel so special and almost part of the family. For a Child/Stag and Hen free stay in Blackpool there can be nowhere else to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNickW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewPhildene, Owner at Phildene, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Hi Charles & Sarah Thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us on tripadvisor.com, it was a pleasure seeing you both again and we look forward to your next visit. Regards John & Lorna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,060 reviews
1.0 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Redstone
The Redstone
#38 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#3 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
0.8 mi away
FouRooms Blackpool
FouRooms Blackpool
#1 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phildene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phildene

Property: Phildene
Address: 5-7 St. Chads Road, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England (Formerly New Phildene Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Phildene 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Phildene Blackpool is graded by visit Britain as 4 Star Silver Award (Guest Accommodation) with a visit Britain breakfast award, We are Ideally located 25 metres from Blackpool seafront, opposite St Chad's Headland. Just a short walk from the centre of Blackpool and all major attractions. Perfectly suited for both business and leisure guests as we do not accept children (Child Free Property), or Stag/Hen Parties. You will find more than just a warm and friendly welcome. We pride ourselves on accommodating our guests every need. We are sure to provide you with everything you might need. We feature a Wine & Coffee Bar, a pool table, a wide selection of breakfast foods (including full English, vegetarian, Gluten Free, continental and a selection of cereals). We also offer high-quality pub-grub, We are a Smoke Free Property Including electronic and vaping. Our rooms are comfortably furnished, classically decorated and serviced daily. all are en-suite with hospitality trays and complimentary toiletries. Our values are quality, service, comfort and value. We cater for singles And couples only. Limited public parking is available on street (Not Guaranteed). Open to non-residents and a member of the tourist board. For the comfort and convenience of the majority of our guests this hotel is a child free zone, (Age 18 + Only) Accordingly we reserve the right to decline entry to persons below the age of 18. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Phildene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing