We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oak Lea Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Lea Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oak Lea Hotel
Ranked #44 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Oak Lea Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

This is the 1st time we have stayed at the Oak Lea & we would definatley stay again.

While the beds were typical hotel beds, the staff were very helpful & friendly & the rooms were clean & tidy.

We booked for bed, breakfast & evening meal & we weren't disappointed with the food & their breakfast buffet puts more expensive hotels to shame. The evening meal was a reasonable choice from 3 options & the staff accomodated any slight changes no problem.

Overall the Oak Lea was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
HELLO!!
Thanks for taking time to leave such a nice review.

I am pleased to know, as a first time guest, you will return.

Hope to see you again.

Many thanks, from all the team at the Oak Lea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    40
    17
    10
    13
See reviews for
48
40
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Took a coach party to the hotel on Friday 14th October 2011.

Have stayed at this hotel for the past 6 years.

The hotel never fails, in providing a excellent base for my tour. Great location, clean tidy well appointed rooms with everything you need, and they are kept to a high standard.

I have stayed in over 200 of hotels and the oaklea has always been in the top 5!! So that I think speaks for itself!!

John and Andrew are all ways on hand to assist you.

The barman is very good at his job and this impressed my passengers!

The service in the dining room was excellent.

I have not had one complaint with regards to my weekend away.
Everyone enjoyed themselves so much that passengers have started booking on for next year.

So Andrew, John, Matt, Kirsty, Gemma and Sandra keep up the hard work.. You are all stars in making my passengers really enjoy themselves!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin-Macduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2011
THANK YOU!!!

Thank you SO much for your wonderful report!

I am really pleased everything went well for you.
Delighted you had no complaints, even more delighted
that your passengers are booking for next year already!!

Thanks again for taking the time to leave such a great review.
Look forward to seeing you all again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peterlee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

breakfast was lovely. Hotel appeared nice on arrival, clean reception room was a good size. Just a couple of moans arrived on Friday left monday Still waiting for the bed to be made room to be cleaned. On Saturday we had no clean towels the dirty ones were still in the shower as advised to do We Complained Saturday night and the barman got us clean ones. Sunday went out and came back dirty towels from Friday still in shower We complained to the owner who half heartedly appologised and sent barman with clean towel and he emptied the bin and replenished the teabags no coffee. If your face fits and a repeat guest you will be fine.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawnpeterlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2011
I am pleased you have so many positive comments!
Quote.....Breakfast was lovely, Hotel appeared nice on arrival, reception clean,
bedroom a good size.
Bedroom must have been clean on arrival, as you never said other wise.

I did apologise your room was missed during your stay.
As explained, housekeeping staff had missed your room.
I am in the process of sorting this problem, to ensure this doesn't happen again,
and may I say, has rarely hapened before.

As you have said, we get MANY repeat guests,
and all guests are treated the same.
Saying, quote, if your face fits you will be fine' is unfair.

On booking, you never requested to be near the lift.
But on your arrival, we noted one in your party had mobility issues,
so we discussed this with you, and changed one of your rooms.
We were full, so this involved 'juggling' rooms with other parties/guests.

I only mention the above, to point out we try to help everyone where
we can, we NEVER operate a 'if your face fits policy'!

Thanks for staying with us.
Hope we see you again, you would be most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

The Oak Lea has set my standard for my next hotel holiday. The Staff were curteous helpful and even when busy took time to answer any question. The accomodation was clean and although not spacious was adequate for the need. My wife and I look forward to staying there again when time allows another break.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
THANK YOU for taking the time to leave your nice comments!
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again.
Many thanks!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

We chose this Hotel for our short 4 day break based on the reviews.We were a group of 3 adults and we were given a Family room at the rear of the Hotel looking out to a back lane We were all disappointed as nothing about the Hotel reflected what we read or saw on the web site.
The room was very un-inviting with well used bedding and carpet. The ensuite was tiny, the shower tray was marked and looked grubby, a well used shower curtain and an extractor fan that could not function properly with the amount of dust that was visible on it. Just as well we are all average sized people because we had to maneuver ourselves in order to enter the bathroom and close the door.
The breakfast was a buffet style and although edible the amount of grease lying at the bottom of the Bacon container was not nice, we have had much nicer in other Hotels in Blackpool.
The Hotel location (short walking distance to Town and Promenade.and some members of the staff) were the only good points of our stay,
We have stayed in smaller and much better run Hotels in Blackpool.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kireland09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay.

I can not understand how anything looked 'well used'
Although I am not sure what you mean by 'well used'.
As in the room which you stayed, nothing is torn, damaged,
stained etc. In Fact most things are almost new.
Even the en-suite is less than 3 years old.
New flat screen TV, with DVD in that family room.

The room is large, with 2 windows, making a bright, airy room.

The view is not wonderful, but it is as good as any other in Blackpool!
We all have a service road at the rear.

Shower curtains are white, and changed for each new guest, so again
don't understand the 'well used'

But the main thing that upsets me, if you 3 ladies were so
unhappy that you put your views on such a public platform,
why didn't you tell us, while you were here,
so we could have tried to put some things right?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

the oak lea is situated on the albert road in blackpool the rooms are clean and tidy and the food is very good. john the manager is a very pleasent man to deal with nothing was to much trouble he mixes very well with evry one.would recomend to any one that wants a hotel that is near the center of backpool for the shops and theaters.mrand mrs dunne

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carricklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
Thank You!! We are so pleased you had a good stay, here at the Oak Lea Hotel.
We hope everyone feels at home!

Hope to see you again soon,
and thanks again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

I stayed here with my mum for 2 nights, room was clean and tidy. The hotel entrace was welcoming although carpet could do with being renewed. The breakfast was lovely, buffet style, large choice of cereals and cooked breakfast items. The evening meal was also lovely, with a choice of 3 starters, mains and sweets. Would recommend for a short break and would stay again, parking could be a problem unless you are a Blue Disabled badge holder as you can park for free on the street outside hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whiskeytash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2011
THANK YOU for taking time to say good things about us!

I am pleased you had a good time.
More importantly, pleased to hear you enjoyed the food,
and was happy with cleanliness, all important on Holiday!

Hope to see you again soon!!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#30 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hotel
Melville Hotel
#62 of 72 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#55 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#43 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#53 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Lea Hotel

Property: Oak Lea Hotel
Address: 83-87 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Lea Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular town centre Hotel. Offering clean, comfortable accommodation.Good food, friendly relaxed atmosphere.Two bars, one offering entertainment some evenings.Coach parties, Dancers, Seniors, all most welcome!The Oak Lea Hotel and Blackpool, the winning combination! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing