We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired hotel, nice staff. A bit grubby in places.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Lea Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oak Lea Hotel
Ranked #43 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Sale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Tired hotel, nice staff. A bit grubby in places.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Not the cleanest hotel I have stayed in but we had a quiet room. The TV didn't work, they did try to fix it but didn't manage to while we were there. Staff very pleasant good central location but no parking at the hotel and local secure car park appears to have closed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi.

I am really sorry to learn, of your disappointment.
I am surprised as you stayed as part of group. Some of
whom have come to the Oak Lea for 5 years.

I can't understand why you had not said something to us while you were staying here.
As your sweeping comment of "grubby in places" does not help us solve
any problems you could have noticed.

Just 48 hours after you left, we have had our annual Visit Britain inspection.
Visit Britain stayed with us on Tuesday, after you left on the Sunday.
His comments were "you are a top end 2 Star Hotel rating" and also said
"standard of cleanliness is very good"

I hope you decide to stay with us again, and If you do,
please give us the chance to put things right for you!

Thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    40
    17
    10
    13
See reviews for
48
40
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

friendly place very comfortable bed. spotless clean rooms and good breakfast . great staff look after us very well. wifi very good in the bar and lobby area .no wifi in the rooms but no problem .would stay there here next time im in blackpool.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Hello Frank M!

Thank you for your kind review.

So pleased with everything you said!
Really delighted to learn you had a pleasant stay.

Hopefully we will see you again.

Thanks again from all the team at the Oak Lea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

myself and a colleague run a trip up to the oaklea , i think this will be our fifth time, we have a fantastic time john and andrew really welcome us and nothing is ever to much trouble,the shows and food are excellent, the rooms are clean and very comfortable,i would recommend the oaklea to any one visiting blackpool top hotel well done
L aural and hardy

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi Laurel and Hardy!!

Thank you for such a great review.

You all make the weekend! You are
a fantastic crowd! It is one of the weekends
we enjoy as much as you!

We appreciate the work you both put into running
your trip, and appreciate you returning to us.

Many thanks, and look forward to seeing you all again,
From us all at the Oak Lea Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

figured it was about time i left a review , just been for my third year at the oaklea and would highly recommend to anyone , rooms great , staff great ,ive been coming to blackpool for 11 years now and changed hotels 3 times before finally found the oaklea and have to say your now stuck with me ,:-) see you next year from sonia and Ethan xx ps: hi mary :-)

Room Tip: room 19 and 20 lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 961sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Hi Sonia and Ethan!

Thank you SO much for your really lovely review.
It is appreciated you taking the time to leave this.

I'm Very pleased we are 'stuck with you!'
Long may we be!

All your comments are so kind.

Thanks again, from us all at the Oak Lea Hotel
Look forward to seeing you again!
P.S. Mary says Hi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walsall, west midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Where to start!?! Upon entering the Oak Lea we had a fantastic welcome which was carried on for the rest of the stay. The food was excellent; the help yourself breakfast so you could have as much or little as you wanted. The rest of the meals were well cooked, by Chef John and his team, and were hot and tasted lovely. The xmas day lunches of piece Salmon in a Prawn and dill Sauce or Turkey both tasted delicious (My daughter and I had the salmon, my husband the turkey). The rest of the meals were up to the same standard, from the first to the last Even the buffets were a delight to eat and there was plenty of food for all. The xmas gifts from the hotel were gorgeous. As for Mary and John, what can I say? You kept us all entertained, never a dull moment. The attitude of all the staff, both front of house and behind the scenes was that nothing was too much trouble. If there was a problem or query that needed to be seen to, it was done as soon as possible and didn't detract from the enjoyment of the stay. I'm proud to say that we've booked up for next year and can't wait to see those we now consider friends, not just staff

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bez15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hi.....

What a superb review! Thank you so much!

We are all thrilled you had such a good time,
your compliments are all so much appreciated.

We do thank you for trusting us to look after you at Christmas,
we realise its a special time for eveyone.

A huge thank you for booking again for Christmas 2014

Thanks again, and see you soon!
Best wishes from all at the Oak Lea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Arrived 23rd dec for xmas and from the moment we arrived the fantastic service from all the staff made it 1 of the best christmases we have ever had and the 1st one away from home. We dont know how the staff keep going after all the hours they all put in, but I would like some of what they take!! The food was terrific, the entertainment was out of this world. John & Mary a bit nutty but made xmas extra special as we have not had a brill year, we made the right choice picking the Oak Lea and have booked for next year. Made some new friends who are also coming back next year. One word for the hotel WOW !!! Glyn & Wendy Thomas sot.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
HELLO!!

Thank you SO much for your lovely review.
I am delighted you had such a good Christmas,
we realise it is a special time of year for everyone, and we
want eveyone to have a great time.

John and Mary.....a bit nutty! thats a bit under stated!

A big thank you for booking again for Christmas 2014!
It is appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Thanks from us all at the Oak Lea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed on a Turkey and Tinsel Monday to Friday. Great atmosphere, Santa came! friendly staff hello to Mary and John . Good food especially the steak. Hotel is right in middle of town and near front so handy for everywhere Stayed with a coach and a nice few days. Hope to be back next year.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
HELLO!

Thanks for your lovely review.

We are so pleased you had a nice few days with us.

Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Regards from us all at the Oak Lea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#32 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hotel
Melville Hotel
#62 of 72 in Blackpool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#55 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alumhurst Hotel
Alumhurst Hotel
#45 of 72 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#53 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Lea Hotel

Property: Oak Lea Hotel
Address: 83-87 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 72 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Lea Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular town centre Hotel. Offering clean, comfortable accommodation.Good food, friendly relaxed atmosphere.Two bars, one offering entertainment some evenings.Coach parties, Dancers, Seniors, all most welcome!The Oak Lea Hotel and Blackpool, the winning combination! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing