We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time and probably the last”
Review of Oak Lea Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blackpool
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oak Lea Hotel
Ranked #46 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First time and probably the last”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have just returned from 4 days at the OakLea We did not find the staff at all welcoming and on one occasion one of the cleaners was very rude when i was trying to use the lift. oh dear the rooms are quite small but the real problem in the rooms was the fact that the toilet is only a matter of about 6/8 inches from the shelf at the front of the shower cubicle so really it was a case of having to sit sideways with feet out door. The towels were quite thin but everything was clean The bed was never made in the 3 mornings we were there!
I asked for an extra pillow and was told i would get one if he could find one. When I asked about decaff coffee I was told the hotel did not do decaff but that the coop was just round the corner and I could buy a jar there
The hotel was definitely very clean and the food was excellent Just a shame that an ufriendly host and a few little things spoiled it a bit for my friend and I

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Hi.

Thanks for your review.

I am very pleased you thought the Hotel was very clean,
and the food excellent. Both are very important in a Hotel,
we do try to have happy guests!

However I am sorry at to learn you thought our staff not
welcoming. It is something we usually get really good comments on.

I can agree that a couple of our single rooms aren't large,
But this is why we charge NO supplements on these, ever.
Which I am sure you appreciate is great value. The vast majority
of single guests do comment on this as a good thing.
We do have double/twin rooms which can be booked with a
small supplement for single occupancy.

I hope you do decide to stay with us again, but if not,
thanks for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    41
    18
    10
    13
See reviews for
49
40
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have stayed at The Oak Lea for many many years and I should have left a review by now so here goes.

Staying at The Oak Lea means only a short walk to town or The Winter Gardens where I attend an annual magicians convention each year. The staff at the hotel are always friendly and have a nice friendly and warm welcome for you. The breakfast is a self service buffet type and suits me fine.

The rooms are perfectly adequate and warm. A very good and cheap safe parking area is not too far away located above Wilcos.

I am very satisfied with the hotel, management and staff and have no hesitation to keep booking year upon year to stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms are great as there is a lift to all floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
HELLO!!

THANK YOU!

What a lovely review.
We do appreciate you taking the time.

It is a nice weekend, the Magicians, we always enjoy it too!
Love seeing the tricks so close up!

But thanks again for staying with us, and to keep returning,
it is so important to us that guests do return.

Best wishes, and regards from us all at the Oak Lea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just like to thank John, Andrew and staff for an excellent 4 day stay, as always.
Everywhere clean and tidy,tip top breakfast, only needed a small snack at lunch time.
Would recommend this hotel without hesitation.Long may it continue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kennysue1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
HELLO Guys!!

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

There is little I can say apart from, we intend
it to continue for a long while yet!!

Look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes from us all at the Oak Lea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have stayed here twice for the Blackpool Dance festival due to it's proximity to Winter Gardens (two short blocks to the back entrance) and was very happy both times. The rooms are small and the linens thin, but they were clean and the price and service was outstanding. This is not the place to stay if you want large rooms with plush towels and a full service hotel, but the great price included a full English breakfast. The bar was open for drinks from noon until past midnight. Everything we asked for was delivered promptly. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
HELLO!!

Thank you so much for your review.

Delighted you have stayed before, and would return.
Very pleased to learn you find the price and service outstsnding,
and you think the rooms are clean!

Hope to see you again.
Thank you from all at the Oak Lea Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I came here twice now for a coach trip with my granny and then boyfriend! The first time the room was okay but with a very small bathroom! But the second time the room was spacious and we only used it at night as we were out all day! The food was great in the mornings but at night not much variety! But all in all good value for money :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Channy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thanks for your review.

Pleased you feel we offer good value for money!

Sorry you felt there was not much choice at Dinner,
we do offer a choice of
3 starters, 3 main course, and 4 sweets daily.

We do hope you continue to visit us again.

Thank you, and kind regards, All at the Oak Lea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Just returned after spending Easter at the oak lea hotel had a lovely welcome can't fault anything wrong with the hotel. John and staff can't do enough for you. Always pleasant and very helpful. Andrew is always very accommodating we have been staying with them for 8 years wouldn't think of anywhere else. It's like home from home. Janice, Bernard and kian. Wales

Room Tip: All rooms are fab lift to all floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
HELLO GANG!!

Wow! What a lovely review. Thank you so much.

It does work both ways, you are a really nice family,
a pleasure to have you staying here!

Look firward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks again, All the gang at the Oak Lea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Returned last night after spending a BRILLIANT weekend, comfortable room, excellent food and friendly staff who cannot do enough for you!! A special thanks must go to Mary who is always smiling making everyone feeling good. This was our first time and it won't be the last. Eleanor and Sam Dundee

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elimae2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oakleahotel, Owner at Oak Lea Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
HELLO!!

Thank you SO much for your lovely review.
It really is appreciated.

That is great to hear that you intend to stay again!

Mary sends a smile! and thanks again from us all at the Oak Lea Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
Ruskin Hotel
Ruskin Hotel
#33 of 70 in Blackpool
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
Hotel Craig-Y-Don
#6 of 70 in Blackpool
719 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hotel
Melville Hotel
#62 of 70 in Blackpool
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#49 of 70 in Blackpool
1,041 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
The Royal Alexandra Hotel
#51 of 70 in Blackpool
285 reviews
2.0 mi away
Silversands Hotel
Silversands Hotel
#42 of 70 in Blackpool
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Lea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Lea Hotel

Property: Oak Lea Hotel
Address: 83-87 Albert Road, Blackpool FY1 4PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 70 Hotels in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Lea Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Popular town centre Hotel. Offering clean, comfortable accommodation.Good food, friendly relaxed atmosphere.Two bars, one offering entertainment some evenings.Coach parties, Dancers, Seniors, all most welcome!The Oak Lea Hotel and Blackpool, the winning combination! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing