We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fantastic meal and excellent service! 26th May 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fontana Italian Restaurant

La Fontana Italian Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 704 Restaurants in Blackpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Established for over 20 years, experience a true taste of Italy at La Fontana in their modern Italian Courtyard Restaurant, set beneath a twinkling starry night sky, complete with roof slates, decorative trellis and of course, La Fontana - the fountain after which the Restaurant is named! Enjoy the first class Italian cuisine & warm Mediterranean ambience brought to you by long-time owner Franco and his team of loyal, passionate staff.
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A fantastic meal and excellent service! 26th May 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

14 Of us "hens" booked into here for a meal and it was really really nice.
The food was gorgeous ( so were some of the waiters too which is always a bonus), staff were friendly, priced very reasonable.
What was really nice was that even though we were on a hen do and dressed up like minnie mouse we were still treated as normal people and it wasnt a case of "oooh here comes another Hen party"
Would definatly reccomend this place to anyone xxxx
even got a special hen do suprise from the dishy waiter x

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    628
    141
    47
    33
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a wonderful evening at the fontana!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012 via mobile

when we arrived it was about 9.30pm and there were no tables available. we had drinks at the bar and were served by a delightful lady that brought over menus and we ordered before we were seated. lovely atmosphere, lots of couples and familys. the restaurant is designed to look like youre eating outside under the stars with a lovely fountain feature.

it was about 20 mins before a table was available and well worth the wait. we ordered garlic bread, bruschetta, canneloni and some chilli pasta. all of the food was served in fast and was absoloutly delicious! the waiter was friendly and returned to our table a few times to refill our glasses. he kept on eye on the table without being annoying and coming over every 10 mins.

when dinner was finished the lady owner of the restaurant called us a cab and pointed out where the nearest cashpoint was. she even called the cab company again when they took a bit too long to arrive.

anyone looking for an italian in blackpool NEEDS to eat here. it made our trip special as it was our 2 year anniversary. exactly what we were looking for, romantic and special at a great price in a great location. would definatly return!





    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank patnel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Super restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We ate here and really cant fault the experience in any way. Staff were attentive and friendly without being over bearing, food was fresh and delicious. Very good value and well worth a visit.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickaboo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice food and service reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Me & my Mum visited prior to seeing Birds of a Feather at the Grand Theatre (3 minutes walk).
We had been going to another place but it was full so went here instead.
Very good food, £9.95 for 2 courses - pizzas lovely. Mum said house white wine was nice and I enjoyed Peroni on draft all reasonably priced.
Filling so no need for desert.
We will go again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lancslassPreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dundee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“40th birthday meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Very disapointed in this restaurant as we were told it was best in blackpool,There was 10 of us for a 40th birthday meal we phoned and confirmed twice yet when we all arrived on time we were sat in bar area for an hour waiting on our table and on being seated and complaining the head waiter then argued with me it was our fault !! so not a good begining food took ages and my main meal had been so microwaved it was stuck to sides of plate and burt on by this time i was to hungry to complain anymore would never go back and would not recomend it to anyone between staff attitude and food i was not a happy person.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DundeeShazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFontanaRestaurant, Owner at La Fontana Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Member

Your feedback is valuable to us. It allows us to improve where we might be falling short and we apologize for falling short of your expectations during your visit.

However, there is some clear confusion as to the facts, which we have given our account of in response to a review by another member of your party below ("food was good but service was poor" - Simone P, Manchester). It seems that an initial misunderstanding early on in your evening has given rise to an unfair and inaccurate account of your experience and we are sorry you have felt the need to fabricate and over-exaggerate scenarios in order to damage the reputation of the business, especially as this is your first review in 4 years of being a TripAdvisor Member.

My staff are committed to excellence in customer service, for which we have won awards, and approach each guest with a genuine kindness and willingness to serve.

This review is not a true reflection of the La Fontana experience; we would not have been established for 22 years and be Blackpool's only award-winning Restaurant if it were. As it is difficult for us to trust the validity of this review, we trust that the TripAdvisor community are able to differentiate between a truly genuine review versus one that may fabricate scenarios.

Franco
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fontana Italian Restaurant also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Bispham, Blackpool
 

Been to La Fontana Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing