We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!”
Review of Waverley Cafe

Waverley Cafe
Ranked #444 of 735 Restaurants in Blackpool
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Bury
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Visited this cafe on 29th March 2014 whilst in Blackpool for the weekend, what a mistake!
We ordered 2 cheeseburger meals with 1 coffee and 1 tea and had to pay straight away. When our drinks arrived they tasted like dishwater, the coffee was just like milky water and the tea hadn't even seen a teabag, so as you can imagine we weren't exactly expecting much from the food...and we were right.
The food was utterly shocking, the chips were just deep fried cheap frozen chips and the burgers just tasted like cheap supermarket value branded rubbish that were flavourless, bland and as thin as pancakes, we only had a couple of mouthfulls, looked at each other and just thought 'let's just get out of here.' We just got up and left the food and walked out.
All round it was a truely terrible experience, the worst meal we've ever had and it cost us £11.60. This has to be the worst cafe in Blackpool and as the title says avoid like the plague!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidandAngelaBury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    1
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What Happened?”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We visit this place every year when we visit Blackpool and have done so for about 4 years now. We were tempted in by the delicious plethora of cakes on display outside. Up until now the food has always been pretty good until I tried their 'Fleetwood Fish & Chips' - All I can say is 'Where was the fish?'. If you take a children's portion and cut it in half, 4 mouthfuls and it was gone - not good for £8. Such a shame as it looks like they are aiming at 'One time only' visitors to Blackpool', make money and never see them again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank stimpouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of the better options!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

My family ate here during a day trip to Blackpool. The whole cafe is immaculately clean - including the spotless outdoor toilet out at the back! We didn't wait too long for our food, and when it arrived, we all thought our portions looked tiny. However, it was truly deceptive as we all felt full after eating. The quality of the food was very good and cooked perfectly. There was quite a large step up to get in so not perfect for wheelchair users, but, once inside, everywhere was flat and smooth. A good option if you're looking for quality rather than cheap.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayellbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great roasts”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I have always found that eating a roast in a restaurant/café/pub is never the same as a home cooked meal - until I visited the Waverley!
I had lamb and mint sauce, and enjoyed it so much that I went again a few days, and I shall be going every week from now on.
home cooked food just like my nana used to make, with friendly, fast service. very cheap too at £5 for a roast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leannespaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
2 reviews
“Absolutely disgusting”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Thought this place looked ok from the outside. Once settled inside and placing order the staff were certainly not thinking about customer service. The food ordered was absolutely disgusting staff were not bothered by complaints and disregarded the m. Never would I set foot in this place again.... Avoid at all costs

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank big-momma9096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waverley Cafe also viewed

Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 
Blackpool, Lancashire
Blackpool, Lancashire
 

Been to Waverley Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing