We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Marsden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marsden Hotel
Ranked #195 of 911 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly, relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Three adults & 3 teenagers stayed for one night. Had a day in the Pleasure Beach then headed back to the hotel bar for a few drinks before heading out for a meal (great Restaurant recommended by Steve). Steve, the owner is a really nice guy and made us feel very welcome. Got back to the hotel at around 11.00pm and he kept the bar open while we sat and watched TV for another hour. Got up next day to a great Full English breakfast. Nice friendly hotel and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Great location for Pleasure Beach with parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliotts5590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    35
    18
    8
    7
See reviews for
71
80
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

i stayed at the marsden hotel on the 12th march and it was great. the staff were so nice. and was worth value. Would stay again

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scottishboy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

As they say, you pay for what you get and I really wish I had taken note of the one other poor review on here before booking and paying for this hotel, as it summed up perfectly how I felt!

I can only say that we must have been in a totally different hotel from the the other reviewers on here!

I am sure the owners are lovely and friendly but we did not stay to find out. The room was small and I was expecting this but it stunk! Obviously heavy smokers had used it before and even with the windows open ,air freshener and plenty of shake and vac it still smelt awful!
The "en suite" was tatty and yuck and the cold water tap was running and could not turn it off. Dont think the room could have been updated for years and years and the wardrobe looked like it would fall over if you hung any clothes in it. The flat screen tv on the wall was smaller then my lap top screen.
Did feel bad to tell the owner that we would not be staying but am so happy that we did.My advice is do not pay for this hotel in advance, view it before making a payment!

There are plenty of other hotels to choose from of a much higher standard, for only a slightly higher price.
Yes I chose this hotel for the price AND because of the very positive reviews from this site and others and I feel totally amazed what others found " very good and excellent ! "

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Carolhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2010

We enjoyed a mon-fri break at this Hotel.At a real bargain price....
Steve and Karen are very helpful and friendly, especially when parking the car at the rear of Hotel as its a bit tricky and small...Our room was lovely and warm, bed comfortable, we slept like logs!
Hotel is in a quiet area but only a two minute walk from The Promonade.If you look out of top front bed room window with your neck at an angle....you can see casino, and South Pier.
The full English was HUGE..with all the usual trimmings.There was a choice of cereal also,and all was served piping hot and fresh.
An evening meal can be easily arranged just tell them what you want.
I would recommend this Hotel to family and friends, well done S&K Oh and Ron ......
Keep up the friendly atmosphere, we loved out stay Thanks
David and Mandy. Plymouth.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davyboy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

.My family came visiting me in Blackpool and i booked them into the marsden and i must say they thought it was one of the best and friendliest small hotels they have ever visited, steve and karen are really freindly and excellent with small children.
Thr breckfast was great and really large portions - the hotel is in a good location for families.
You could not find anywhere better.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ptaz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Fantastic hotel - steve and karen are wonderful - really friendly and helpful - the room was a good size and very clean.
Breakfast was just amazing.
The hotel is in a really good location, very close to the Pleasure Beach and a very nice area.
We have been to Blackpool a number of times but this is by far the friendliest and nicest hotel we have been to and will definitely be coming again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim14k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We booked this hotel over the phone and I am pleased we weren't asked for a deposit . We were offered room number 8 and after climbing three or four flights of stairs ( I have sciatica) we got to our room and we were horrified. The room was small, the decor was outdated and dull and the bedspread was very dingy. The wardrobe was a do it yourself job with the back dropping off and the shower room was grubby and so pokey you could hardly move. We decided no way could we stay there so we told the proprietor we had changed our minds and would not be staying. We then went for a look round and found alternative accomodation which we founf a lot better

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank tattytedderbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.6 mi away
Lyndene Hotel
Lyndene Hotel
#25 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#27 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,028 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Holmeleigh Hotel
The Holmeleigh Hotel
#126 of 911 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Berkswell Hotel Guesthouse
Berkswell Hotel Guesthouse
#475 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Villa Hotel
The Villa Hotel
#200 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Withnell Hotel
The Withnell Hotel
#314 of 911 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marsden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsden Hotel

Property: Marsden Hotel
Address: 15 Withnell Road, Blackpool FY4 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 911 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Marsden Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marsden Hotel has a relaxed and homely atmosphere, and we pride ourselves on our customer service.We are ideally situated adjacent to the Promenade, and within easy reach of the shops and a wide variety of entertainment, only a short journey from the Pleasure Beach, Sandcastle, the world famous Blackpool Tower and all the area’s piers and theatres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marsden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing