We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wembley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wembley
Ranked #533 of 913 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Thankfully we were only staying here one night otherwise we would've just walked out and went elsewhere, but all we needed was a simple bed for a night to sleep in. The room was filthy. Hairs and stains on the bedding. The shower base was so dirty, the carpets need a good hoover/cleaning, infact I didn't want to walk on it bare footed. The furniture was outdated, the paint on the walls looked old and dirty. The tv didn't work. The view into a disused building wasn't very ideal. There was a kettle and tea bags but were no cups for tea. The room was so tiny and despite it being my mother and I going we were given a queen sized bed to share instead of a twin room we booked. Doors don't feel very secure when locked. Looks nothing like the photos. Thought we'd go there based on these reviews, wish we had went with the negative reviews now! We couldn't get out quick enough.

The only positive was that it was pretty quiet when we were there, there was a hen party but they weren't a bother and we didn't hear them thankfully and it's in a decent location.

I'd only recommend this for a stag/hen party for over night where you'd be too drunk to care that you're sleeping in a dirty room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyShambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelby1502, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
im sorry u didnt enjoy your stay i did ask you if everything was okay you said yes the tv wasnt working as fault with ariel i am a budget hotel simple as for cleaning standards things have been rectified
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    41
    13
    9
    32
See reviews for
67
54
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

37 of us stayed here for the night this weekend (18thMay) and after reading the reviews we were expecting it to be dirty! When we got there the landlady handed out keys and as there was so many of us and all different size rooms she sorted it out so we were all happy with who we were sharing with and even offers extra room so some people Wernt cramped! The rooms were basic but for one night that's all we needed! Although some people in out group Wernt happy with there showers ect, the one in my room was clean so I can't comment on that! The bar was basic but had everyone's drink they wanted, we were quite noisy and some of us didn't get in from the night before until 7, and forgot our key we had to knock the foot and woke the landlady up but she was fine about this! So if your looking for 1/2nigjys stay of stay again! The only problem we had was sharing a room with 5 girls and it only had 1 mirror!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hsnjg-x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

This hotel is in serious need of a good clean and new bedding, carpets etc. The landlady is friendly and a nice person that needs help in Hotel management. It costs little to clean and keep clean to keep customers happy and to do it before the customers arrive, not wait for people to arrive and then for them complain. I hope and wish Michelle all the luck in the world to make a go of this place.......if she wants to build a good reputation. Would I return....that is very debatable. At this moment in time I do NOT think this place really deserves a rating.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Had a good weekend michelle the landlady is a top women very friendly rooms nice clean and tidy will be booking for bank holiday again very helpful on letting us no were to go even went out for a drink with her had such a laugh. C ya again soon tracienbudda x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tracie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We got there around 9:30 and was greeted by the landlady Michelle at the door who showed us to our room in which we was greeted with a nice complementary bottle of wine and a card due to it being our first anniversary which was really nice and sweet of her to do so as we had never met before the room was nice and clean and a sea view room as requested which was very nice we were made to feel very welcome by Michelle and Steve Michelle is lovely down to earth genuine woman and we had a great four day stay haven't laughed so much in a while she made our stay very pleasurable and we would recommend to friends and family and we will be back soon made a good friend thanks alot Dave and Carol x

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dghefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were expecting worse after reading some reviews on here but we were given a warm welcome on arrival by shell. The rooms were basic but fairly clean, ensuite and with sea view! Thanks for the continued service of vodka and jagerbombs throughout the night, the dance off and not charging us for pulling down the curtains in room 11!! Will see you again in the summer what a little gem! X

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Well wen we arrived we was shone our room we was very happy with was clean and comfiest beds we av stopped in in Blackpool . We forgot to pack our shampoo and Michelle sorted us some out and asked if everythin was ok .. Very friendly and helpfull .. Michelle was brill with my girls and Evan ad a game or 2 of twisters with them .. We will deffo book again ... Karen Timmy and girls xx

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazandtimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#54 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Styles Blackpool
Ibis Styles Blackpool
#33 of 72 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
1.6 mi away
The President Hotel
The President Hotel
#46 of 72 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cowley Hotel
Cowley Hotel
#717 of 913 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lichfield Hotel
Lichfield Hotel
#161 of 913 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynwood Hotel
Lynwood Hotel
#329 of 913 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wembley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wembley

Property: The Wembley
Address: 275 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #533 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wembley 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Wembley where a warm welcome awaits old and new customers. We look forward to meeting you . Hello to all the wembley has been taken over from the 1st oct 2013 by myself and Martin . We offer great affordable accommodation . The hotel sits central prom close to all amenities and tram stops lovely sea views . The wembley is a 15 bedroomed en suite hotel offering tea/coffee facilities flat screen free view showing tvs .Central heating . Large licensed bar consisting of bench seating and comfortable sofas . Looking across to the Irish Sea . We have a separate dinning area offering home cooked meals including traditional English breakfast . We strive to make you stay an enjoyable one and do our utmost to be the best at what we do . We cater for families couples and larger groups if needed . We offer a home from home atmosphere in a clean safe environment . Let us help show you all that Blackpool has to offer and make your stay one you will never forget . So take a look and we look forward to seeing you Jackie and Martin We now have a new modern dinning area. The hard work is paying off and thanks to all the support of customers old and new :) Unfortunately we do not have a private car park but parking is available on the sea front all year at a chargable rate 7.50 for 24 hours . You may alos park free on side street if space available. Many thanks :} ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Wembley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing