We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canny hotel”
Review of The Wembley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wembley
Ranked #508 of 863 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed with my partner and we had an amazing time staff were wonderful the owners were brilliant can t fault them at all and great fun to chat to the drink on arrival was greatly received the rooms were comfy and clean the food was nice good hangover cure lol on departure we had some great entertainment on the prom the scouse humor was classical. Hope to see you again in the very near future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Degeneration1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie b, Guest Relations Manager at The Wembley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

thank you so much for your recent review . we do our best to make your stay feel like hiome from home . we do try to have a good laugh and make all our guests involved . laughing at the thought of my breaky being a good hang over cure .. glad you enjoyed it . do hope we will see you again soon and you will see further changes as time goes on with up dating thanks once again Jackie (scouse) lol and martin :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

Not a very welcoming entrance ,stale smell,old fashioned decor.No reception ,checked in at the bar.The owner was scruffy,we know we didn't book a 5star hotel,but expected better.fFirst impressions count ,room small ,clean ,bathroom too small ,decor poor ,view good ,50p for more milk etc !!.Told to muster at 5to9 for breakfast thought we were back at school ! Breakfast not to bad but had been prepared well in advanced . Needs a refresh all over .Could not have a drink at the bar in the evening because we weren't allowed to use our bank card !!No we would not be back or recommend to anyone .We felt that we didn't fit in somehow.We are in this trade so know a thing or two of how it should be !

Room Tip: Don't go .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carole w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie b, Guest Relations Manager at The Wembley, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hello Carol so sorry to hear you did not fit in at the Wembley . as with previous reviews we have never had this problem before as stated on the main introduction we have only taken over on the 1st October 2013 and we are making efforts to update but without taking away the amazing feel and feed back we have had since opening . I am so shocked at the comments made as a direct opinion of my partner and really do think you need to adjust your way of insulting people .all your negative comments could have been addressed at time of booking and we would have gladly given you your money back as the last thing all of the wonderful staff and family need is a bad atmosphere in the hotel as it is our home as well . we do not claim to be any star let alone 5 star but have from other wonderful guests been given a wonderful rating both here and other sites . it is obvious to me that you wish to stay 5 star but without the added cost . we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast as we do get a lot of wonderful comments about the 5 cereals with offer plus preserves and un limited tea and coffee . plus a delicious cooked breakfast . so thank you .
yes we do charge for extra tea coffee ect if the plentiful complimentary tray is used within a couple hours of anyones stay . at a small cost as we are running a business not helping peoples camping trips :) as for small rooms we have 16 en suited rooms which we do not advertise as ballrooms but somewhere clean and safe to relax in Blackpool . as for card payment on a bar tab under 5.ooGBP my partner would refuse use of card .
so Carol you stated in your review you are in the trade ? if I had realised the hotel inspector was visiting you no what I would not have changed a thing as past reviews reflect the real Wembley hotel . so thank you once again and most grateful you would never stay again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

me and my disabled partner got there to be greeted with a nice shot in a glass of energy drink which was very nice :) perfect hosts made us all feel very welcome plus most guests were in the bar drinking together having a laugh i think mainly due to how welcoming the owners are.Yes i could possibly point out a few faults with the room but as i was told they didnt really use the room we stayed in its pointless, plus the overall experience from the awesome mangers and the laughs we had more than made up for these plus the hotel is still being upgraded but i would 100% go back and recommend to any one i know FANTASTIC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guystonier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie b, Guest Relations Manager at The Wembley, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hello everyone
thankyou all again for your wonderful words . we love having you all stay and the atmosphere is amazing when you all stay , we look forward to seeing you all very soon and thank you so much for all your honest and positive words .. ps hope breakfast was ok sunday hahaha and ask mum does she want a shot hahah see ya soon xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We came here in febuary this year for our wedding anniversary and had a brill time. The managment are realy welcoming and good fun. So we just went back with some family members for the weekend and again had a lovely time. We will defo be booking again. :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie b, Guest Relations Manager at The Wembley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

hello everyone am so glad you love it at the Wembley we love having you all and looking forward to plenty of good times in the future thank you for all your comments xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Needed a room on 3rd May, luckily they had a room at short notice, sea view, reasonable price on a bank holiday weekend too. Really hospitable and upbeat management, clean and tidy B&B which we will be visiting again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank thefoodies2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie b, Guest Relations Manager at The Wembley, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you so much for all your lovely words we take reviews very serious it helps us to improve . So glad you enjoyed your experience here at the wembley . As people are aware we only really opened jan this year 2014 . And we thank all our customers for all there support and we strive to be even better as time goes on thank you so much and do hope to see you all again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I visited the Wembley hotel with my girlf and parents. Overall fantastic for what we paid. 235 for 2 double rooms for 2 nights with breakfast. Met with a lovely welcome drink.

Rooms 9 + 10 - the rooms we had were front facing and had lovely views of the beach. The beds were so comfortable. Rooms were adequate and served its purpose. Room 9 was on the small side but was made aware of this when reservation was made.

Breakfast - lovely and plentiful. Food was hot and plenty of choice. Breakfast only served until 9.30.
Would great if a little later.

Host and staff - very polite and couldn't do enough to please. Hotel has outdoor seating area.

The hosts would keep the bar open for as long as you need. Very attentive.

Brilliant location near the north end of the promenade.

Thank you

kelly and Emma

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank kellynEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie b, Public Relations Manager at The Wembley, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

thank you so much for your recent review . we are trying to improve in anyway we can to make our guests feel welcome here at the Wembley . we enjoy getting feed back from our guests . we enjoyed having a wonderful easter break with all our customers . thank you once again for your wonderful comments . jackie :)

ps we central pier lol and am made up ya enjoyed ya breaky :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed here on Saturday 8th Feb with my Dad and Sister, we were greeted at the hotel by Martin who had his own concocted Bella Bombs(i think this is the correct name lol) waiting as an arrival drink which was a really nice touch! This place is a work in progress after hearing the state it was acquired in by Martin and Jackie back in October but am sure when finished will be great. Will hopefully be returning later in the year and would recommend this place to anyone! Thanks very much for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riri2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackie b, Guest Relations Manager at The Wembley, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments . We look forward to seeing you all again . Hope mum gets better soon . Thanks once again Martin and Jackie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 73 in Blackpool
4,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Denville Hotel Blackpool
Denville Hotel Blackpool
#528 of 863 in Blackpool
39 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lark Inn
The Lark Inn
#191 of 863 in Blackpool
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#53 of 863 in Blackpool
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lichfield Hotel
Lichfield Hotel
#231 of 863 in Blackpool
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cowley Hotel
Cowley Hotel
#678 of 863 in Blackpool
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wembley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wembley

Address: 275 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #508 of 863 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £44 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wembley 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Wembley where a warm welcome awaits old and new customers. We look forward to meeting you . Hello to all the wembley has been taken over from the 1st oct 2013 by myself and Martin . We offer great affordable accommodation . The hotel sits central prom close to all amenities and tram stops lovely sea views . The wembley is a 15 bedroomed en suite hotel offering tea/coffee facilities flat screen free view showing tvs .Central heating . Large licensed bar consisting of bench seating and comfortable sofas . Looking across to the Irish Sea . We have a separate dinning area offering home cooked meals including traditional English breakfast . We strive to make you stay an enjoyable one and do our utmost to be the best at what we do . We cater for families couples and larger groups if needed . We offer a home from home atmosphere in a clean safe environment . Let us help show you all that Blackpool has to offer and make your stay one you will never forget . So take a look and we look forward to seeing you Jackie and Martin We now have a new modern dinning area. The hard work is paying off and thanks to all the support of customers old and new :) Unfortunately we do not have a private car park but parking is available on the sea front all year at a chargable rate 7.50 for 24 hours . You may alos park free on side street if space available. Many thanks :} ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Wembley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing