We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back”
Review of The Wembley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Wembley
Ranked #511 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2010

I have recently returned from a family break at the wembley hotel in Blackpool. I really enjoyed it room was clean and comfy. Staff were very helpful and friendly and even gave us advice on where to go in blackpool. How much of a bonus after a busy day sightseeing with the children to return back to friendly welcome and a cinema witha family film on...
We are looking forward to returning to the Wembley when the lights are on, if not for the lights for the lovely breakfast.
highly recommended. See you soon
Mr ans Mrs Ryder Stockport.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna1981xx, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2010

Thank you for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure having you all here and we hope to see you againg soon. Many Thanks Donna & Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2010

My husband. myself and little girl of 2 and half, travelled with family to stay at this hotel to celebrate my Mum & Dad's Golden Wedding Anniversary.

What a good choice!!!!

Donna & Matt were very welcoming and could not do enough for us. A buffet together with decorations was also arranged at a small fee , to celebrate the event.

The lounge was great for my daughter to run around in and even had a WII console to 'play on' <<well she tried LOL ! (Think we enjoyed playing on that just as much) We thoroughly enjoyed sitting at the window having a laugh together with the Karaoke which was kindly arranged for us.

No time limits on our nights in and a well equiped bar. ;o)

Would certainly recommend to family and friends should they require that personal touch and a lovely sea view position.

Sincere thanks to the owners Donna & Matt. xx

Louise Foulds

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fouldslouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna1981xx, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2010

Thank you for your lovely comments it was a pleasure having you all here :o) we hope to see you again in the future. Many Thanks Donna & Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Me and hubby stayed at the wembley Hotel for a week end This is our second time we have stayed. the first time we brought our kids. The family rooms was great the kids loved it they had entertaiment and a game console which they could play on. Donna and Matts kids got on well with other children too. Our kids cant wait to go there again.Donna and Matt were very friendly and welcoming. You couldnt ask for better people If there was anything you wanted doing or needed anything extra they would go out there way to do it.. We are going back in October for Halloween which was fantastic last year.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toggs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna1981xx, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2010

Thank you so much for your comments we are glad that you enjoyed both your stays and look forward to seeing you all again in a few weeks. :o) Many Thanks Donna & Matthew xXx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

stayed at the wembley for four nights with my two girls aged 6 and 2, very clean hotel room could do with some updating but is by nomeans the worse ive stayed in and it was spottlessly clean and the view was stunning. bar area was very clean and moden with well priced drinks and a wii and films for the kids. cant fault the couple in any way keep up the good work and hope to see you next year

the hanson family

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanson-family48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna1981xx, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2010

Thank you very much for your comments we are glad you all had a good time and we hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks Donna & Matthew. :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We were greated by the friendly couple that run this hotel however, room was below an acceptable standard.

We had traveled down straight from work so just wanted a chilled out evening but found we had no hot water, the room was tatty (wall paper hanging off and rusty nails holding the lino around the shower cubicul) and it didn't feel clean at all.

We didn't sleep at all through the night as the bed was very uncofortable, as i am pregnant i found it extremely difficult to move due to the condition of the bed! We ended up going to a different hotel which, was much better.

I don't know whether they just stuck us in one of the worst rooms but i definately feel i completely wasted £110.00! I would definately not recommend this hotel....... :o(

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachandaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna1981xx, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are sorry that you were unhappy with your room. You told us that the reason you were leaving was because you were poorly, had you told us that their was any problems we would have done our very best to resolve them and swap your room if you wished but you told us that everything was great? The room has a little bit of wall paper coming off near the window, this is a family room and a child has done this recently, as soon as this room is free for a couple of weeks we have every intention of redecorating, infact we pointed it out to you upon arriaval and appologised for it. I have no idea what the lino comment was about, it is stappled down if that's what you mean. The room is certainlty not one of our worst rooms it is a lovely sea view room. Our website clearly states that we are not a fancy 5* hotel we are a simple small B&B, the bed is very comfortable to eveyone els who has slept in it, you are heavily pregnant and I do remember what that is like, it is hard to get comfy especialy in a bed that is not your own.
You are more than welcome to return anytime.
Many Thanks
Donna & Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

stayed at the Wembley 12th -16th august with my grandson Joshua,turned up at hotel without booking and Matt was great sorting a room for us. Matt and Donna are a lovely couple they work really hard.make you feel really welcome.This hotel is great if you have children i look forward to returning.
p,s sorry never moved bed back

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missP21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna1981xx, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2010

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and you are welcome back anytime. :o) Many Thanks Donna & Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

1 adult and 2 young children stayed in this hotel and it was the warmest and friendliest hotel i have ever stayed in. Our hosts Donna and Matt cared for our ever day needs. This hotel was very clean and food delicious. Our room had a sea-view and was everything we needed during our stay. Location excellent and right on prom. A must for any families as there is a cinema in the lounge and a wii so the kids will never get bored if the weather is bad or you just want to chill! Cant say there is anything i disliked about this hotel. The hosts are totally dedicated to this excellent Hotel. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gills2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna1981xx, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2010

Thank you for your lovelly comments. you and your girls are welcome back back anytime, we hope to see you again soon. Donna & Matt :o)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Balmoral Hotel
Balmoral Hotel
#52 of 73 in Blackpool
183 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lark Inn
The Lark Inn
#197 of 861 in Blackpool
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lichfield Hotel
Lichfield Hotel
#233 of 861 in Blackpool
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#53 of 861 in Blackpool
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wallace Hotel
Wallace Hotel
#460 of 861 in Blackpool
262 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cowley Hotel
Cowley Hotel
#695 of 861 in Blackpool
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wembley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wembley

Address: 275 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #511 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £47 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wembley 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Wembley where a warm welcome awaits old and new customers. We look forward to meeting you . Hello to all the wembley has been taken over from the 1st oct 2013 by myself and Martin . We offer great affordable accommodation . The hotel sits central prom close to all amenities and tram stops lovely sea views . The wembley is a 15 bedroomed en suite hotel offering tea/coffee facilities flat screen free view showing tvs .Central heating . Large licensed bar consisting of bench seating and comfortable sofas . Looking across to the Irish Sea . We have a separate dinning area offering home cooked meals including traditional English breakfast . We strive to make you stay an enjoyable one and do our utmost to be the best at what we do . We cater for families couples and larger groups if needed . We offer a home from home atmosphere in a clean safe environment . Let us help show you all that Blackpool has to offer and make your stay one you will never forget . So take a look and we look forward to seeing you Jackie and Martin We now have a new modern dinning area. The hard work is paying off and thanks to all the support of customers old and new :) Unfortunately we do not have a private car park but parking is available on the sea front all year at a chargable rate 7.50 for 24 hours . You may alos park free on side street if space available. Many thanks :} ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Wembley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing