We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best hotel ever!”
Review of The Wembley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Wembley
Ranked #552 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“the best hotel ever!”
Reviewed 8 September 2010

i am pleased to say that this hotel is one of the cleanest, friendliest and unshabbiest hotels in blackpool. having stayed at others this was the best. The owners were friendly and always smiling. Me and my partner will be booking up for this year but this time with our newborn son! Great atmosphere and great breakfasts, comfy beds and very reasonable pricing. I would recommend this hotel to every one thanks for a brilliant stay and see you in march

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sexy_sue4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna1981xx, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this review, 9 September 2010
Thank you for your lovely comments it was realy nice having you, we look forward to your return and meeting your new addition. Many Thanks Donna & Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    41
    13
    9
    33
See reviews for
68
55
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2010

hotel just not what we expected very shabby! also had to climb 3 flights of stairs with my mother in law who is 73! all they said was we told you there was no lifts anyway I said we wasn't staying! the owner said he would give us half our money back which I agreed but I waited a week and no money back on card when I phoned them they said I couldn't have my money back as they didn't re let the room I'm not surprised at that as No one would sleep in it !!!! but they went back on their word nice people!!! any way I suggest if you are thinking of staying here you check it out before you book its disgusting for a sea front hotel! the guest house we stayed in behind the seafront was a million times better and it was Clean!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeannieb26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna1981xx, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this review, 13 September 2010
When you called to book you told us that you were two ladies, one in her 50's and one in her 70's you asked for a sea view room with 2 beds, we told you that we have only one sea view room with 2 beds, we advised that it is on the floor and we have no lift, at which point you acted insulted and said "just because we are old doesn't mean we can't manage stairs" we explained that we tell everyone this no matter of age. You said it was fine.
Upon a arrival you were checked in and shown your room which you said was lovely. a little while later you returned downstairs and told us that you have been talking and the older lady didn't feel she could make the stairs and asked for a refund. You were told that as per our terms and conditions we only refund should the room be relet, we said we would refund you the second night should this happen.
A week later you called us, you did not introduce yourself, you just screamed at me that your refund has not gone into your bank yet. I then explained that the room was not relet and that you would not get a refund at which point you started shouting about how "disgusting" we are and calling us "thieves" you then proceeded to threaten us with a bad review if we refused to refund you.
How dare you insinuate that my home is not clean. I do ALL the cleaning myself and to a very high standard. We have been here only 18 months and we have spent a lot of money doing this place up. I would love to know what you were looking at that was "shabby"?
Had you looked over our website you would have known what we are about. We do not pretend to be something we are not..We are not a large fancy luxury hotel, our rooms are not big and we don't promise parking. We do not have tons of staff, we do not do live shows or evening meals. We will not try to lure you in with false promises and we will not pretend to be something that we are not like many others do, we want you to know exactly what to expect. We are what we are, a friendly couple running a little B&B. NOTHING MORE! If it was a sea front "HOTEL" you wanted you should have booked one and not a sea front B&B!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2010

I have recently returned from a family break at the wembley hotel in Blackpool. I really enjoyed it room was clean and comfy. Staff were very helpful and friendly and even gave us advice on where to go in blackpool. How much of a bonus after a busy day sightseeing with the children to return back to friendly welcome and a cinema witha family film on...
We are looking forward to returning to the Wembley when the lights are on, if not for the lights for the lovely breakfast.
highly recommended. See you soon
Mr ans Mrs Ryder Stockport.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna1981xx, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this review, 26 September 2010
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure having you all here and we hope to see you againg soon. Many Thanks Donna & Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

My husband. myself and little girl of 2 and half, travelled with family to stay at this hotel to celebrate my Mum & Dad's Golden Wedding Anniversary.

What a good choice!!!!

Donna & Matt were very welcoming and could not do enough for us. A buffet together with decorations was also arranged at a small fee , to celebrate the event.

The lounge was great for my daughter to run around in and even had a WII console to 'play on' <<well she tried LOL ! (Think we enjoyed playing on that just as much) We thoroughly enjoyed sitting at the window having a laugh together with the Karaoke which was kindly arranged for us.

No time limits on our nights in and a well equiped bar. ;o)

Would certainly recommend to family and friends should they require that personal touch and a lovely sea view position.

Sincere thanks to the owners Donna & Matt. xx

Louise Foulds

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fouldslouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna1981xx, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this review, 4 September 2010
Thank you for your lovely comments it was a pleasure having you all here :o) we hope to see you again in the future. Many Thanks Donna & Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Me and hubby stayed at the wembley Hotel for a week end This is our second time we have stayed. the first time we brought our kids. The family rooms was great the kids loved it they had entertaiment and a game console which they could play on. Donna and Matts kids got on well with other children too. Our kids cant wait to go there again.Donna and Matt were very friendly and welcoming. You couldnt ask for better people If there was anything you wanted doing or needed anything extra they would go out there way to do it.. We are going back in October for Halloween which was fantastic last year.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toggs77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna1981xx, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this review, 4 September 2010
Thank you so much for your comments we are glad that you enjoyed both your stays and look forward to seeing you all again in a few weeks. :o) Many Thanks Donna & Matthew xXx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

stayed at the wembley for four nights with my two girls aged 6 and 2, very clean hotel room could do with some updating but is by nomeans the worse ive stayed in and it was spottlessly clean and the view was stunning. bar area was very clean and moden with well priced drinks and a wii and films for the kids. cant fault the couple in any way keep up the good work and hope to see you next year

the hanson family

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanson-family48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna1981xx, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this review, 31 August 2010
Thank you very much for your comments we are glad you all had a good time and we hope to see you again soon. Many Thanks Donna & Matthew. :o)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgnorth, shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2010

We were greated by the friendly couple that run this hotel however, room was below an acceptable standard.

We had traveled down straight from work so just wanted a chilled out evening but found we had no hot water, the room was tatty (wall paper hanging off and rusty nails holding the lino around the shower cubicul) and it didn't feel clean at all.

We didn't sleep at all through the night as the bed was very uncofortable, as i am pregnant i found it extremely difficult to move due to the condition of the bed! We ended up going to a different hotel which, was much better.

I don't know whether they just stuck us in one of the worst rooms but i definately feel i completely wasted £110.00! I would definately not recommend this hotel....... :o(

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachandaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donna1981xx, Owner at The Wembley, responded to this review, 24 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we are sorry that you were unhappy with your room. You told us that the reason you were leaving was because you were poorly, had you told us that their was any problems we would have done our very best to resolve them and swap your room if you wished but you told us that everything was great? The room has a little bit of wall paper coming off near the window, this is a family room and a child has done this recently, as soon as this room is free for a couple of weeks we have every intention of redecorating, infact we pointed it out to you upon arriaval and appologised for it. I have no idea what the lino comment was about, it is stappled down if that's what you mean. The room is certainlty not one of our worst rooms it is a lovely sea view room. Our website clearly states that we are not a fancy 5* hotel we are a simple small B&B, the bed is very comfortable to eveyone els who has slept in it, you are heavily pregnant and I do remember what that is like, it is hard to get comfy especialy in a bed that is not your own.
You are more than welcome to return anytime.
Many Thanks
Donna & Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.1 mi away
Cowley Hotel
Cowley Hotel
#672 of 853 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lichfield Hotel
Lichfield Hotel
#150 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wallace Hotel
Wallace Hotel
#371 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lynwood Hotel
Lynwood Hotel
#302 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crooked Retreat
Crooked Retreat
#726 of 853 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blenheim Mount Hotel
Blenheim Mount Hotel
#253 of 853 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wembley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wembley

Property: The Wembley
Address: 275 Promenade, Blackpool FY1 6AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #552 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wembley 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Wembley where a warm welcome awaits old and new customers. We look forward to meeting you . Hello to all the wembley has been taken over from the 1st oct 2013 by myself and Martin . We offer great affordable accommodation . The hotel sits central prom close to all amenities and tram stops lovely sea views . The wembley is a 15 bedroomed en suite hotel offering tea/coffee facilities flat screen free view showing tvs .Central heating . Large licensed bar consisting of bench seating and comfortable sofas . Looking across to the Irish Sea . We have a separate dinning area offering home cooked meals including traditional English breakfast . We strive to make you stay an enjoyable one and do our utmost to be the best at what we do . We cater for families couples and larger groups if needed . We offer a home from home atmosphere in a clean safe environment . Let us help show you all that Blackpool has to offer and make your stay one you will never forget . So take a look and we look forward to seeing you Jackie and Martin We now have a new modern dinning area. The hard work is paying off and thanks to all the support of customers old and new :) Unfortunately we do not have a private car park but parking is available on the sea front all year at a chargable rate 7.50 for 24 hours . You may alos park free on side street if space available. Many thanks :} ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wembley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing