We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“D & D”
Review of Smart Hotel

Smart Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Smart Hotel
Ranked #362 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
fudge1234
1 review
“D & D”
Reviewed 13 June 2010

The owners Steve & Arlene made us very welcome, nothing was too much trouble.
Ideal base for visiting Blackpool with a tram stop just across the road on the prom.
The rooms are basic with on-suite but everything you need. Eg. Tea and coffee, hairdryer, TV etc. The breakfast is the best will keep you going all day, if you don’t want to eat out you can even have an evening meal on request. Ideal for families. We have been at various times of the year always the same welcome.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fudge1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    9
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
24
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

After excellent reviews on here we arrived and were greeted with a warm and friendly reception with a cuppa tea/biscuits. The room, however, I think must have been forgotten to be cleaned from the previous guests. The courtesy tray had been replenished but the toilet hadn't been flushed (urine still in there) and the bed linen wasn't clean (black hairs). There was another unmade bed in our room, with clean bedlinen piled on it. I stripped the bed, we were to sleep in, and replaced it with the clean bedlinen.

Fire doors were propped open which was also a bit of a worry.

Breakfast was first class with the added extra of a hot-cross bun and some mini chocolate easter eggs and a 'happy Easter' message. This establishment does, however, have cats (not stated anywhere when booking) and my husband suffered the consequences as he is allergic to them. He suffered with his asthma for the rest of that day and the following one.

The owners are really firiendly but I think we must have just been unlucky as other guests have found no fault.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank namwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wingcoax, owner at Smart Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2010
Whilst we welcome critism, we feel this review is a little OTT. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the rooms and the whole hotel and would not have left the room in the condition reported. The(urine)in the toilet would have been bleach or drain cleaner, and the bedding was brand new from the packaging. If the guests concerns had been brought to our attention instead of posted here they could have been dealt with at the time. We have recently been audited by Stay Britain and were complemented on our standards so take comments like this very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2009

What a wonderful hotel Steven and Arline made us feel right at home. They went out of their way to make sure I was catered for as I have Coeliacs disease. They went out and got stuff in which I could eat which was wondeful as a lot of the big hotels might not have bothered. The room was lovely with everything you needed to hand. Would definately recommend and will be returning!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccarthy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2009

I was going to cancel my twin room, but in the end decided to go alone for a short break, I could tell meeting them at the door how warm & down to earth they are, I was made to feel completely at home & Arlene's cookin ......... what can I say, great home cooked grub. Thanks for your hospitality, Love Darryll x

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuruDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2009

found this hotel at the last minute after booking another hotel who didnt have the decency to confirm or send directions but what a fantastic result we got made to feel part of the family from day one and were realy disapointed to have to come home had a fantastic break and this was the icing on the cake there are plenty of hotels and bed and breakfasts in blackpool and we have been to quite a few nothing compaires to this but dont take our word just book and make your own mind up you wont be disapointed fantastic people and thank you once again def be back!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyecambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
2.6 mi away
Heywood House
Heywood House
#224 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.1 mi away
Minotel Lucena
Minotel Lucena
#91 of 125 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#37 of 70 in Blackpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ardwick House Hotel
Ardwick House Hotel
#325 of 853 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 70 in Blackpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,058 reviews
3.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Hotel

Property: Smart Hotel
Address: 1A King Edward Avenue, Blackpool FY2 9TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #362 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Hotel Class:3 star — Smart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Smart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing