We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel of a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Number One South Beach
Ranked #46 of 853 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Jewel of a Hotel”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner booked a 2 night stay at The Number One. The name of the hotel is highly appropriate. From the moment you step inside and feel the deep deep pile of the carpet under your feet you know you are in for a treat at this luxurious hotel. The decor is impecable in the public areas as are the bedrooms. We had a room on the top floor accessed by lift, which had a wonderful seaview. The bedroom was really hi tec with lighting controlled remotely. There was a huge TV on the wall aswell as wifi. The bathroom was luxurious with a jacuzzi, tv and a very modern shower cubicle. The queen size bed was so comfortable with lots of pillows. Breakfast choice was very wide with multiple hot items or continental aswell as specials. Lots of musli, fruit, yoghurt etc too. The walk to the centre takes about 20mins or so but if you want you can take a ride on one of the modern trams, the stop is near the hotel. We enjoyed our stay at the Number One and would recommend it highly if you want a luxury break in Blackpool.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank primecut182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    37
    8
    6
    5
See reviews for
43
158
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This little hotel certainly deserves a 5 star rating!
We initially tried to get a room in the Hilton but it was completely booked out so I found this hotel on The net and decided to go and check it out as there were no other 4 or 5 star hotels in the area..
Well I must say that we have stayed in over 12 5star luxury hotels during our European and UK Driving trip and I would have to say this hotel would certainly be one of friendliest, cleanest and most welcoming hotels we have come across. Is is owner operated and the pride the owners have in the hotel just comes thru in every aspect of this hotel!!! Definitely DO Not Overlook this one !

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

this hotel was really good. it was the little things that made it and that didn't for me.
things like choosing a time for breakfast annoyed me slightly, i didn't like feeling rushed, like i had to be up at a certain time. the service was slow at the bar and we were waiting about for a while to get a drink just because there was only one person working and they were showing another guest their room. i thought the price was a bit steep as well but that was my only gripes.

The hotel was clean, the rooms were beautiful and they have clearly thought about their guests having things in the rooms that you would forget like plasters or nail varnish remover.
the food was lovely and all the staff were more than helpful.
overall it was a nice hotel in Blackpool and i would recommend it.

Room Tip: room 3. we never stayed in this room but it has a balcony and another couple we were with stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee_B1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norr26
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

After many years and very mixed visits to Blackpool we revisited our youth and one of the great British holiday resorts for a family Birthday with a mixed group and were fortunate enough to stay in this beautiful gem of a hotel/B&B. What a surprise! So some background we have travelled and stayed in a lot of great places and this small hotel just knocked us out by its standard. On arrival Jo welcomed us and took us to our room (top floor) facing south and when she opened the door wow, just wow. From our first impression outside we thought this looks like a nice small hotel the reception and bar area was well thought through and modern, with furnishings that would not have Been out of place in a central London hotel like the Malmaison or Bloomsbury. As I said earlier the bedroom had everything, a great bed, hi tech everywhere and a lovely view toward Lytham st Anne's. Now we are a bit picky and we don't really hold back if there's an issue with a hotel, we recall the time when we had very little money and stayed in very dodgy places so when we now stay somewhere and it's not up to scratch we say so - so we have a sharp eye for detail, Number1SB has made an outstanding effort in creating a 21st century hotel in a classic British resort. For folk golfing or indeed hitting the strip it's sort of half way, a wee walk gets you into the action and the golf is just down the road. The airport and train station are nearby. Trust me we were really surprised by this great small hotel, two things count about hotels count the people and places, Number 1 South beach has both. This is a 5 star boutique hotel in the most surprising of places.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank norr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Great little hotel, lovely rooms, friendly staff and clean! Would def recommend this place to anyone it's lovely. The breakfast was excellent and it's a perfect distance from all the attractions. Will stay here again next time we visit Blackpool.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Readyteddygo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A small group of us had Sunday lunch at this hotel very recently. 2 of the group are locals and 3 were on holiday. The food at this hotel had come highly recommended we were really anticipating an excellent feast. We were sadly disappointed. Of our starter choices (chicken liver pate) had entirely the wrong consistency and was quite runny and grey, served not with the warm toast as advertised but some very sad soggy toast. The melon and sorbet was quite the most boring duo ever to gatecrash a menu. The roast beef with the usual trimmings though should have been the real star. The beef proffered was overcooked ( no preference offered) and quite tough with very little flavour, the 2 tiny roast potatoes were barely discernible from the boiled potatoes in that they were pretty much the same colour and texture (white all over!. Come on, a crispy roast potato....it's practically in the British DNA get them right please! The gravy looked suspiciously like a well known brand of gravy thickener. There is obviously a vegetable shortage in Blackpool judging by the tiny amounts served (I had 2 minute florets of Broccoli and one small tablespoon of cabbage which I didn't discover until the end as my beef had been hiding it. The presentation of this dish was very very poor. Other tables we noticed had been served jugs of iced tap water when we asked for water this was not given as an option, silly us! We had to serve the wine ourselves as the waiting staff (3) were obviously overwhelmed by the 4 tables eating. The desserts were very unmemorable, the cheese plate however was a good size and of good quality. I have no doubt the actual hotel is good if many of the reviews are anything to go by. I wish I could recommend the Sunday lunch, but we certainly won't be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 132Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We had a one night stop and wished it could have been more. The room was well decorated, spacious and had all mod cons, very stylish. At breakfast the food was lovely, servers couldn't do enough for us. Would definitely recommend this to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KazAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NumberOneSouthBeach, Manager at Number One South Beach, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for yor kind words. Hopefully you'll be able to stay longer next time! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.2 mi away
Clifton Court Hotel
Clifton Court Hotel
#4 of 70 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 70 in Blackpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,006 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redstone
The Redstone
#38 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Number One St Luke's
Number One St Luke's
#75 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#22 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 853 in Blackpool
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number One South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number One South Beach

Property: Number One South Beach
Address: 4 Harrowside West, Blackpool FY4 1NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 853 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Number One South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Number One South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number One South Beach Hotel Blackpool
#1 South Beach
Number 1 South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing