We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Number One South Beach
Ranked #30 of 861 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have been to this hotel a number of times now for evening meals,although have not stayed overnight.
The meals and service and are of a very high standard indeed..
I do live in Blackpool and my job takes me to around 35 hotel per.year.
Although I haven't stayed overnight at The Number 1 and only used the Restaurant ,lounge and bar areas,I must add that this is indeed the cleanest hotel I have ever visited,absolutely spotless and well furnished.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just returned from this hotel after a weekend break to experience the lights.
Room of excellent quality, everything you need. Breakfast again excellent quality.
Staff so friendly and nothing too much trouble. We booked for dinner on both nights and were very glad we did. We would recommend a visit, well done them !!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sussexWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Friendly staff, clean nicely decorated room but overpriced for just nice... the shower was cool one morning, the bed was only a double size, the jacuzzi is on a timer so you only get a set time and the room overlooked boarded up buildings. We thought that for the cost of the room the paper should be free.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lushlamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NumberOneSouthBeach, Manager at Number One South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

I'm very sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your stay at Number One South Beach and apologise for the issues you had. Our Whirlpool baths are not on a timer and should have allowed you to relax for as long as you wished to - if you had alerted maintenance we could have been able to fix that for you, although I appreciate that you shouldn't have to do that, and for that I apologise.

All our bedrooms are King-size so you must have a huge bed at home if you didn't think it was large enough! Unfortunately, the views from some rooms aren't very exciting and we can do little to impact that apart from advertise our sea-view rooms for those guests who would prefer a nicer sight. I will mention the newspaper cost to the team, although it is not something anyone has ever mentioned before.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I've just returned from a two night stay with my fiance. Everything about our stay was fantastic. the building is within a stones throw of the sea front and nearby tram and bus stops. The room we stayed in was clean, well decorated and equiped with every modern luxury we could wish for. The food, both breakfast and dinner in the restaurant was excellent and above all the staff were friendly and went above and beyond to make our stay special.

If you're looking for something special then I can't reccomend Number One South Beach enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobBaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We were not given the seaview room we booked. We had windows looking on to everyones back yard and we were not given any explanation or able to change the room. The room was comfortable but noisy from the sound of spa baths being turned on and off. It was not the five star rating we have experienced. We would rate this as a B & B and not a Hotel. We have been in the Hotel and Restaurant trade for over 40 years before we retired recently and were very disappointed on the standard all round.

Room Tip: Make sure you do not choose a room with noise f rom spa baths and drainage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petrinatale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NumberOneSouthBeach, Manager at Number One South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

I'm very sorry you did not enjoy your time with us at Number One South Beach. Unfortunately though there has been some confusion as I have checked your Booking.com reservation details and you were placed in the room that you chose, which is specified as not one of our sea-view rooms - including the appropriate price reduction.

I can only apologise for the noise from our Whirlpool baths, although it is not a complaint that we have had before and I will look into any new maitenance issues that need rectifying.

Finally, we are not a hotel, and in fact are a guesthouse as you suggest. We do not pretend to be, nor want to be seen as a hotel, which is stated on all our literature and marketing. However, I am still very sorry that you did not feel we gave you our full Number One experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent two nights in room 14 which is on the top floor with sea views and a balcony. The rooms are well appointed, with good attention to detail and the bed was extremely comfortable. There was a large flat screen TV, DVD player, TV in the bathroom and jacuzzi bath. The staff in the hotel were fantastic. Very friendly and with a good sense of humour. We had dinner on our first night which was excellent and there is a good selection of fine wine. The breakfast was excellent with a wide choice and ability to tailor your breakfast to your choice.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeremy Spencer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

to visit this hotel is a must for anyone.
i had a great time, rooms are second to none, one of the best hotels i have stayed in just wish i could have stayed longer, i will however as soon as i can visit again. by the way breakfast was super, i would recommend you to visit this hotel. all the staff and the owners could not to enough for you. A*****

Room Tip: a must visit and worth every paying that bit more to stay in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.3 mi away
Big Blue Hotel
Big Blue Hotel
#7 of 73 in Blackpool
3,194 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#1 of 73 in Blackpool
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Number One St Luke's
Number One St Luke's
#79 of 861 in Blackpool
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Corona
The Corona
#22 of 861 in Blackpool
694 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Redstone
The Redstone
#49 of 861 in Blackpool
371 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Fossil Tree Hotel
The Fossil Tree Hotel
#14 of 861 in Blackpool
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number One South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number One South Beach

Address: 4 Harrowside West, Blackpool FY4 1NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 861 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £131 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Number One South Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Number One South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Number One South Beach Hotel Blackpool
#1 South Beach
Number 1 South Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing