We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A great find on the south shore "”
Review of Strathdon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strathdon Hotel
Ranked #99 of 859 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"A great find on the south shore "”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

A lovely hotel, run by a friendly and pleasant couple. A welcome cup of tea & biscuits on arrival. The food was excellent, breakfast & evening meal cooked to perfection. Bedroom very clean & comfortable. Only 15 mins walk to the tower and shops. Well worthy of a second visit & more.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elle59derby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veron1, Owner at Strathdon Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Hello Diane, Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor.
We are really pleased that we were able to accommodate you after you were let down by your previous accommodation provider. Thank you also for the very kind comments that you have posted. We will try and order better weather for your next visit. Kind regards Veronica & Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
108
77
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just back from staying at the Strathdon Hotel in blackpool. We had a great time at the hotel. Ian and Veronica are a lovely couple, they make you so welcome, nothing is any bother to them.
Food was to a very high standard, the rooms were very clean and comfortable and the hotel was only a minutes walk from the front.
I would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

If youre travelling to blacpool the you simply have to stay here.nothing is too much trouble for ian and veronica to make sure youre stay is a good one.the hotel is spotless and the food is just to die for.you are made to feel like old friends from the second you arrive.the locatoin is perfect and parking is easy.we will certainly be going back soon.as i said if youre coming to blackpool this hotel is a must.thanks again ian and veronica

Room Tip: all rooms are spotless so it doesnt matter which one youre in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marklidgett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkmuirhill
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I would definately recommend this Hotel to anyone couples and families. The welcome we got from Ian and Veronica was so nice a pot of tea for me and coffee for my hubby and biscuits as well, and that was us just arriving. The room was spotless and very tastefully furnished. The food was to die for, well done Veronica. They made you feel so welcome and at night they would sit and have a drink and a wee blether it made you feel so comfortable and at home. So once again I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chemowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veron1, Owner at Strathdon Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.
Thank you also for your very kind comments about our food and our rooms.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast & evening meals
Ian & I enjoyed sitting and chatting with you both in the bar at night and again then with your family when they joined you later in the week.
Ian & I look forward to seeing you both again & I will make sure we have Strawberry Cream Crunch on the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Stayed for 5 nights in early July with my Husband and 2 kids. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, good tea/coffee making facilities. The breakfast was excellent, kids loved the fresh fruit and the cereal, the cooked breakfast was lovely. Iain and Veronica made us feel very welcome and were good with the kids (especially our hyper 2 year old), I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nholt14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Ace is the word, from the booking point - i.e phone call/e-mail to departure. Very helpful & friendly, the owners make you feel like your the only guests in the hotel which is good, the rooms are always clean & always stocked, you just know you can approach the owners incase of a problem - which theres never been, you can also have chit chat with them.
The hotel is far enough away from the front to avoid the noise of the sea front & it is big inside. The breakfasts have always been very nice with a constant supply of juice, tea/coffee & toast - on top of the full English they serve - which you can tell is freshly cooked.

We simply don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazm47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with the warmest of welcomes . The whole experience was great from the room to the food to the bar but the thing that makes the strathdon are the owners Ian and Veronica they make you feel so comfortable in nice relaxing surroundings. We would go back again and would recommend to anyone . Thanks Ian and Veronica for treating us like one of the family we will be back.

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment and ask about the parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kev009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0.0 mi away
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#196 of 859 in Blackpool
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
By The Seaside
By The Seaside
#72 of 859 in Blackpool
280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Birch Villa Hotel
Birch Villa Hotel
#137 of 859 in Blackpool
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
RockDene Hotel
RockDene Hotel
#86 of 859 in Blackpool
284 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kenley
The Kenley
#2 of 859 in Blackpool
1,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phildene
Phildene
#112 of 859 in Blackpool
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathdon Hotel

Property: Strathdon Hotel
Address: 28 St. Chads Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 859 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathdon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strathdon is a 4* guest house situated in St Chads Road, Blackpool "Best Kept Street of the Year 2015". 2 minutes walk from Blackpool Promenade and St Chads Road tram stop. Within walking distance of all Blackpool's famous attractions - Blackpool Tower, Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Madame Tussauds, Sea Life Centre, Sand Castle Water Park & many more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Strathdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing