We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST B&B IN BLACKPOOL! ONE IN A MILLION.”
Review of Strathdon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strathdon Hotel
Ranked #94 of 864 Blackpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Me and my partner are just back from a very pleasant stay at the Strathdon, we were greeted by a very smiley Ian who offered to carry my bag up the stairs and even offered us a tea on our arrival which was a lovely welcome gesture. The room was spotless, and the towels on the bed shaped as a swan I loved! (the small things go a long way!) The bed was very comfy and the tea and biscuits in the room were an extra wee bonus. The room was a perfect size for me and my partner very homely.
Breakfast was great, loads to choose from and Ian was as ever very helpful and attentive!
One night we came back to the other guests and Ian and Veronica playing the wii, my partner soon joined in and it was a great laugh! was just like being in a group of friends and family, Just smashing.

The B&B is situated quite nicely, on a lovely street in Blackpool. Its a pleasant enough walk to and from the different attractions on offer.

It was a surprise trip from my other half, but he did well choosing the Strathdon as I couldn't fault it one bit! Will definitely return in the future.

THANK YOU VERONICA AND IAN! :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissa_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veron1, Owner at Strathdon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Thank you Melissa for taking the time to write a review.
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your break at The Strathdon.

Every guest is offered complimentary tea/coffee on arrival because we feel that after a long journey it will help our guests relax and then they can begin their holiday.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your evening in the bar and playing the Wii.
This is very popular when we have families staying as it helps to keep the children amused.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Regards
Veronica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2012

We have stayed at the strathdon a few times and have had an amazing time each and every time, the hotel is spotless, veronica nd ian cant do enough for you. I went for my 40th birthday and as a surprise they trimmed up the dining room for me. The always make you feel at home and welcome and the food is secont to none.
Veronica,s towel folding is a sight to behold and i love the little details like the basket of toiletories in the bathroom and the buiscuits with the drinks tray and the sweets on the tray at the side of the bed.
Pay them a visit i guarantee you wont find better.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mumtokandh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed here with my mum and sister in March. It really was faultless. Lovely welcome and a cup of tea and biscuits on arrival. Spotlessly clean hotel from top to bottom. We stayed in room 5 which had just been redecorated. Extremely comfortable beds, gorgeous breakfast and a great location for all parts of Blackpool. We will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boo_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Arriving after a 5 hour drive, it was refreshing to be greeted by a smiling Veronica and the offer of a cup of tea/coffee.This was accompanied by a plate of luxury biscuits and the offer by Ian to take our luggage up to our room,which had one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in.This attention to detail was to be the standard throughout our 3 night stay.My wife and I were treated like friends of the family,but our hosts were always professional. Great to have lots of choices on the breakfast menu,although it was hard to beat the traditional Full English....We came away with a feeling that we had just been visiting family as we felt so comfortable and at ease . Handily located between the Tower and the Pleasure Beach,I would have no problems in recommending The Strathdon Hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyA1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed for three nights 1st June-4th June 2012. Veronica and Ian are fantastic hosts, we stayed in room 5 which has recently been decorated and had two double beds for myself, hubby and two young girls.
We stayed for breakfast and evening meals and all food and service was excellent as usual, this was our 3rd stay over with them and we will be going back again next year at some point.
The Fletcher family, from Whitwell, Notts.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Ian and veronica treat u more like freinds than guest,the hotel is spotless and we wish we could have stayed forever. we will return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

my wife and i stayed for 2 nights on 25th and 26th may and from arriving veronica and ian were the perfect hosts, our room was extremley clean and tastefully decorated, the breakfast was vast cereal, fresh fruit and a very filling full breakfast.The location is ideal ,close to the south pier and only a short walk to the centre of blackpool.overall it was excellent value for money and a pleasure from beginning to end , we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blackpool hotels
0 mi away
By The Seaside
By The Seaside
#102 of 864 in Blackpool
287 reviews
0 mi away
The Arthington
The Arthington
#4 of 864 in Blackpool
1,238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Glyndale Hotel
Glyndale Hotel
#84 of 864 in Blackpool
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#26 of 73 in Blackpool
3,429 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
Hilton Blackpool Hotel
#38 of 73 in Blackpool
4,334 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Carlton Hotel
Best Western Carlton Hotel
#36 of 73 in Blackpool
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strathdon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathdon Hotel

Address: 28 St. Chads Road | South Shore, Blackpool FY1 6BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Blackpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 864 B&Bs / Inns in Blackpool
Price Range: £48 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strathdon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Strathdon is a 4* guest house situated in St Chads Road, Blackpool "Street of the Year 2015". The Strathdon has achieved a Breakfast Award with Visit England and has a 5 rating for Food Hygiene from Environmental Health. Situated only 2 minutes walk from Blackpool Promenade and St Chads Road tram stop. Within walking distance of all Blackpool's famous attractions - Blackpool Tower, Blackpool Pleasure Beach, Madame Tussauds, Sea Life Centre, Sand Castle Water Park & many more ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Strathdon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing